DIY Oil Change and Flush

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i remember my first 1k service for my iswara. drain out oil looks like mud color and got smell!
want the oil to maintain yellowish color at your oil? install DIAMOND water filter at your engine. haha...............

xtorm

Dec 9, 2003
hahaha mayb they put old engine in ursler...ekkekeke.

even my engine kosong after 1k engine oil still yellowish...

my gf kelisa now 1.2k after the service still yelowish mah...no diamond filter needed :P

btw, use better quality engine oillor

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
oil turn to black due to heat ALONE? i doubt it a bit..
surely most of the black thing is due to carbon built up right?
carbon built up due to many thing.. even when combustion, some
of the carbon (like tiny2 amount) will drop to ur oil..

ur engine oil MUST be kept in good condition (less carbon as possible)..
so that less friction to the piston and wall. thats y we chg oil every 5k km.

IMO, if engine oil is still maintain yellowish or brownish after 1 week..
and at same time ur exhaust smoke is clear.. talking generally i think it is a sign of
healthy engine.. correct me if im wrong..

u can see for ur self the oil after 1 wk at photo on page 1. it is not crystal clear.. surely.. but it is still yellowish. unlike before i flush, the oil turn BLACK only after 2-3 days..

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
oil change every 5000km?
Tan CHong give me castrol magnatec and tell me that oil can last 10,000km.
anywhere i will change my oil somewhere 5,000km and when the color is black or dark brown.
but i heard mercedes using mobil 1 synthetic and the engine oil can last 15,000km.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
ya i heard same.. fully sythetic and new engine normally is change at 10,000km.
my wife picanto oso now use fully synth. and chg at 10,000km.

aVince

Jan 16, 2007
Try to change it before 10,000km. The oil company set the 10,000km guideline is refering to their test on the car that keep running at long distance till it reached 10,000km.
As for our daily usage, stop-and-go during heavy traffic will shorten the quality lifespan of the oil..

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
True aVince! For those city driving stop-n-go, or short distance drive , we have to change the oil sooner..

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
chg oil sooner is good for engine... yes... but not good for poket.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i saw the Shell flush engine oil for RM26.50 at prai, penang.

aVince

Jan 16, 2007
haha... well, prevention (maintenance) is cheaper than correction (fix/ troubleshooting).
I called Shell customer service, for PJ area -- Shell Station in Tmn Tun has it.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
no need prevent larr. after 15 yrs your car worth Rm5k only!!

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
that only apply for proton cars... kekeke

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
sell to scrap metal shop pun they dont dare to take, later city council penalty them for using/extracting metal from cars more than 15 yrs old which the metal can be UNSAFE!!
want to find spare part also canot find, city council will fine those spare part shop for selling parts to car more than 15 yrs as this is considered as an "encouragement to drive old car."
what can u do with 15yrs old car? redeem your RM5k rebate with every purchase of 'P' car.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
donzcity,

your flushing tutorial can save toyota engine against slugh problem.

kaiowas

Feb 19, 2005
get the normal mineral one enuff oredi...but change at regular interval
rather than get expenceive fully synth one change at longer interval
after all u trust the figure given by the manufacturer ka? fully synth can go until 10K plus than oni change? at that time ur engine oil oredi like kopi O still dont need to change ma?still wait till 10K?

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
that is kopi O KAU KAU.............

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
kaiowas... (this is nice song from Sepultura.. rocks!!!! i can play it too hehe).

10k fully synth for case of my wife's picanto still bright yellow.. result new engine..
and low rev driver.. hehe. (totally opposite of me) ..

kaiowas

Feb 19, 2005
me can play it to in drop D. lol. those were the days.
ok back to topic.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
yeah..........
guys........
who is using castrol magnatec 10/40??

at bukit mertajam, prai i find that spare part shop selling it for RM77, carrefour sell RM89-92. what is the difference??
tan chong sell RM80.

My Spec
4G93 with Mivec
ECU code 0450
175bhp at the flywheel
Mivec head
Mivec inlet and throttlebody
SAFC
RSPEC Shift light (activates mivec)
2.25 inch exhaust piping
2.3 inch exhaust with 2.5 inch outlet
K&N drop in filter

Sifu's, My question is how can i make it to 180hp to 200 hp on flywheel?
I tot 1.8 mivec engine should be 180++ hp.
Any suggestions and mods need to be done to achieve that horsepower please do teach me sifu.
And around what figure?

Thx in...