Smaller piping for exhaust will cause to high FC?

kk9972

Dec 27, 2005
Hi All,
Any ideal?

My situation :
Engine is 4G61T. Exhaust system is 2" after extractor. Extractor itself is 2.5".

My concern :
Is my exhaust system will cause to high Fuel Consumption?

Any solution?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
what i can say is..

too small, exhaust gas rushing out,
not enough 'bandwidth' for the exhaust to flow out.
engine is 4 stroke, on the last stroke where the piston push the air out,
it will cost power lost there.

too big,
big diameter, same amount of gas will flow slower.
exhaust will cool down before reach outside,
also cost power lost.

so best is to follow original spec.. or slightly bigger.

n3sta_n_roses

May 8, 2005
bout FC i dun really sure but bout the power MAYBE there is a slightly limited bcz there's restricted area there..

its my 2 cent..wait for another forummer for comment :)

kk9972

Dec 27, 2005
So, anyone could help up?

Yo stan,
Howz it goin? Lookin at ur kancil, think i saw u in my area sometime last month. Im yet to bring my ride over for that 'worn-in' checkup that u mentioned about. Hoping to get that done next week if i can.

Anyhow,
I have to say i havent came across any original sports car gettin Titan-ed. I'm talkin bt cars like Evos, Celicas, Integras, Lancers, Mx-5s..etc. Maybe there are some that i dont know abt but i'd just like to say somethin to those ppl who are half-hearted abt...