White bulbs comparison/discussion

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Danz,
that is not xenon, that price range should be either Philips Crystal Vision or Diamond Vision which is normal bulb only. For Philips HID set will be RM 1500 and above :listen:

Oo ya lor...its diamond vision blue something like that......
i wonder halfcut got sell those bulbs ah? i saw ayie on mudah selling those blue
ones bout rm30 per set taken out from evo halfcut. but dunno whether is it cap ayam brand anot.

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
the bulb itself is 200++?? im currently using osram nightbreaker, brighter than the normal osram.., but prefer HID..hehehe

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
yup rm200++ for philips ones.

i heard the nightbreakers will blow after a while......not sure la....
u got use booster ah?
but becareful when buying half cut, they might simply say its half cut, it could be from DATSUN half cut..heheeh

the nightbreaker so far 2 months no prob la..still new ma, but i dun use booster, i think if use booster will easily melt the reflactor and plastics inside

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
tonite will COD the HID 4300k wif the guy selling in Lowyat.net, dunno buy onot leh.., RM155

impo

Mar 27, 2006
Nowadays the dogs started very hungry bcos they afraid nex yr the gov are changing....

I'm using 4200K on 1 of my car and so far. I don't have any problem. Previously was on 8k but I swap it with 4200K since 8K is very bad during rain. Now my 8K set is still sitting in my room and still in good condition after using it for like 3 years +.

Actually OEM HID from is not really white. Like my current car with OEM HID. At 1st thought it will be white but the yellowish feel is there when you see it on the road surface. Just a bit that white than those halogen. I just got a pair of fog light from Japan not long rated at 4100K quite good as luminance was rated at *IIRC 500meters I need to check the package at home. The colour is close to the HID so they matches each other.

I'm now looking at 5000K HID D2R but not sure how much is the price here.

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
im eyeing the philips bulbs......xenon...forgot the model edi...
but i check out the price rm200++.....
oo those are good
ive seen them on some cars at accesory shops
and they bright as hell is u get the higher temp ones
and im pretty sure the authorities cant do nothing about that :biggrin: because its not HID

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
I'm using 4200K on 1 of my car and so far. I don't have any problem. Previously was on 8k but I swap it with 4200K since 8K is very bad during rain. Now my 8K set is still sitting in my room and still in good condition after using it for like 3 years +.

Actually OEM HID from is not really white. Like my current car with OEM HID. At 1st thought it will be white but the yellowish feel is there when you see it on the road surface. Just a bit that white than those halogen. I just got a pair of fog light from Japan not long rated at 4100K quite good as luminance was rated at *IIRC 500meters I need to check the package at home. The colour is close to the HID so they matches each other.

I'm now looking at 5000K HID D2R but not sure how much is the price here.
u mean the HID on 1 of ur car is OEM or after market type? 4100, 4200, 4300k all bout the same color?

---------- Post added at 02:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:09 PM ----------

i assume mine is the standard price, from wat i see on mudah is about rm100-200..i think this price range is mostly from taiwan

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
...and they bright as hell is u get the higher temp ones
actually alot of ppl get it wrong, the higher the temperature does not mean the brighter it is. Maybe exterior wise yes, it is because it is more eye catching colour (for example: 6000K = Pure White; 8000K = Blue-ish White, 12,000K = Purple).

But in physics theory, the higher the temperature means the lower the lumen. So the wavelength of the beam pattern is also shorter which means lower visibility. Actually in my opinion those 10,000K or 12,000K temperature is for 'look' only, when driving at night especially rain the visibility is really poor. See below the table of temperature vs. visibility. My practice is don't go above 6000K for best visibility. :listen:

We have with us an almost new Porsche Cayman with us today. The owner purchase the car from another fellow enthusiast that claims to had upkeep the car to its tip top condition with many love on the exterior as well. But those claims were far from true when the paint condition was diagnosed. Read on to find out more...