Need help - Check engine light appears (Caldina 2.0 Zt)

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Dear sifus,

Im having this problem since last week. Soon after the engine starts, the check engine light at my meter cluster wont go off. The light however only appear intermittently. I noticed when driving at a constant speed 120km/h it suddenly goes off.

I have photos attached.

Is this severe? I scare that the car would stall or just wont start. My fren foremen told it maybe due to sensor problem and need to be diagnosed 1st. Opinions and past experience are mostly welcomed. :confused::confused::confused:

u need to plug in OBD2 diagnostics reader at workshop or u could buy it off the shelves in mudah.my (obd2 Bluetooth reader)
can costs u bout RM30-50 depends on the trader, download the apps on your smartphone & delete the error code.

suspected o2 sensor or crank sensor.
do u experience your rpm meter fluctuating?

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
u need to plug in OBD2 diagnostics reader at workshop or u could buy it off the shelves in mudah.my (obd2 Bluetooth reader)
can costs u bout RM30-50 depends on the trader, download the apps on your smartphone & delete the error code.

suspected o2 sensor or crank sensor.
do u experience your rpm meter fluctuating?
RPM meter smooth like usual. No jerking. FC oso ok. Yup my fren oso told me it might be o2 sensor. Is it true that error like this only require a reset and no need to change the sensor itself?
Im afraid the workshop will fry me with unnecessary parts exchange.
BTW thanx bro #Danzeterna

john_unai

Aug 9, 2011
mtkb
my car last time have dis problem too, CEL on, car jerking & engine shaking really bad. scanned and d error is on ignition. replace my spark plug & delete d error then problem solved. get it scanned to know d error 1st. sometimes, it not the sensor.

ken yeang

sometimes, engine oil level too high (from the recommended mark) can cause the light to go on. This happened to my fren's Caldina.
This happened more frequent when he rembat the engine.

The problem solved after engine oil change, when he specifically top up engine oil until the dip stick top mark. Ngam ngam enigine oil.

Engine check light can be many things, best to check it out as mentioned by bro. Danz....

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
I've check aredi using diagnose and turns out the problem came from this sensor(Photo 2, yellow colour, no 3)
Its connected to my exhaust manifold.
Izzit an exhaust sensor or o2 sensor?
Aredi reset during diagnose.
Problem is the socket is not touching very well.
When tightens a few minute later it will become loose again.
Check engine light appears again.

I've check aredi using diagnose and turns out the problem came from this sensor(Photo 2, yellow colour, no 3)
Its connected to my exhaust manifold.
Izzit an exhaust sensor or o2 sensor?
Aredi reset during diagnose.
Problem is the socket is not touching very well.
When tightens a few minute later it will become loose again.
Check engine light appears again.
O2 sensor and that is the blue one at the exhaust. Yellow one is the socket only. So is socket problem or sensor problem?

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Does the thing sold separately?
Im thinking to buy the whole piece. Socket and sensor.
Anyone knows the estimate price for this?
A lot of thanks guys.:smile::smile::smile:

if sensor loose, just use PVC take (the ones used for plumbing), tape around the groove & screw it in.

---------- Post added at 09:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

if socket loose, the clip might be broken, don't think so if sold separately

if sensor loose, just use PVC take (the ones used for plumbing), tape around the groove & screw it in.

---------- Post added at 09:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

if socket loose, the clip might be broken, don't think so if sold separately
Loose connection can DIY but if sensor problem need to change dy.....

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Photos of my disfunction o2 sensor after dismantled.
Anyone knows shop selling this?

Brand : Denso
Model : Toyota 89465-68010 Denso 0150

Thanx guys.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
A supplier quoted me RM485 which is the cheapest I can get.

hey guys i hav a budget of about 5-6k for my nissan sunny i got for free =)...
but now i'm stuck cos i'm not sure where 2 start from and how do i manage everythin under this budget...

ok 1st the problems encountered is when i drove this car back from klang without any brakes...damn dangerous i know but i was goin damn slow...i think the brake system 'keput' already...either the master cylinder o the brake booster hav 2 b replaced...
2nd problem is water leaking...tat wan should b common...