Living with Euros (Non-BMW,Merc,Audi)

YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

Apr 24, 2018
Hey Guys,

As per the title. What are these new generation of Peugeots, Renaults, Citreons & Fiats like to live with in Malaysia? Anyone have any personal experience with a new gen frenchie/italian in Malaysia? Its always intriguing to me that these niche brands in Malaysia consistently pop-up in top car awards in Europe but are hardly acknowledged here.

With the prices they're going for these days in Malaysia, hard to deny how tempting it is to wanna take the leap and pickup a new 308 or Clio RS. I used to own a Citreon DS3 in England, it was brilliant. A 5-Speed, hill assisted manual, 2-door hatch. It was super reliable as well, owned it for 2 years from new and not a single problem came up. Leased an Abarth 595 alongside the Citroen for 6 months, was a great time, especially being a uni student.

Sad to come back to Malaysia and see everyone buy the same thing over & over again (T,H,MB,BMW). Is there actually a problem with the units they bring in here? Or is it just the public perception? Really tempted to take a leap and buy a new 308.

marv3

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
As a owner of a Pug 408T myself, i can say this honestly. Actually is a good car in essence. The downfall is the built QC and the aftersales service which you have to deal with. I personally stop sending it to SC after 3 times i think and just get it service outside. Im willing to void the warranty partly because of the fear of leaving my car with them (from stories i have heard) and also i mod the car. Is all about your luck when it comes to this. Some Pug has less or no problems compared to the others. I heard that they are improving on their aftersales service but i cant verify as i do not send my car there anymore.

If you are into resale value, please turn away from this car. There is no such thing as resale value when it comes to these cars. It doesnt exist in their vocabulary.

Also being French, and if you are into modding you car, you will have very limited aftermarket parts (locally). Its difficult to source and alot of times you have to research yourself or import (buy online).

But driving wise, it is honestly quite good for the price their offering.

My personal advise, if you really like the car, get a 2nd hand one. And if is possible, get the last production batch car. They have less problems or none of the typical issues as they rectify all of it for the final batch (i.e. use the updated parts, etc.)

Reactions: YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

Apr 24, 2018
As a owner of a Pug 408T myself, i can say this honestly. Actually is a good car in essence. The downfall is the built QC and the aftersales service which you have to deal with. I personally stop sending it to SC after 3 times i think and just get it service outside. Im willing to void the warranty partly because of the fear of leaving my car with them (from stories i have heard) and also i mod the car. Is all about your luck when it comes to this. Some Pug has less or no problems compared to the others. I heard that they are improving on their aftersales service but i cant verify as i do not send my car there anymore.

If you are into resale value, please turn away from this car. There is no such thing as resale value when it comes to these cars. It doesnt exist in their vocabulary.

Also being French, and if you are into modding you car, you will have very limited aftermarket parts (locally). Its difficult to source and alot of times you have to research yourself or import (buy online).

But driving wise, it is honestly quite good for the price their offering.

My personal advise, if you really like the car, get a 2nd hand one. And if is possible, get the last production batch car. They have less problems or none of the typical issues as they rectify all of it for the final batch (i.e. use the updated parts, etc.)
Thanks for the insight! Not a stranger to resale value, my 428i is worth 40% of the value I bought it for hahah. Can't digest how absurdly rubbish the SC must be if you're willing to void the warranty and go outside. Hows the service network here in Malaysia? Are parts as easy to get as Mercs & Beemers?

I agree, they drive surprisingly well! Gonna check out some frenchies this weekend. Maybe ill be lucky and get a warranty from the dealer :banana:

2017-Alfa-romeo-Giulia-Quadrifoglio.jpg

Reactions: Izso and YEBWOY27

More of an Abarth fan personally, but i’ve noticed Alfas & Fiats have close to 0% support structure here, from availability of parts & local shop expertise. Not brave enough
There's one Quadrifoglio on sale in mudah. And I saw one on test plates in bangsar.

It has 0% support. Sime Darby did a crap job the last time distributing their cars. The fact that the cars were crap at reliability didn't help.

Peugeot, I heard nothing but bad news from owners. And aftermarket support not as much as VW in terms of parts and specialists. The 1.6 PRINCE engine is also crap, and BMW has abandoned it completely.

Between the Renault, Peugeot and Citroen, I'd pick the Renault. Friend had nothing but good things to say about his Megane Cup. And Tom here has a Clio RS.

YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

Apr 24, 2018
There's one Quadrifoglio on sale in mudah. And I saw one on test plates in bangsar.

It has 0% support. Sime Darby did a crap job the last time distributing their cars. The fact that the cars were crap at reliability didn't help.

Peugeot, I heard nothing but bad news from owners. And aftermarket support not as much as VW in terms of parts and specialists. The 1.6 PRINCE engine is also crap, and BMW has abandoned it completely.

Between the Renault, Peugeot and Citroen, I'd pick the Renault. Friend had nothing but good things to say about his Megane Cup. And Tom here has a Clio RS.
Thats spot on. I do remember a time when Alfas were sold brand new here, but i swear it lasted 5 minutes.

Personally, i’ve been aiming for a Abarth 695 Ferrari for 4 years. Even with the continuous drop in price, the prospect of maintaining it is just too scary. Out of 15 shops i asked, only 2 were vaguely confident enough to say they can service it.

You’re right in that Renault is probably the safest bet. Tan Choong obviously knows how to run a car business.

Hey Guys,

As per the title. What are these new generation of Peugeots, Renaults, Citreons & Fiats like to live with in Malaysia? Anyone have any personal experience with a new gen frenchie/italian in Malaysia? Its always intriguing to me that these niche brands in Malaysia consistently pop-up in top car awards in Europe but are hardly acknowledged here.

