Sound Proofing *repost* superlon+bitumen

jinkl

May 22, 2004
here is how to open up and put the superlon
sorry i lost all the pics.. u all dint bump the topic so it has been deleted..

My gardener n fren help me do haha :D

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Don;t think i saw jinkl did his dashboard also....

spec.check

Feb 7, 2005
i a bit blur... what are the pics for?

can someone help me understand?...I damn minat DIY my Wira also.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Originally posted by spec.check@Mar 28 2005, 17:48
i a bit blur... what are the pics for?

can someone help me understand?...I damn minat DIY my Wira also.

[snapback]847710[/snapback]​
Check other sound proofing thread for more detail information !! B)

spec.check

Feb 7, 2005
got it!

Thanks for your patience guys. This Superlon material...Ive been reading differing views la. Some say, it works like a gift from above. Wherelse, some say, satu difference pun-ta-da.

To those who are already using it, got diff?

cheers,
spec.check

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
for me.. got diff... but u cant compare de results wit those luxury cars lar...

my wira is much more quiet after superloning many parts of my car... u'll need bitumen strips together so dat de soudproofing is complete..

less noise in ur car.. u get more music... n u drive faster than normal.. cos u do not feel ur car is moving fast.. :P

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
bitumen is made of tar... our road pavement is made of bitumen n small rocks...

in DIY soundproofing.. we use bitumen strips.. which comes in rolls.. it is like a tape.. on top is a shiny aluminuim foil.. n below is de bitumen.. black sticky wan... bout 1 - 1.5mm thick n 2" wide normally...

it is similar to de dynamatt damping matt.. just dat theirs come in one big sheet... n r damn freaking expensive!!

butimen strips is used to absorb or dampen vibration on metal part/panels... we normally stick them on our car doors... de metal parts... those hollow metal parts... n any metal parts dat sounds like milo tin when u knock it.. B)

boeytan

Oct 22, 2004
Bitumen is no way close to Dynamat lar bro, It is expensive but worth the money. my friend tested 3 layer of bitumen still cant compare to 1 layer of Dynamat.....n bitumen cant stand with heat. it will melt where Dynamat can stand heat better. Just come to think of it... if bitumen is that good then Dynamat can close shop liao lor.... Bitumen can b used because it is cheap but dun expect too much from the result...

Never take bitumen compare to Dynamat.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Originally posted by boeytan@Apr 8 2005, 19:50
Bitumen is no way close to Dynamat lar bro, It is expensive but worth the money. my friend tested 3 layer of bitumen still cant compare to 1 layer of Dynamat.....n bitumen cant stand with heat. it will melt where Dynamat can stand heat better. Just come to think of it... if bitumen is that good then Dynamat can close shop liao lor.... Bitumen can b used because it is cheap but dun expect too much from the result...

Never take bitumen compare to Dynamat.
[snapback]880229[/snapback]​
Dynamat damn expensive lar...the only place i would want to use dynamat is roof only B) ..so it won't melt mar

boeytan

Oct 22, 2004
yes it is expensive..... :P but good result mah....

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
dynamatt result is good cos it comes in one big sheet... n also de material of cos is better lar....

n how good de bitumen works also depend on de installer wan.. :P