underpowered....help!

May 25, 2006
hi there,
I drive a Stock gen 2 which is currently running at 15000 km. My biggest problem is, it is way underpowered. I really need advice and guidance :regular_smile: from any1 who could help me solve my problem as cheap as possible.
1. Intake n exhaust: what is intake?i heard about 4-2-1 exhaust...how much is it and what does it actually do to increase the performance
2. Does spark plug along with its cable make any difference...how much the whole set cost.
3.What is groud cable n ECU?

i guess many ppl have post these Q b4 but i really hope u all out there could help me out:embaressed_smile:
ps: i m a fresh grad so money is definitely a major factor here. I know i cant have the best of both world by having superb performance for a cheap price but i surely hope all off u out there can pretty much help me achieved it anyway:angel_smile:

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Auto or Manual?

If Auto, can understand because the darn un-Campro engine is tuned to produce power at higher RPM range. But for Auto, u need power on lower RPM range.

Answers to ur Qs.

1. No idea, ask Gen2Club members.
2. Nope.
3. Get E-manage Blue - provided u can find the wiring diagram for yr stock ECU 1st.

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
D$ain+ said:
hi there,
I drive a Stock gen 2 which is currently running at 15000 km. My biggest problem is, it is way underpowered. I really need advice and guidance :regular_smile: from any1 who could help me solve my problem as cheap as possible.
1. Intake n exhaust: what is intake?i heard about 4-2-1 exhaust...how much is it and what does it actually do to increase the performance
2. Does spark plug along with its cable make any difference...how much the whole set cost.
3.What is groud cable n ECU?

i guess many ppl have post these Q b4 but i really hope u all out there could help me out:embaressed_smile:
ps: i m a fresh grad so money is definitely a major factor here. I know i cant have the best of both world by having superb performance for a cheap price but i surely hope all off u out there can pretty much help me achieved it anyway:angel_smile:
bro if u wanna get performance part or extractor for Gen2...Go Speedworks...they got parts for gen2...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
1) depends on ur driving style... but mostly for urban driving, a 4-2-1 header, 1.8" piping, high flow centre bullet (replace the CAT) and muffler... as for intake, get aftermarket air filter (drop-in or open-port, depends on ur choice)... all the above increases the air flow (less restriction) and thus, release some blocked bhp...

2) some expensive iridium plugs might make little difference... but if ur car stock standard, i advice u stick to ur current plugs and cables... check the plugs regularly for any defects... u dont need expensive plugs...

3) grounding cable mostly beneficial for ur electrical components... dont really have much impact on car performance... ECU is the brain of ur car (if u using electronic fuel injection engine).... get a standalone ECU or piggybacks if u want more performance....

D$ain+

May 25, 2006
thank u all for sharing your opinion and seriously its an eye opener to know all this stuff. its an auto and i know speedworks does modification but it is to commercialised and the price is pretty steep too.
1. wats the best air filter intake?how much is it.
2.4-2-1 or 4-2-2? which exhaust syatem is better and how much are those?
3. Some of the reviews i read through said that changing the spark plug along wit is cable might increase the Hp. Mind currently have no prob but i thought it is the cheapest way to increase power

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
if u want to go with the open pod intake..go for the apex filter.drop in..which is using back ur filter cover..u can try K&N or any other brand..

4--2-1 is ur exhaust manifold.4 is the head of the exhaust manifold which is connected to the exhaust port..then it joins in to 2 and finally one single pipe.look at ur car's exhaust manifold to get the picture.

spark plugs?there's been alot of discussion done with spark plugs..try searching.

D$ain+

May 25, 2006
how much will the air filter cost me? so the 421 setup is basically the best la...how much roughly? sorry about asking the price and stuff!

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
erm.im not too sure about the price now..i think its in the range of 200++.
u shud check out speedzone.they have gen2 upgrades.

bbb7

May 5, 2006
how do u know ur car is underpowered???
have u try other gen2???
perhaps ur car is overpowered compare 2 regular gen2
don expect too much from the campro which the cam is not pro.
just accept the power u have there, if u wanna blame, blame the one who recommend u 2 buy gen2 la..........

hey bro, this is the fact of gen2 : no power at low rev. if u wan power, rev higher lor but becareful the engine will burst-common problem 4 gen2. since u r a fresh graduate, better don rev the car high, u still have bright future 1............

just accept the car n try 2 earn more money n get urself a i-VTEC lor............. after that maybe u will "overpowered-unmanageable........... help"

sad case...............

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
he's a fresh grad.where's he gonna get the money?
if everyone here accepted the power that is churned out frm out cars..why do we need zerotohundred.com? or other forums for that matter?

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
Gen2 really that bad meh?

1.6 DOHC 16Valves wo......auto i duno la

i think manual should be no problem

or u over expect Gen2?

Gen2 underpowered.....then u try Saga 1.3 LMST see how

haha compare and tell me the different