Pls advise how to build 500-600whp on 4g63

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
All bros and sifus,

early this year i did started a thread on how to mod a stock vr4 engine to +-300whp with little budget, then i did the mod and manage to get 370whp but over budget....hehehe....now i'm considering to rebuild the block and necessary components to achieve 550whp

current setup:
evo1 head with intake and throttle body
tomei 260 cams and valve spring
560cc injectors
stock vr4 block
18g turbo
evo1 gearbox
e6x ecu
evo3 intercooler

pls advise what need to be done and most important part is the price:biggrin:
currently not yet decide the budget....thanks in advance for all suggestions

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
bro, r u building a drag car?..

jinkl

May 22, 2004
i dnt own one so i guess i dnt have tht much rights to tell u lol

bt from wht i have seen so far

current setup:
evo1 head with intake and throttle body
tomei 260 cams and valve spring
560cc injectors
stock vr4 block
18g turbo
evo1 gearbox
e6x ecu
evo3 intercooler
injectors have to be around 1000cc
atleast a gt3040 or gt3582
fuel pump is important too , one peice walbro wont be enuff
other than tht u are good to go, many have achieve high hp with stock vr4 blocks

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
bro, r u building a drag car?..
ehdrian, i'm building this car for fun only....syok syok sendiri saja....but if the engine really healthy then i might join sdb....:biggrin:

i dnt own one so i guess i dnt have tht much rights to tell u lol

bt from wht i have seen so far

injectors have to be around 1000cc
atleast a gt3040 or gt3582
fuel pump is important too , one peice walbro wont be enuff
other than tht u are good to go, many have achieve high hp with stock vr4 blocks
jin, stock vr4 block can achieve that range of hp? what boost pressure they apply?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
500whp on a stock block would be like a time bomb actually :D
achieveable, bt not advised

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009
jinkl dont have one? soon jinkl, soon.... hehehehe :biggrin:

spuzzle, for reliability, suggest u change to forged internal if u aim for 500hp++

scat conrod rm1.5k++
wiseco rm2k++
rebuild engine (rebore, overhaul kit, water pump etc) rm1k (maybe less)
ARP headstud rm400++
Cometic HG rm400++
Walbro rm350++ (twin fuel pump)
Injector 1150cc rm1.4k++
Intercooler upgrade estimate rm1k (maybe less)
Exhaust upgrade 3" from downpipe until back rm1k (maybe less)
Wastegate 900++
PTT Twin Clutch rm4k++ (but many have proved that exedy 3 puck can hold that power)

Miscellaneous for hidden cost rm2-3k (maybe less but dont underestimate hidden cost, they can make u run out of money :biggrin:)

for choice of turbo
Garret GT30,GT35 (ballbearing) rm4k++ (prepare 2k more for custom t3 turbo manifold, o2 housing, oil feed & oil drain line)

or Bullseye turbo (journal bearing) s258 rm4k++ (high boost for 500hp) s362 (for low boost 500hp) with .55AR DSM flange (for response) for plug and play to ur current turbo manifold right now. need new oil feed & oil return too.

or Forced Performance turbo (ballbearing), FP3065, FP3076R, FPHTA GT3582R (dunno got dsm flange or not) but price very expensive, plug and play to stock manifold.need new oil feed & oil return too.

hurmm, that I can think of.. and prepare some money for ur gearbox, can 'pecah anytime' :biggrin:

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
jinkl dont have one? soon jinkl, soon.... hehehehe :biggrin:

spuzzle, for reliability, suggest u change to forged internal if u aim for 500hp++

scat conrod rm1.5k++
wiseco rm2k++
ARP headstud rm400++
Cometic HG rm400++
Walbro rm350++ (twin fuel pump)
Injector 1150cc rm1.4k++
Intercooler upgrade estimate rm1k (maybe less)
Exhaust upgrade 3" from downpipe until back rm1k (maybe less)
Wastegate 900++
PTT Twin Clutch rm4k++ (but many have proved that exedy 3 puck can hold that power)

Miscellaneous for hidden cost rm2-3k (maybe less but dont underestimate hidden cost, they can make u run out of money :biggrin:)

for choice of turbo
Garret GT30,GT35 (ballbearing) rm4k++ (prepare 2k more for custom t3 turbo manifold, o2 housing, oil feed & oil drain line)

or Bullseye turbo (journal bearing) s258 rm4k++ (high boost for 500hp) s362 (for low boost 500hp) with .55AR DSM flange (for response) for plug and play to ur current turbo manifold right now. need new oil feed & oil return too.

or Forced Performance turbo (ballbearing), FP3065, FP3076R, FPHTA GT3582R (dunno got dsm flange or not) but price very expensive, plug and play to stock manifold.need new oil feed & oil return too.

hurmm, that I can think of.. and prepare some money for ur gearbox, can 'pecah anytime' :biggrin:
bro, what u mean walbro twin fuel pump...external unit? now i'm using walbro intank pump
"gearbox can pecah anytime" thats scary man....current setup also facing drive shaft problem:banghead:
bullseye turbo with dsm flange good choice since i hv banana and wastegate....if use s362, what boost pressure to achieve that hp?

