khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by ninja_iga@Nov 17 2004, 19:08
aiyo :P

SuperLon
great for LOW frequency noise like exhaust, Bass.

Bitumen strips
HIGH frequency noise like sand hitting metal, rain etc.
oops i also blur liao.. haha :P :lol:

nvm lar..as long as u use both then ok lor.. :lol:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by awesome88@Nov 17 2004, 14:42
my car does not produce much sound from spare tyre compartment, so i will skip that. Yesterday, i open lift up my brother in law's new camry, saw there is a thick soundproof material pasted on the firewall (from top to bottom).

so for those who wants their car as quite like camry, remember to do that. But if you want to do it from top to bottom, suggest you unmount the engine for easier and complete installation of superlon :)
camry ah.. n all those big cars... like cefiro, merc, bmw.. not only they are heavily soundproofed... but their engine is also designed to be quiet... they got a plastic cover on top of de engine.. dat alone already block off some noise...

so therefore their car damn so quiet.. B)

SuperDuper

Sep 25, 2004
Klang Klang Klang
yeah, but all those expensive car la, sigh... got no money, hav 2 do soundproof ourself lo!!

ksgoh

May 19, 2004
Kedah/Penang
Originally posted by flanker@Nov 17 2004, 22:32
i tends to agree with u , yes bitumen for high freq. noise whereas foam for low freq, BTW for tire noise , low or high freq ?? pls enlightened me as i current doing SP for my door , want to SP my wheel arch but don not how to do leh ,

the foam sold here ( singapore) 10mm type is both side smooth only 6mm not , do u think it will affect the noise absorbtion ??pls enlighten me thks
tyre noise is low freq noise......what is ur ride??

awesome88

Nov 7, 2004
Originally posted by flanker@Nov 17 2004, 22:32
i tends to agree with u , yes bitumen for high freq. noise whereas foam for low freq, BTW for tire noise , low or high freq ?? pls enlightened me as i current doing SP for my door , want to SP my wheel arch but don not how to do leh ,

the foam sold here ( singapore) 10mm type is both side smooth only 6mm not , do u think it will affect the noise absorbtion ??pls enlighten me thks
use bitumen as bottom layer and paste superlon on top, you are covered for diff type noise frequency.

awesome88

Nov 7, 2004
Originally posted by khguan+Nov 17 2004, 22:42 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (khguan @ Nov 17 2004, 22:42 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-awesome88@Nov 17 2004, 14:42
my car does not produce much sound from spare tyre compartment, so i will skip that. Yesterday, i open lift up my brother in law's new camry, saw there is a thick soundproof material pasted on the firewall (from top to bottom).

so for those who wants their car as quite like camry, remember to do that. But if you want to do it from top to bottom, suggest you unmount the engine for easier and complete installation of superlon :)
camry ah.. n all those big cars... like cefiro, merc, bmw.. not only they are heavily soundproofed... but their engine is also designed to be quiet... they got a plastic cover on top of de engine.. dat alone already block off some noise...

so therefore their car damn so quiet.. B) [/b][/quote]
the plastic cover on top of the engine don't think can insulate noise but to keep the engine clean instead, coz it is so bloody thin.

flanker

Nov 17, 2004
i think so , but the superlon for 10mm type is both side smooth how is the absorbtion of noise ?? :rolleyes:

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
de both side smooth skin wan will absorb less sound of course..

but we use superlon is more for insulation/sound block... so not much diff ler i think...

correct me if i'm wrong... :P

flanker

Nov 17, 2004
i think u are right , the most important is the thickness , thicker the better but too bad our door got limited space only ,

by the way any ideal how to reduce noise from tyre ? bituman & superlon can placed at wheel arc ? how to do ?? :(

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
noise from tyre ah... well.. on de wheel arc plastic only can use superlon.. cos it is plastic.. i think no point using bitumen strips there..

however u can use bitumen strips on de metal parts (ur fender)

flanker

Nov 17, 2004
Originally posted by khguan@Nov 18 2004, 20:12
noise from tyre ah... well.. on de wheel arc plastic only can use superlon.. cos it is plastic.. i think no point using bitumen strips there..

possible to show some picture please ?? :unsure:

flanker

Nov 17, 2004
Originally posted by ksgoh+Nov 18 2004, 08:24 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ksgoh @ Nov 18 2004, 08:24 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-flanker@Nov 17 2004, 22:32

tyre noise is low freq noise......what is ur ride?? [/b][/quote]
Hyundai Trajet

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by flanker+Nov 18 2004, 20:26 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (flanker @ Nov 18 2004, 20:26 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-khguan@Nov 18 2004, 20:12

possible to show some picture please ?? :unsure: [/b][/quote]
ok.. this is my car fender... only stick wit superlon.. less tyre noise..

click here

i used 6mm superlon.. cos dat time i dun have 10mm wan.. :P

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by flanker@Nov 18 2004, 20:03
i think u are right , the most important is the thickness , thicker the better but too bad our door got limited space only ,

by the way any ideal how to reduce noise from tyre ? bituman & superlon can placed at wheel arc ? how to do ?? :(
not really.

it's all due to the frequency it's able to block out noise

SuperLon's great for low frequency noise like exhaust, bass

Bitumen's for high pitch like rain, sand, metal rattle..

the density does help, but the material is also important

foam: open cell are sponges, passes sound too readily.

nitrile foam like Superlon: closed cell, doesnt pass sound easily.

flanker

Nov 17, 2004
Originally posted by khguan+Nov 18 2004, 21:58 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (khguan @ Nov 18 2004, 21:58 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by flanker@Nov 18 2004, 20:26
<!--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Nov 18 2004, 20:12

possible to show some picture please ?? :unsure:
ok.. this is my car fender... only stick wit superlon.. less tyre noise..

click here

i used 6mm superlon.. cos dat time i dun have 10mm wan.. :P [/b][/quote]
thank you for the picture .

kevyeoh

Nov 15, 2004
Originally posted by jinkl@Jul 19 2004, 16:30
Yet to upload the pics..
just finished my 14 hours doing up my superlon
continuos and alone..
but i tink after this guide u can make it even faster ..
i will upload the pics as soon as i get up from sleep..

i did

1. 4 doors
2. Hood two layers
3. Boot two layers
4. Floor
5. Dashboard
6. ROOF (not done)
what happen to the originator of this thread?
i wanna see his pics !!!

wanna see how he do the dashboard...hehe...

jinkl... where are you???

A Post Every 5 Mins

First DIY video to diagnose a Check Engine Light with accuracy. More DIY videos to come on this channel “Forged For Speed”. Stay tuned.

❗... New Video Release ...❗