rear disk brake

S1997

can proton rear disk brakes and knucles use the arms of rear drum brakes?

S1997

if someone is only selling rear discs, calipers and knucles....how does the buyer going to fit them on his car with rear drums?

ealt

Dec 16, 2003
It is the same....you just need to take out the drum set and put disk,caliper and the cables...

S1997

hmmm...still dont have a confirm answer....my mech also never try b4....

anybody else?who try b4?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
should be no problem ... why want to upgrade to rear disc ?? drum should be more powerfull compare to disc ..ahh.

The most important is put in anti roll bar ... ( just my opinion :D )

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
drum more powerful???? if drum is more powerful than disc...then u should c mitsu evo wit drum loh...o skyline wit drum...

sure lah disc better

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
the performance car with rear disc break is because they want to anti lock from drum, the strong break from rear u will feel ur car rear wheel will slid out leh... that why now , most of the car are change to disc.. for safety.

if dun mistaken , for BMW 318 and 320 with yr 80 something , those are breaking of rear drum break .... :D

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
ha ha ha...

in the year 80's i think almost all car using rear drum lah...

if its not 4 safety n comfort purpose then they dun desin em...and it also looks cool...who wan a black round drum brake anyway

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
If drum brake is giving better braking, shouldn't all performance car comes equipped with drum all around ?
If scared to lock the rear wheel, can it just change the brake bias more to the front?

I don't know whether this statement is true or not :"Drum brake provide more stopping power than disc brake".
I know disc brake can solve the brake fade problem only. Who study automobile engineering here? Or read from mag about this ?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
my car rear break won't upgrade to disc , furthermore my front disc break I had change from V6 to local wira 1.5 disc break .. this due to I want to use 13" sport rims :D

as my poman advise, I only upgrade my master pump from sigle layer to double layer for better pressure support . After I try , stopping performance are good compare with 6A10 break system.

another is : when I plug in 15 " sport rims, I found that my break system become weak compare to 13" sport rim.

Does anybody on ZTH know when this product will arrive on the Malaysian market. I've checked a lot of Clifford dealers and some don't seem to know about it.