Underpowered Merz

abunawas

Nov 18, 2012
Thanks very much for all your suggestions & opinions by you guys out there!
Actually im not into the "heavy" stuff of changing engine etc....
What i think i might do is...

1) Modify the exhaust system ie extractor etc

2) Install the CYCLONE TURBINE in the air intake system

3) Also considering installing the SURBO KIT

4) Reduce the width of my current tyres from 225/55/16 to 205/60/16

5) Fix the two headed spark plugs?

6) Fixing the hi performance plug cables

7) Mixture of 30% Ron97 with 70% Ron 95 Fuel (Am now on 100% Ron95)

Hope all you guys out there can guide me on the 7 items i intend to do...or add more such suggestions....

Actually im budget tight.......

Saving to buy the Hybrid Version of the new Camry in a year or two perhaps?

This is poor mans way of calculations pls DONT LAUGH !!!:love::confused:

before you do anything, what is your budget?

i have driven that Merz manual before and i dont think the power is that bad??

why not check the condition of your current engine before bolting a screw on?

for all you know your engine has done enough mileage and is losing compression? clutch slipping?

i wont do any of the 7 things u have listed above. you need to get the basics correct first.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
labeled by most otais and sifus as "modification level 0"

for all you know your engine has done enough mileage and is losing compression? clutch slipping?

i wont do any of the 7 things u have listed above. you need to get the basics correct first.

JTY

Jun 23, 2011
www.tachtronix.com
Vote for 200CDI or 270CDI engine conversion. 200CDI pretty cheap, very reliable even tuned to max with original turbo (around 180hp), very nice low en torque, also pretty straight forward conversion and
very very good fuel economy (around 5l/100km).
Remember that 200CDI is 2.2l only software has been changed between 200CDI -> 220CDI.
I have built and tuned several MB IDI and CDI engines and they are built to last even highly tuned!

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012

Sorry, after so long, I finally found out that the lack of power, slow pickup is due to my

cataylic converter in the exhaust system is clogged, thus reducing the exhaust flow thus sluggish in

power...

My 20 years exhaust specialist friend told me yesterday when I went to do a welding job for my exhaust.

He advised me to de-cat it, replacing in with a muffler in front, and another muffler at the rear.

He said it will be very nippy in power and very good in FC.

Has anyone done this before?

The cost is RM260 for 2 mufflers including workmanship, is it OK?

Will the car really have power, better FC and more silent ? :confused::burnout: