DIY LED brake lights. Need help.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
So I have been trying to imitate this idea by making my own led strip.

The idea is cheap. If you fail, you lost abit. But of course I don't wanna lose money.
Super bright red LED: 50 cent
Normal red LED : 20 cent
Resistor : 10 cent
Solder : RM20(Ace Hardware)
All these are cheap!!!

I have been trying to figure it out.
I know red typically are 20mA. But I have read somewhere that a super bright red led is 80mA.
I have tried it on my car battery and it seems fine.
What I'm getting is clear leds but emitting red light. This gives better angle.
While there is an option to use red normal led but its gives 3 times lesser angle of viewing.

Can someone verify this details?
Is this applicable to super bright leds?

Voltage Source (Es): 12 Volts (V)
Voltage drop from LED (Eled): 2 Volts (V)
Current through the LED (Iled): 20 mA
Resitance (R): 500 ohm
Power (P): 0.2 Watts (W)

"If i were to play safe, 15mA is the way then i shall use 700ohms."

HELP! :confused::banghead:

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:57 PM ----------

Wah so fast my post kena pushed down.
I really need help!

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Hi... in the first place, you need to identifying the recommended current for your Super Bright LED.
Some are 50mA, some 80mA or even 150mA.
And most of the SB LED has forward voltage of 3V, but again, you need to confirm this as well.
Search the datasheet of your LED and you will find the details.
After you find out the forward Current and Voltage, then only you can calculate the require value of resistance.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Hi... in the first place, you need to identifying the recommended current for your Super Bright LED.
Some are 50mA, some 80mA or even 150mA.
And most of the SB LED has forward voltage of 3V, but again, you need to confirm this as well.
Search the datasheet of your LED and you will find the details.
After you find out the forward Current and Voltage, then only you can calculate the require value of resistance.
i cant because my leds arent in packets.
Its in loose packs. No data seheet whatsoever
The salesman dont even know the datas

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
just use the recommended ones based on max current you expect em to draw, test with each one with the planned resistance and the brightness you expect if cannot find the datasheet

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

hAz

Feb 17, 2007
so bro,
is your project done?
share some photos pls =)

i cant because my leds arent in packets.
Its in loose packs. No data seheet whatsoever
The salesman dont even know the datas
just sharing....

if normal LED i would use 1k ohm resister from stock 12v supply....

if super bright LED i would use 0.9k ohm resister....

atleas those LED still working more than 2years already with that configuration.....

if u put more LED in series then, need another calculation..but thats out of my reach...donnow how to calculate that..

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
just sharing....

if normal LED i would use 1k ohm resister from stock 12v supply....

if super bright LED i would use 0.9k ohm resister....

atleas those LED still working more than 2years already with that configuration.....

if u put more LED in series then, need another calculation..but thats out of my reach...donnow how to calculate that..
got in google lah, but if don't understand voltage, amperage (inductance) and resistance. kinda difficult to explain.

i know google got...but since doesnt need it anyway so didn't learn :sleep:

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
I learnt, my first LED project probably in zth somewhere

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Haha, before yeah, now I have all the data dy. Heh.
Will post it up soon in 2 weeks time.
Hope the LEDs come early.
wait till you try making one in the famous knight rider chasing light style.

Anybody have try LSD aftermarket from Matspeed or Powerzone?
How about the performance?
Can share the experience?