Budget laptop of rm3000. Suggestions?

Zidane

Nov 24, 2003
I am looking for a laptop. Budget around rm 3000.

Currently, I have my sights on these models:

Compaq Presario M2247AU
Toshiba L20-C430

Any comments or suggestions?

Currently I also have a few questions just out of curiosity.

• Which is better, AMD-64 SEMPRON 3000+ (1.8ghz) or TURION ML-300 (1.6ghz).

• What is the purpose of the 6 in 1 card?

• What is the difference between ATI Radeon 9000 and ATI 200M.

Regards,

simplythebest

Zidane said:
I am looking for a laptop. Budget around rm 3000.

Currently, I have my sights on these models:

Compaq Presario M2247AU
Toshiba L20-C430

Any comments or suggestions?

Currently I also have a few questions just out of curiosity.
  • Which is better, AMD-64 SEMPRON 3000+ (1.8ghz) or TURION ML-300 (1.6ghz).
  • What is the purpose of the 6 in 1 card?
  • What is the difference between ATI Radeon 9000 and ATI 200M.
Regards,
IMO, Get Dell Inspiron 6000 better. :tongue:

Inspiron 6000
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/pro...2006-01-07_inspn_6000_N510106?c=my&l=en&s=dhs

Inspiron 1300
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/pro...2006-01-07_inspn_1300_N520102?c=my&l=en&s=dhs

You do the comparison. :tongue:

tylaxng

Jul 26, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
If just this 2 model: i will prefer Compaq Presario M2247AU.

reason:
1. AMD Turion processor, support 64-bit OS (celeron :confused_smile: )
2. 80Gbyte hd, (toshiba just 40 onli)
3. DVD Burner (toshiba combo drive onli)
4. 512MB memory (toshiba 256MB ddr2, trust me if just compare memory control technology, AMD memory control unit is good, read tomshardware.com processor article u will know built-in's memory control advantage)

but.. this 2 model power consumption not so good... 2~3 hr want to charge liao...

stylish... erm.. toshiba better than compaq... personal opinion:shades_smile:

below is website review comment for toshiba: (source:http://toshiba-review.blogspot.com/)

The good: Low price; excellent keyboard; bright display.

The bad: Mediocre performance; very poor battery life; no external volume controls.

The bottom line: The no-frills Satellite L20 offers the bare minimum for budget-conscious home users, but even at such a low price there are better options.

and... wat's the different sempron and turion?
sempron is AMD entry dekstop processor (cut L2 cache size, some model no support 64bit, more is socket 754), like Intel's celeron.. if use by laptop... power consumption no so good... recommend for dekstop replacement type laptop.

turion is AMD laptop processor, u can think turion is Athlon64 dekstop processor optimize for laptop(Power Now! technology).

Zidane

Nov 24, 2003
Thanks guys.

The Dell 6000 is a bit above my budget. Dell 1300 is a bit weak in some areas. But i think my choice is the compaq.

No offense but i'd rather buy a new laptop than a 2nd hand. Dun wanna gamble on this one.

I heard from 1 shop that AMD's processor gets too hot easily and this causes long term problems to the laptop (to the screen, mother board etc..). Any ideas whether this is true? If it's just hot, i dun mind but if it causes a problem then i'll opt for something else.

tylaxng

Jul 26, 2005
Penang,Malaysia
Zidane said:
Thanks guys.

The Dell 6000 is a bit above my budget. Dell 1300 is a bit weak in some areas. But i think my choice is the compaq.

No offense but i'd rather buy a new laptop than a 2nd hand. Dun wanna gamble on this one.

I heard from 1 shop that AMD's processor gets too hot easily and this causes long term problems to the laptop (to the screen, mother board etc..). Any ideas whether this is true? If it's just hot, i dun mind but if it causes a problem then i'll opt for something else.
heard from 1 shop? i think this shop just sell intel processor laptop onli... haha..:regular_smile: personal opinion...

maybe i can share my exp... currently i'm using Dell Latitude D600(PM-1.6G)... at air-con room, normal CPU temp around 45C.... at normal room temp can reach >50C when laptop running few application... temp high? Yes, it is.... normally when i use it.... i need put somethings underneath my laptop let my laptop bottom got space for good heat transfer...... for my point, laptop CPU or CPU heat generate not so important coz this kind CPU already put in some technology and design for heat control but laptop chasis and housing design quality can effect CPU heat transfer....

Currently, i no heard or c any AMD laptop's part no function due to the CPU temp too high...

Above is my personal opinion, wish can help u...

EvoGanu

Jan 11, 2005
sogo KL
i got 1 laptop for sell

COMPAQ Hawlet packett note book
evo n610c model
pentium 4 2.4Ghz
40G hdisk
512 Mb DDRam
32 Mb ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 Graphics Controller
dvd / cd rom..cdr

stereo sound
lan card
modem
infrared
s-video

windows xp
many more..

good cond..
last time brought at rm6K ++
rm2.3k nego..

see here..http://h18002.www1.hp.com/products/q...11382_div.HTML

013-355 3301
loc KL

i can i gv 1 month personnel warranty.. if got any prob after u purchase, u can gv to me..n i will send to compaq service centre (HQ-damansara). u no need to worry..all charges i will pay.

davidchen27

Jan 30, 2006
i would strongly suggest u go for Compaq Presario M2247AU... im not sure about its specs now, maybe they do come out with a better one these days.. nonetheless, HP's customer support and even phone support is excellent.. and they really do follow up ur probs... really good!!! i personally own HP laptops too!! very reliable unlike those days where HP laptops can be used to fried eggs.. hehe... also i heard toshiba is not tat good these days le.. hope it helps... HP rocks!!