---------- Post added at 01:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:36 AM ----------

500 whp on the road...got prob wit jpj?

what kinda car you want to tapau?:biggrin:
want to tapau 700hp detroit engine....:rofl:

Havok_KiD

Feb 21, 2006
hmmm some1 mad of power already....since ur are in the range of hitting 550whp...it will be an awesome money making machine in your area bro...hahaha..hope to see u in sdb next year

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009
bro, what u mean walbro twin fuel pump...external unit? now i'm using walbro intank pump
"gearbox can pecah anytime" thats scary man....current setup also facing drive shaft problem:banghead:
bullseye turbo with dsm flange good choice since i hv banana and wastegate....if use s362, what boost pressure to achieve that hp?

---------- Post added at 01:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:36 AM ----------

want to tapau 700hp detroit engine....:rofl:
what I mean is u have 1 walbro pump, just installed one more intank walbro pump to make it twin walbro (but must custom oil pump holder in tanks) or go for aeromotive pump if u want 1000hp in the future :biggrin:

gearbox is the main problem but depend on your luck some of 500hp guys never broke their gearbox before.. depend how u 'hentam' that car I guess..

if not mistaken I see commonly on internet people achieve 500hp around 1.7-1.9bar on s362 .55 AR (maybe lower, can't remember correctly and on dynodynamic/mustang dyno not dynojet).. but on internet they say s362 have choke problem above 550-600hp because of small .55 AR DSM flange turbine housing but u still can upgrade to t3 .70 AR turbine housing..
Hurmm, if u target above 500hp I think u better change to t3 or better t4 setup so u can grow much more HP up top..

for me, I just want max 420-450hp so I think DSM flange will give me good enough flow..

---------- Post added at 05:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:15 PM ----------

500 whp on the road...got prob wit jpj?

what kinda car you want to tapau?:biggrin:
there are many 500hp car on Malaysia road right now :biggrin:

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
hmmm some1 mad of power already....since ur are in the range of hitting 550whp...it will be an awesome money making machine in your area bro...hahaha..hope to see u in sdb next year
my ride now retired fr underground race....want to try sdb if hv chance....syok syok oni:rofl:

---------- Post added at 02:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:52 AM ----------

paranoid, with the setup u recommend as below can withstand what boost pressure....2.5bar?

scat conrod rm1.5k++
wiseco rm2k++
ARP headstud rm400++
Cometic HG rm400++

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009
my ride now retired fr underground race....want to try sdb if hv chance....syok syok oni:rofl:

---------- Post added at 02:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:52 AM ----------

paranoid, with the setup u recommend as below can withstand what boost pressure....2.5bar?

scat conrod rm1.5k++
wiseco rm2k++
ARP headstud rm400++
Cometic HG rm400++
I think no problem.. many have past 600hp and also 700hp with this if u can get a very good tuning and u have E6x so this will control ur ignition timing.. the only problem I afraid is pump gas that we use.. we dont have many choice here for OTR car. The highest u can get for OTR car is v-power equivalent to 95-96 octane if i'm not mistaken. Higher octane and ignition timing controlled is very important to reduce knocking on the engine.. maybe u should add water/methanol injection kit in ur budget to increase Octane.. for some insurance for daily driven car.. unless u want to run race gas everyday :biggrin:

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
I think no problem.. many have past 600hp and also 700hp with this if u can get a very good tuning and u have E6x so this will control ur ignition timing.. the only problem I afraid is pump gas that we use.. we dont have many choice here for OTR car. The highest u can get for OTR car is v-power equivalent to 95-96 octane if i'm not mistaken. Higher octane and ignition timing controlled is very important to reduce knocking on the engine.. maybe u should add water/methanol injection kit in ur budget to increase Octane.. for some insurance for daily driven car.. unless u want to run race gas everyday :biggrin:
i think i have to stop here, getting greedy with hp:rofl:

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009
i thilnk i have to stop here, getting greedy with hp:rofl:
for me, start building your block first. and then choose suitable turbo for u..

large turbo (gt35/s362), low boost, high hp, late spool, maybe not favourable for OTR car drive in town unless its only OTR car by names, drag every weekends n nite, good for 400m sprint test :biggrin:

medium large turbo (gt30,s256/259) high boost, high hp, quicker spool, best to drive in town, good for 300m. only problem u have to run high boost.

me also pening to choose. for now s256 is enough for me I think (not installed yet) for stock vr4 block. maybe have to boost 2bar++ to achieve my goals..

If I have forged internal, then go for s362 easy to achieve my 450hp goal :biggrin:

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
for me, start building your block first. and then choose suitable turbo for u..

large turbo (gt35/s362), low boost, high hp, late spool, maybe not favourable for OTR car drive in town unless its only OTR car by names, drag every weekends n nite, good for 400m sprint test :biggrin:

medium large turbo (gt30,s256/259) high boost, high hp, quicker spool, best to drive in town, good for 300m. only problem u have to run high boost.

me also pening to choose. for now s256 is enough for me I think (not installed yet) for stock vr4 block. maybe have to boost 2bar++ to achieve my goals..

If I have forged internal, then go for s362 easy to achieve my 450hp goal :biggrin:

bro, i plan to do it in 1 go since we have to waste money dynotune every upgrade....i like this " OTR car by name" hahaha....coz i seldom drive my satria, so maybe i'll choose s362 or gt35

mind to share what upgrades u did? if your car for cari makan then forget it :biggrin:

Guys,i got 1 spare strobe light bulb laying on the table. Its the Type R stobe light bulb. I wanna ask whether i can wire the bulb directly to battery with a switch and not connect it to the module? It has 3 wire red/white/black.