Usefulness of wastegate

xero : the internal one is comes already with the turbo unit itself..the external one is..outside.

http://images.google.com.my/images?q=tbn:VFE4lSizujz9SM:www.madpsi.net/Projects/MR2%2520(SW20)/Madpsi%2520-%2520Pouyas%2520MR2%2520-%2520TiAL%2520external%2520wastegate%25201.jpg
external

internal
http://www.tuneupchile.cl/performance/wastegate%20en%20pagian%20de%20standar%20boost%20controller.jpg

fluff: imagine u have a twin brother.. .at the same EXACT instance, both of u shout WOI! ... so will u hear 2 wois or 1 loud woi...

blackie, how often do people get to boost as high as you on such a big engine ler?

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
fluff: imagine u have a twin brother.. .at the same EXACT instance, both of u shout WOI! ... so will u hear 2 wois or 1 loud woi...

black: so when u change gear, the sound is woi woi?
2 sounds issit, but issit possbile
what advantage u get from it?

Difference between internal and external wastegate? One's inside, the other's outside... wahahaha... =Þ do a google search on photos then u'll know what they look like lor...

asianbookie,
blackie already said 'At the EXACT instance'... still u can come up with 'woi woi' ?!? hahaha... =Þ Wonder what will happen when one of the wastegate not tuned as tight as the other... or maybe one side wastegate rosak liau... the one will 'woi' earlier than the other... hahahaha.
"wooooowoooooooooooooiiiiiiiioooooooiiiiii"
Waahahahah

alvin24 said:
Difference between internal and external wastegate? One's inside, the other's outside... wahahaha... =Þ do a google search on photos then u'll know what they look like lor...

asianbookie,
blackie already said 'At the EXACT instance'... still u can come up with 'woi woi' ?!? hahaha... =Þ Wonder what will happen when one of the wastegate not tuned as tight as the other... or maybe one side wastegate rosak liau... the one will 'woi' earlier than the other... hahahaha.
Waahahahah

alvin24: now only know what he meant.
just a veri veri loud woi issit,not woi woi.

harhar :_:

black how ling want to hear his woi sounds...so need two loh...u know ler his ice too loud...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
two at once ar? syok lor.. like WMP's 3D sound effect XD

alvin24 said:

asianbookie,
Waahahahah

i know what it looks like. im asking from a performance point of view. any advantage or disadvantage for either design?

WG is used to prevent overboosting the engine.

When used with proper boost controller the response increases.

The bigger the better.

How can u say the bigger the better?? are u sure about wastegate being the bigger the better??? like turbo's the bigger the turbo the more lag it cause.... so with bigger wastegate the area that the exhaust gas travels become bigger.. therefore less dense right? when less dense it losses kinectic energy as the mass flow rate actually drops.. there for momentum is loss correct? so how can it be better?? please explain.. sorry for all the questions

im no expert but the bigger WG u have the better it will control overboost. im not saying that a 200mm WG will suit your turbo converted daihatsu charade with its 35bhp, hehe....

its the boost controller that reduces lag. it prevents the WG from leaking gas and opens the WG exactly when its supposed to...

Choosing wastegate is like choosing exhaust piping size... there's a correct size for every setup you're running... bigger doesn't necessarily mean better... choose one that fits your application.

OTherwise there wouldn't be a point of having wastegates in so many various different sizes, we'd all be buying from a universal sized one. =Þ You don't see SSQV sold in 10 different sizes also... =Þ hehehe...

hmm...maybe he's confusing between WASTEGATE and BLOWOFF VALVE? Maybe that explains why there's 2 of these in a turbo car, which is normal.

Fluffy said:
jeff : wat?are u for real?
wei dude thats the sound of 2 bov plus 2 wastegate....i heard it before damn syiok la.....but very hard to get that setup cause must use small waste gates...with slightly different settings....bov also same.....

ok...from my understanding the wastegate is used to control the exhaust gas preasure which is pushing the exhaust turbine.....
so to much preasure u get the........... prap sound

while the bov is used to control the boost preasure of the of the compresor turbine...... to much preasure u get the..... piss sound

so the to much preasure part depends on you setting la.........like me i prefer a small waste gate setting plus small bov setting so i can whack my turbine kow kow........cause i using big cap ayam turbine which has alot of lagg.....but when the boost come in ...fuuyooo......depends on user la...some prefer responce...