DIY install Voltmeter

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
hi Guys n Gals...

i bought a autogauge voltmeter few days ago.. i tot the demeter come wit a mounting bracket.. but i was wrong...

so i went around my place to find for a bracket or cup or something... found one acc. shop.. bracket rm55, cup rm45.. wah... damn so expensive.. my meter onli rm120.. not worth it to spend so much on mounting.. i dun wanto install pillars.. very chor teng cos i onli got 1 meter

this is the bracket wit the meter... not yet installed..

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
last one... closer view... de meter i stick wit black matt sticker around it.. then de steel band i sprayed it balck... some parts need touch up.. i just use black marker pen to make it black..

total cost of mounting bracket material = less than rm2.00 :lol:

time to complete installation = half a day :mellow:

altho very tiring job doing de wiring.. but satisfaction is great!! :lol: B)

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
yah.. i forgot to mention.. de power i just tap from de cigarette lighter wire.. so need to dismantel de HU console to connect de wire...

this meter got 5 wires.. 2 red, 2 black, n 1 orange..

connect de 2 red wires together... then connect de 2 blacks together.. orange no use..

so now consider got 1 red n 1 black.. u can now connect them to de power source.. red to +ve.. n black to -ve..

NiCkY7

Dec 27, 2003
Originally posted by khguan@Mar 22 2005, 22:42
erm.. i duno wor.. this meter is from taiwan i think.. it will be ok kua..
[snapback]831866[/snapback]​
hmmh... u got multimeter also? can use to test ma, tap the multimeter and on ur car, then see whether same in the reading... hihihi...

btw, y must tap at cigarette wire ar? can tap at other place? i scare it takes the reading from the cigarette wire is not so accurate....

sorry, i still very new in this... :P

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
i will check when got time..

yah i also got think bout dat b4.. well. i tap at de cigarette lighter cos easier mah.. very tired making de bracket liao..:P then somemore no need to find de ignition line.. cos cigarette power depend on ignition key wan..

well i think de voltage at there is a little lower than from de battery.. but nvm lar.. still got reading... now my battery old liao.. i think wil kaputt no long more.. so i also cant say whether de reading is accurate or not..

NiCkY7

Dec 27, 2003
Originally posted by khguan@Mar 22 2005, 22:49
i will check when got time..

yah i also got think bout dat b4.. well. i tap at de cigarette lighter cos easier mah.. very tired making de bracket liao..:P then somemore no need to find de ignition line.. cos cigarette power depend on ignition key wan..

well i think de voltage at there is a little lower than from de battery.. but nvm lar.. still got reading... now my battery old liao.. i think wil kaputt no long more.. so i also cant say whether de reading is accurate or not..
[snapback]831881[/snapback]​
icic, nvm la, wait for ur news when u compared to multimeter...

cause now considering to buy this volt meter or those multimeter... i think volt meter more in fancy la, but multimeter more accurate... then battery also no need to see in everyday, one week check once also ok... so that's y still considering buy which 1... hahaha... headache... -.-"...

:P

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
well b4 i install this meter... i got use a digital multimeter measure de voltage b4.. well since my voltage is fluctuating due to old battery so i have to measure again to compare...

well.. i install this meter bcos i lazy wanto take out de multimeter n measure.. mafan mah.. then can make my car inside look better mah.. :P n i can monitor de voltage of my car all de time... B)

NiCkY7

Dec 27, 2003
Originally posted by khguan@Mar 22 2005, 23:02
well b4 i install this meter... i got use a digital multimeter measure de voltage b4.. well since my voltage is fluctuating due to old battery so i have to measure again to compare...

well.. i install this meter bcos i lazy wanto take out de multimeter n measure.. mafan mah.. then can make my car inside look better mah.. :P n i can monitor de voltage of my car all de time... B)
[snapback]831928[/snapback]​
ya agree, take the multimeter to measure also a bit lazy when the "3 minutes hot" gone liow... haha...

but if this meter not accurate, also not so worth to spend for it la... if accurate, then is a very good buy... :D

haha, i pening in the middle of 2 road... :ph34r: