DIY Oil Change and Flush

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Here is how to do it. Quite simple really. And you learn a thing or two
in the process.

1. Get the necessary tools and parts.

I use semi synth oil. Got it RM68 from lobang. Shell Flushing Oil.
Last week I saw its priced at RM25. Today I bought it RM26.50.
Adjustable spanner to open drain plug (or any spanner
with correct size will do). The oil filter bought from spare part
shop. Honda genuine filter RM16. Oil filter wrench bought at
HERO supermarket RM9.90.

2. First, jack up the car. I dont have the big jack. My jack
is a normal jack that came with the car. I drove the car up
the kerb on one side, and jack it up on the other side. This
is quite dangerous. I suggest for others to do it with a bigger
jack and put those car stand to hold the car in case jack fails.

3. Open up the engine oil cap in the hood. Then only open
the drain plug with the spanner. Get ready a container to
hold the almost 4 litre of old oil. Here is mine, dirty!!:

4. Then, screw the drain plug back in place. And pour in the
Shell Flushing Oil. Here is how the oil looks. Almost same
as normal oil, but when you feel by your finger, it is more
thinner. Nearly waterlike feeling.

5. Then start engine and wait in idling mode for 5 minutes.
Dont rev the engine or you will damage the engine.

6. After that, drain the flushing oil. I drain it back to the
original bottle. Check out how dirty it is!

7. Then open the oil filter. Use the wrench to open it.
I thought it will be difficult and need great force. But
you will be surprised how easy it was to open it.

And just a heads up, when opening the filter, be careful
for the extra oil which is trapped inside the filter itself.
I got myself drenched in the flush oil in the process!

Here is the old oil filter.

Here is new oil filter.

Notice the difference? The new one got more holes..
mean oil flow should be better.

8. Finally, clean up the drain plug, and the drain plug area,
and all the area and fit the new oil filter. Rub a little new
oil to the oil filter rubber gasket before fitting it in.
Then, plug in the drain plug nice and tight. Photo
shows new clean drain plug.

9. Finally, pour in the new oil halfway. Then start engine
to idle for a while (1-2 min), where the new oil will refill
the filter and other areas. Then stop engine. Refill
the new oil until the correct level.

10. Done. Here is some mess made on the floor.
Me myself have more mess all over me. Kekeke...

11. After 1 week done the flushing... i make a comparison
between the new oil and the oil in my engine:

on the left is the new oil (from leftover bottle), and right
side is the oil from my engine.. as u can see, its a bright
yellow still.. compare to previously, before flush, even
2-3 days after chg oil, it turn black!

im really happy with this flushing...... engine healthy!

xtorm

Dec 9, 2003
sheel station selling the flush? when once but didnt c it...hmm.....

how old is ur engine? thinking of flushing mine

use to flush my old engine with those can type, i specificly look for those that need travelling for 100miles or so, did it with a new cheapo engine oil n a new cheapo oil filter, total cost around rm50++ which is expensive compare to this.... but the result is good, responsive engine after that

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Yup.. shell selling it RM26.50 for 4L. but i think not all station have. the shell i went to buy it also have a service station. Just now i went to acc shop, i saw the STP flushing additive. like 500ml i think.. RM17...i dont know which is better. but looking at the shell flushing oil output, i am more than satisfied.

my engine is 6 years. i made a mistake of using normal oil once after got the car. next i change to semi synth and didnt do a flush. thats y now i decide to do the flushing.

and yes, engine is more responsive and smoothhhhh afterwards after flushing... lazats.. kekee..

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
er.. how u know the size of sediments? can measure meh?

confuse here...

anyways.. too bad, i chucked the old filter away..

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
Dr doncityz,

Great tutorial!!
everytime goto service workshop they just drain the old oil then pour new oil. and the dirt will always remain in the engine. and the dirt will keep accumulating til u see MUD. haha............
i also want to DIY flush it.
any other brand flush oil besides SHELL??

fluffy?

Jun 14, 2007
but i've been told that modern oils already have flushing qualities.u done really need to flush ur engine.but no harm doing it tho. :)

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Dr. Ir. Northiswara PhD,

so far i see only shell got this oil.. other brand are those
in smaller cans where u have to ADD to ur old oil.

shell flush oil require u to dump the old oil first, then
use the shell flush oil 4L to idling around 5 mins..

i guess u also can buy those STP flushing additive.. (500ml),
but instead of add to old oil (which is very dirty), u buy another
caukia brand normal oil cheap2.. put it in together with the
flusing additive... then idle for a while, then drain it all out..
and add new oil..

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
Dr doncityz,

i still think the SHELL flush 4L is good for the job cozs putting any chau kia oil or use old oil canot really wash the dirt out because those oil have higher velocity and its more sticky. the SHELL flush oil is more like water so it can easily wash the dirt out.

EGfan

Dec 18, 2003
Guys, where do you guys buy the crush washer for the oil drain plug??

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
u can use flush chemical, diesel engine oil, mineral petrol engine oil, diesel to flush...

but normaly simple is just use flush chemical.

and to fasten the process.u can pour in the engine oil to the filter itself before tighten it back to the position, but it al depends where ur filter located.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
dr doncityz,

is the drain oil nut same size towards all engine??

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Dr northiswara,

err... i don't think so... my drain oil nut is not same as my prev wira drain nut.

EGfan,

as for the washer... i think can buy at car spare parts shop... i didnt change the nut nor the washer since washer was not crushed and nut thread is still very good.

IMO, i dont think that you should be over-tightening the drain nut till crush the washer....

can anyone pls help me, i have done twice top overhall hall...for my vitara 1.6, 8 valve 3 door....when i drive my car just after 1 week after change all...quarter is lost of the black oil...im fustrated...pls help need advice :bawling: