5mm+ Thick Bitumen

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
Anyone knows where to get???

Been searching all hardware shops in my area...cannot find...
All oso selling the 1 with aluminium backing that is too thin(bout 2mm only)
My friend bought it from someone here, works so much better that the 2mm ones for soundproofing. I found air cond shops used them oso.

So anyone? :)

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
nono...not superlon...i mean bitumen strips

my friend used it and compared to the normal alu backing i used, its much better effect. maybe its 4mm and not 5mm...din really measure nicely, but its definitely more dense than normal...no alu backing 1.

1 air cond shop i went to used it to wrap the connections of the pipings of the cooling coil. Tried asking them but they say it comes with the unit 1. My friend pulak lost the contact of the fellar that sold him. :)

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
oh sorry.. ter blur blur abit.. keke :D

i still think aircon sparepart supplier should sell it... cos they sell to the aircon seller n installer mah..

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
wahhh...5mm, then must be heavy la if stick to whole door....later car become underpower :D

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Really a lot sound proofed?

DarkAccoon

that would be my car rite
ahahha
stupid lilkev sleeping behind me now
wuahaha
half naked somemore

yeah, i used the bitumen strips that is being used by air cond ppl wan
just that i cannot find back the fella that was dealing with me last time

much much more dense compare to those bitumen strips that i see lilkev
use, and much more effective also

around the same price also that time
and yeah, door becomes heavier but car can still smoke any proton
1.5 cars any time any day

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
actually using normal bitumen strips tape de whole door is good enough...

if use those 5mm thick ones.. i think just stick here n there... save ur job a bit..

for best results... go for dynamatt... but damn expensive wor...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
darkaccoon....u two sleep together? hmmmmm....

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
darkaccoon,

oi! take opportunity i sleeping come over use comp and "zhat" me ar...
:p damn too sleepy this morning...

anyway...ya lor...i search all hardware shops in subang( SS14, SS19, USJ17) still cannot find...Must try taipan and ss15 one day
i think i should ask darkaccoon pass me one of his remaining piece and post the pic of the diff :)

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
guys, i found the bitumen strip that u guys mentioned.. it is for the repairing the roof top one.

btw, i doubt whether it is safe to use in car? as i know, bitumen will emmit harmful gas when it is burned. wht if the car is let in the sun for whole day? will the high heat cause it to produce harmful gas?

and also, wht's the difference for the air cond use and roof top use strip? is the air cond use is made of bitumen also?

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
repairing roof used by those contractors is usually the 1 i found in the hardware shops 1 lor...with alu backing...

the diff? the thickness...air cond piping connections need thicker to prevent the gas from leaking...

gas? neh...after a while it will dry...then u wun smell a thing. If it were to be so flamable...u will see roads in flames man :p just that if u use the bitumen paint/paste instead...ur car will smell like the road...duration...depending on how long u keep ur doors open...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
yea, if it is so easily flamable, u will see road on fire every afternoon lo. And ppl walking on the road also pengsan..:D

Yea, it's used to repair roof leakage as its main function :D

The smell just temporary, u won't smell it after a short while.

Monkii Whitehouse, an event management company, has recently organised a charity convoy trip last Sunday (4th December 2011). Jonathan Yam, organiser for the event, aims to raise awareness of the social welfare among automotive enthusiasts. Various car clubs have turned up to support the event...