How to fix superlon

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
Problems fixing superlon

Got SA 6mm, got it to fix on wira door panels.
Superlon seems to thick for the car door panel, cant close properly.
Anyone can help?

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
can try take it out ...?

dun tell me u have been driving with ur door not closed properly now?

6mm shud be very thin ady .. try cut some of the edges, maybe u din measure nicely n some parts of the superlon is at the point of the door where it closes tight... so its blocking

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
luckily i tested with selotape first,so didnt stick permanent.
i tried to maximise the surface of Superlon.
so almost 80% of the door panel is covered with superlon.
the "clips" area i allow around 2 cm of gap.stil cant clip tigthly.

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
how to skim? you mean like fillet the thing?
6mm how to make thinner?
anyway, the superlon was cut around 2 cm bordering the door panel.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
cut it more la .... cant really tell u where to cut unless we see ur car from every angle n feel the door panel when closing... so, u gotta try it urself fren ... good luck :regular_smile:

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
finally get to fix it on my rear door.
what a waste.
it can only close when i cut almost 50% of the superlon.
i dont recommnend it to people with wira.wont have much difference.

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
superlon is not suitable for door at all. the best is still bitumen based like Raamat and Dynamatt Extreme

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
i read in the superlon sales thread that it can be fixed to soundproof car doors.
*dissapointed*

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
You see my friend .... It's a way of marketing , WITHOUT telling u exactly everything..

DISCLAIMER : I'm not shooting ANYONE in particular here ok? im juz saying the facts and we all know it .. including sellers...Even i am a friend n supporter of some good sellers here.. So, peace aight dudes don't shoot me so quickly..

You see, example Superlon (since we're talking about Superlon now) .. A superlon seller may say that the superlon can be fixed to soundproof car doors / roofs / anywhere ... Yes, IT IS TRUE! BUT to what extend can it be soundproof-ed? Haa... So you cannot say that they cheat you or bluff u wan ...

What you pay is what you get.. In some way, that phrase is true. Dynamat is double superlon's price, and smaller than superlon's size. But it works ...

Superlon does work too, but of course , not as good as Dynamat ...

So lidet la ... Live with it bro... Or juz buy a few Dynamat pieces n stick inside ur door panel ... You'll feel better. Cheers! :regular_smile:

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
i understand that what you pay is what you get but at least can work also better.
now stuck with only a 50% sealed door.

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
componentspeaker said:
i read in the superlon sales thread that it can be fixed to soundproof car doors.
*dissapointed*

hi

with all due respect, honestly, you're the first customer to complain about not able to fit 6mm SuperLon on a Wira (rear?) door.

but first, sorry it caused you trouble.
allow me personally look into the matter, lets meet up and for your trouble, i'll give you a free piece of 6mm to re-do. I'll help, of course.

how's that sound?

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
prob is with rear door.
so i havent put on the front in case any probs.
any pics as a guide would be real helpful.
i think meeting up with u at 1U area would be too far for me.