D.I.Y Cold Air Intake & Water Injection for Carburetor

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006
A high grade Tupperware

Measure the K&N filter size, make sure it fit

Use Spray paint to mark the shape pattern of the carburetor base

Base pattern marked

Use fire to heat up a nail to cut the shape of the carburetor base on the tupperware (Using heat to penetrate n cut)

Cut the shape out

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006
Shape cut out.....

Use water n sand paper to sand the uneven surface

Use masking tape to creat a *gasket* for the CAI box (to prevent loosening in long term)

A completed job of *gasket*

Fits on the Carburetor...

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006
Make additional holes on opposite far end to drain unwanted water during raining storms

Cut a hole on the lid of the tupperware, add a funnel. Measure it so the funnel will face the right position
upward to your scoop.

Measure n mark the size of the hole for your CAI funnel

A close up of the funnel inside the scoop....

Find a suitable scoop, and you have a American Muscle Car style CAI ! (Engine roars sounds good too!)

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006
*Water Tank* located under the funnel...

A small round tupperware as *Water Tank* (Side wall and lids are filled with 2mm holes
for Water Evaporate system (Simmilair to Water Injection System)

Pour 50% water to fill up the *Water Tank* Now you've got denser air mixture......

Total Cost:

1. Big tupperware------ RM7
2. Small tupperware--- RM2
3. Scoop --------------- RM35
4. Korek Lubang--------RM15 (Done at accesories shop)
5. DIY-------------------Priceless

What you get is a 1300cc engine that flies 160kmh-170kmh non-stop for 3 hours YET your temperature is at NORMAL tempt.

After maximum speed, the engine STILL pushing foward with G force, the only resistant is Wind Drag........I believe making 200kmh with proper aero dynamics is NOT a problem for a 1300cc......

Well, all these are JUST my opinion n R&D. My test results.... :)

Regards

Kendconcerto

Jan 4, 2006
ethanphoon592 said:
Won't your tupperware material soften once you kena the heat??
I must be at least wiser to buy tupperware that is High-Heat , dont I ? :angel_smile:

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Waa... thumbs up for this DIY.

A true DIY idea and executed exactly according to plan.

Nice work!

D1 Grand Prix Championship Malaysia Elites, Tengku Djan Ley and Lim Zee King will shake USA for the first time at the D1 WORLD ALL
STAR 2006 in Dec 16 and 17. Malaysia's first try ever to take on the world's best. Stay tuned as the reports roll in! Ken Nomura wins over Masao Suenaga to take 1st place in the 2006 D1GP World All Star. By DriftLive.com

MacNamara out in round of 8 to Ken Noruma, Darren is quickly becoming a crowd favorite in his SR powered...