What's the grippiest tyre?

Sep 4, 2009
Hi ZTH sifus.

I am looking to buy the grippiest road-legal tyres available. Intend to use for lapping Sepang and wet performance is a non issue.

Size i need is 235/40/18 for a 8.5" wide rim.

I have tried the following tyres which i have ranked in the order of grip, in my opinion:

1. Toyo R888
2. Pirelli PZero Corsa
3. Yoko AD07
4. Falken Azenis RT615
5. Dunlop Sport Maxx
6. Conti CSC3
7. Falken Ziex
8. Toyo T1R

The Toyo R888 is the obvious choice but would anyone recommend any other choices based on experience?

Also, what is a good price for Toyo R888 in 235/40/18 size.

Tks :wavey:

amansenna

Jun 24, 2009
Try michelin pilot sport cup. Highly rated but expensive.
I plan to use R888 for my next set, for track and DD.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
1. Toyo R888 \/ \/
2. Pirelli PZero Corsa --
3. Yoko AD07 \/
4. Falken Azenis RT615 \/ \/
5. Dunlop Sport Maxx --
6. Conti CSC3 --
7. Falken Ziex ???
8. Toyo T1R XXX

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
anyone heard of Kumho XS... over the states this tyre is hugeee...
great reviews also... and cheap..
yup... heard b4, but nvr try & seldom saw ppl using it..

azbro

Sep 21, 2008
Why not try Dunlop Formula R?

But for Cheap trills, some ppl use Goodyear Eagle RS Sport.

Both also dunno have your size or not...wow, you run 18's on track days...respect

Why not get real track tires like Silverstone FTZ Slick....they also have FTZ Type RR which is even Homologated for road use
Silverstone - High Performance Tyres
Look for competition tires.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
only thing i read that was not so good about kumho is it wares out fast.

Enybody heard of Toyo Proxes DRB?

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
yeah i saw one shop in JB selling...he said better then T1R ...

hi guys...
just installed Works adjustable cam pulley on my D16. i think my regular workshop didn't do properly, low-end is worse now :p need to send to specialist tuner.

any recommendations please, Klang Valley.

Thanks a lot!