With the prices they're going for these days in Malaysia, hard to deny how tempting it is to wanna take the leap and pickup a new 308 or Clio RS. I used to own a Citreon DS3 in England, it was brilliant. A 5-Speed, hill assisted manual, 2-door hatch. It was super reliable as well, owned it for 2 years from new and not a single problem came up. Leased an Abarth 595 alongside the Citroen for 6 months, was a great time, especially being a uni student.

Sad to come back to Malaysia and see everyone buy the same thing over & over again (T,H,MB,BMW). Is there actually a problem with the units they bring in here? Or is it just the public perception? Really tempted to take a leap and buy a new 308.
I am the sad owner of a frankenstein BMW E36 328i. I can tell you now BMWs of this age are cheaper to buy new parts than a Nissan Sylphy (my earlier car). Surprisingly parts for aged BMWs are plentiful and I'm not talking about used or halfcut condition parts. Brand spanking new either from Autobavaria or alternative German brands. A complete lower arm for example I can get non AB brand but some German brand I can't pronounce for RM280 vs the RM580 price AB sells it for. Brand new! Owning a conti is not too bad if you ask me but it's relative.

The catch is it has to be mainstream. Audis and Peugeots have loads of scary ass stories of cars being parked for months just waiting on parts and then there's the horror stories of contis breaking down due to our weather. BMW originally had a extra high mileage service interval, something like 20k km or something. I can't remember. There were so many break downs they revised it to 10k km afterwards. Then there's the old issue of Citroens legendary magic carpet suspension not holding up to the humidity and heat here and constantly needing repairs and servicing.

Personally I think if you are comfortable financially to some degree, conti cars are ok to own but you need to get familiarized with the contacts and networks of suppliers and owners. Helps a lot in terms of ownership and maintenance.

YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

Apr 24, 2018
I am the sad owner of a frankenstein BMW E36 328i. I can tell you now BMWs of this age are cheaper to buy new parts than a Nissan Sylphy (my earlier car). Surprisingly parts for aged BMWs are plentiful and I'm not talking about used or halfcut condition parts. Brand spanking new either from Autobavaria or alternative German brands. A complete lower arm for example I can get non AB brand but some German brand I can't pronounce for RM280 vs the RM580 price AB sells it for. Brand new! Owning a conti is not too bad if you ask me but it's relative.

The catch is it has to be mainstream. Audis and Peugeots have loads of scary ass stories of cars being parked for months just waiting on parts and then there's the horror stories of contis breaking down due to our weather. BMW originally had a extra high mileage service interval, something like 20k km or something. I can't remember. There were so many break downs they revised it to 10k km afterwards. Then there's the old issue of Citroens legendary magic carpet suspension not holding up to the humidity and heat here and constantly needing repairs and servicing.

Personally I think if you are comfortable financially to some degree, conti cars are ok to own but you need to get familiarized with the contacts and networks of suppliers and owners. Helps a lot in terms of ownership and maintenance.
Thanks for that Izso. I agree with familiarizing with the supply network. My family kept our W204 running at minimal costs. It was surprising to find brand new parts from outside stockists costing a fraction of what NZ Wheels used to charge. Contis aren'tas hard to live with in Malaysia as people make it out to be, but I agree with you that it HAS to be mainstream.

Which is why I wrote the title as Non-BMW etc. Was curious to see how the other side of continentals are fairing in Malaysia. I figured it wouldn't be so bad seeing as there are so many of these cars running around Malaysia. But reading the stories, sounds like a nightmare.

For Malaysian Market basically is the resale value. I have a friend who had a PUG308T, Claim GB and also the turbine if not mistaken. Sold it after warranty period.....lol
As for Renault, many models are now equipped with Nissan engine...

YEBWOY27

YEBWOY27

Apr 24, 2018
For Malaysian Market basically is the resale value. I have a friend who had a PUG308T, Claim GB and also the turbine if not mistaken. Sold it after warranty period.....lol
As for Renault, many models are now equipped with Nissan engine...
Was it a recent 308T? I know the previous gen was plagued, but havent seen a new gen 308 owner complain yet. Maybe im not lookin in the right places hahah.

Didnt know Renault supplies cars with Nissan engines now. Does this apply to non-RS models like the Clio GT?

Was it a recent 308T? I know the previous gen was plagued, but havent seen a new gen 308 owner complain yet. Maybe im not lookin in the right places hahah.

Didnt know Renault supplies cars with Nissan engines now. Does this apply to non-RS models like the Clio GT?
Is the Older PUG model as over warranty already.

Renault owns 40 plus % of Nissan already. I saw the Koleos and the salesman said is equipped with Nissan engine. Not sure what other models are with Nissan engine

Thats spot on. I do remember a time when Alfas were sold brand new here, but i swear it lasted 5 minutes.

Personally, i’ve been aiming for a Abarth 695 Ferrari for 4 years. Even with the continuous drop in price, the prospect of maintaining it is just too scary. Out of 15 shops i asked, only 2 were vaguely confident enough to say they can service it.

You’re right in that Renault is probably the safest bet. Tan Choong obviously knows how to run a car business.
The Alfa 159 in rosso corsa is still sexy as hell, but used prices not cheap. Makes more sense to buy an E90 diesel. And I wonder how the cabin plastics and rubber hold up in our weather. I remember first seeing it in Quantum of Solace chasing the DBS down.

Not so much Tan Choong, but Ghosn is smart to streamline and merge the reliability of Nissan into Renault gradually. Still the parts are expensive versus the T & H.

This beaut is available for 650k Malaysian Ringgit!
Hmm, this or the Maserati Ghibli. The Maserati is nice in front, but the rear is ugly as hell. I think I'll still pick the Panamera over these 2. