Superlon + Bitumen Strip for Wira Sedan

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Yet to upload the pics..
just finished my 14 hours doing up my superlon
continuos and alone..
but i tink after this guide u can make it even faster ..
i will upload the pics as soon as i get up from sleep..

i did

1. 4 doors
2. Hood two layers
3. Boot two layers
4. Floor
5. Dashboard
6. ROOF (not done)

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
Originally posted by jinkl@Jul 19 2004, 04:30 PM
Yet to upload the pics..
just finished my 14 hours doing up my superlon
continuos and alone..
but i tink after this guide u can make it even faster ..
i will upload the pics as soon as i get up from sleep..

i did

1. 4 doors
2. Hood two layers
3. Boot two layers
4. Floor
5. Dashboard
6. ROOF (not done)
wahhh bro...upload pics B)

Stan, what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this? I mean, with all that insulation I suppose the heat prob is quite bad?

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
hahahahaaha

it's not only the heat la
it's more for sound-proofing...

the insulation foam is originally designed for heat/cold insulation, but many found out that this material works great for sound-proofing too!

btw guys,
once you pasang the SuperLon ALL-over your car, your air-con should be able to stay cold longer on a hot day from all that insulation.. ;)

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Bitumen come in RM25 for the 4" x 10mt.. ?

I got mine from hardware shop in roll. Rm17 for 2" width and 10-15m long. They call it bitumen tape.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
aiseh man i left my mmc card at home.. pics will be uploaded on wednesday..
superlon can be got from Ninja_iga
while bitumen strips can get from hardware shop
its 25-28 bucks for 100mm X 10meters
i used 4 rolls .. :D cos i crazy abit i put alot..
actually bitumen strips u can put here and there lil bit lil bit more than enough :D

JasperSSP

Nov 21, 2003
Aren't the bitumen strips heavy?

JUN

Nov 25, 2003
Originally posted by JasperSSP@Jul 20 2004, 04:08 PM
Aren't the bitumen strips heavy?
:) Jasper..i think u've seen them b4 wut..the ones on my car one lah :rolleyes: yeap...darn heavy if u apply 2 or 3 layers...

Regards;

JasperSSP

Nov 21, 2003
Haha, that's why I was wondering is it the same thing you put on your car.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Originally posted by g88@Jul 19 2004, 11:04 PM
Bitumen come in RM25 for the 4" x 10mt.. ?

I got mine from hardware shop in roll. Rm17 for 2" width and 10-15m long. They call it bitumen tape.
yeap man .. its correct but not more expensive..
4 inch X 10 meters = $25
and
2 inch X 10 meters = $17

u need 2 rolls of 2 inch to match with 4 inch one rite :)

hei and its dam heavy... if u take the roll and whack on someone i promise his head is broken :D

JasperSSP

Nov 21, 2003
Does the bitumen sound proof better than superlon?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Originally posted by JasperSSP@Jul 20 2004, 10:53 PM
Does the bitumen sound proof better than superlon?
I will do double layer for my car boot. Bitumen + Superlon :lol:

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
hahah

okie

you see,

the bitumen cuts down on high-frequency noise. Such as sand hittin your undercarriege.. that's noisy! drove a rally car without that, it's irritating!

SuperLon comes in really handy for low(er) frequency noise intrusions like, wind-noise, road-noise, exhaust, and engine..

Let say in 1 month time car is in top condition
I have 8k in hand
What modifications should i do
I am running on Stock EVO III except for the Air Filter KNN
What i have in my mind is to boost 1.2bar - 1.4bar
What should i do .. Suggestions please
Absorbers are not done also.
What i have in mind is

- 1.5way LSD gearbox
- Triniti Clutches + Exedy Cover
- SMT6 or - Microtech Ltx8s
- Electronic Boost Controller
- Bosch Fuel Pump
- Greddy Type-R BOV
- SS Intercooler pipings + Samco's
- Titan +...