DIY LED brake lights

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
Well.. I tried for my 3rd brake light. it didnt last long. abt 2 weeks. At first very bright. nice. sigh... spent RM 60 for the LEDs :( anyone knows where to get top grade LEDs?

prodigy

forget about buying from jalan pasar if you want top quality electrical components. go for Farnell or RS at shah alam. their components are definitely more expensive and are top grade ones as compared to jalan pasar. electrical components are generally categorised into 3 grades. grade 1 components normally goes to people like farnell or RS. quality is guaranteed. grade 2 goes to manufacturers or fabricators of PCB. or actually vice versa, depending on the QA/QC of the manufacturer. grade 3 components goes to, none other than jalan pasar.

ysyep

Aug 8, 2004
Plan to do it also, but since L9Turbo said rosak so fast, might need to consider now :P

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
my trhid barake ligh always fell off eventhough..i stick and replace the double sided tape for liek 10 times..
any solution for this?

escaflowne

May 4, 2004
yeah mine too...too old the 3rd brake light...the color also soooooo pudar.

but i think the LED after some sun heat treatment...will said bye bye one rite??

ksgoh

May 19, 2004
Kedah/Penang
Originally posted by alantan@Sep 21 2004, 23:34
my trhid barake ligh always fell off eventhough..i stick and replace the double sided tape for liek 10 times..
any solution for this?
go for good double sided tape...like NITTOTAPE...however, it cannot stand for heat too..... :(

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
The LEDs i bought and used was very good when new. But only lasted for 1 to 2 weeks.. then one by one die off. I am located in JB BTW. Dunt like the bulb looks. :)

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
Maybe.. but the shopkeeper said for 12V is in a set of 3 LEDs. So i installed 33 LEDs. Anyone good in electronics here?

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
wait i take pic then show u. err.. any good free pic host site? Then i can link it over.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
the reason ur LED burn is bcos de car batt voltage is much higher than de LED's voltage..

u have to use a combination of series n parallel connection in order to use many many LEDs so dat each LED only take 3v

another way is go n find 12v LEDs... then u can connect directly... (parallel connection)

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
Originally posted by khguan@Sep 24 2004, 14:44
the reason ur LED burn is bcos de car batt voltage is much higher than de LED's voltage..

u have to use a combination of series n parallel connection in order to use many many LEDs so dat each LED only take 3v

another way is go n find 12v LEDs... then u can connect directly... (parallel connection)
Yeah.. tat's better. But is there 12v LEDs? Price of each is how much?

ksgoh

May 19, 2004
Kedah/Penang
Originally posted by L9Turbo+Sep 24 2004, 16:44 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (L9Turbo @ Sep 24 2004, 16:44 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-khguan@Sep 24 2004, 14:44

Yeah.. tat's better. But is there 12v LEDs? Price of each is how much? [/b][/quote]
yes, but that is not called LED liao....is called bulb...hehehe... :P dunno got or not, but i never see it....

dear sifu,

i would like to swap engine 4g92 dohc with ngv.

how much the price and what thing do o need to take care.

thank you