Diy : Superlon Installation

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
hmm

interesting. But i've no problems AND this is what everybody in the industry's been using to stick SuperLon!

maybe your friend didn't stick it properly? maybe even the surface is not cleaned of dust and whatnots that makes the glue doesn't stick properly also is a major factor..

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
OR..
The glue is not Applied evenly to Both sides (SuperLon and Bonet)

OR..
the Glue was not 'Dry' enuf before applying.

evan2000

cool.....but i still dun have place to do leh....atleast need a place where got shade mah.....else so cham....

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
hi JL and Ninja,

mind to share how long have u sticked up the stuff?

was planning for this project long time ago, but was pull back by the mentioned comments. the stuff become cushion at my car's rear boot now haha...

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by levin818@Mar 23 2004, 01:41 AM
hi JL and Ninja,

mind to share how long have u sticked up the stuff?

was planning for this project long time ago, but was pull back by the mentioned comments. the stuff become cushion at my car's rear boot now haha...
Mine since Chinese New Year.

Ninja's.. I dunno.. Should be way longer.

I have a friend driving a VAN, he had it in last 3 years... Still ok. But he used those carpet type.. Very heavy...

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
Had mine for 2 years ++ ..... DIY mine for all the doors and the bonnet. Never peeled or came off so far. :ph34r:

But i still can remember the smell of the Dunlop glue in my car for more than a week :blink: .... dunno after that week of inhaling got side effects or not ?!! :(

toyota03

Been using mine for around 2 years.. The hood ones seems to harden a little bit due to water and hot of the engine. On the floor,, no problem at all. If you applied the Dunlop glue accordingly, it will last very long and tough to take it out...

My 2 cents only

:)

evan2000

so on the door ah...u all stick on the metal or on the door panel???

bryan90s

Nov 24, 2003
this my superlon...

double layer on the bonnet..since i noticed tht single layer was not good enough

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by bryan90s@Mar 25 2004, 09:02 AM
this my superlon...

double layer on the bonnet..since i noticed tht single layer was not good enough
Haha.. VERY neat.. good job !!

You need part time job ?

JasperSSP

Nov 21, 2003
I think when sticking up the Superlon, areas where those hose and wires are should be left alone, maybe cut off a small path for it. If next time need to repair or something, susah... especially if you have done a good job sticking them up ;)

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by JasperSSP@Mar 25 2004, 09:31 AM
I think when sticking up the Superlon, areas where those hose and wires are should be left alone, maybe cut off a small path for it. If next time need to repair or something, susah... especially if you have done a good job sticking them up ;)
Yup. You are right.

But luckily those Hose do not spoil that easy...

bryan90s

Nov 24, 2003
and r position at the bottom..so juz leave the area lor...like mine

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
Just wondering....will the CA Dunlop glue causes rusting problem? I'm not sure if this type of glue is corrosive.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by nuggyn@Apr 7 2004, 12:57 PM
Just wondering....will the CA Dunlop glue causes rusting problem? I'm not sure if this type of glue is corrosive.
This was discussed before.
No it won't

bryan90s

Nov 24, 2003
if it is corrosive then many zthian will be hailat including me

dun think so la....

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
hahaha...yeah, if it really causes rust problems (like the famous Proton roof problem), most of you will be HL liao. hahaha! :lol:

johnson...sorry, i'm quite new to this forum. You see, i have insulflex the floorboard of my Putra with Insulflex and bitumen sheets (wurth) on some areas. I could felt much difference...maybe i'm used to it...but some of my friends from the Putra gang said that my car is better insulated compare to theirs.

hehe..well guys..
i realise today that m,y car is runing in a minimal level of lub. oil and i min is below 'L' ... for at least a week or 2 or mebbe more

well..i never had lub oil on my recent oil change but past oil change i had tufoil..

so probably tuf oil clean sum carbon in my combustion area so i got less friction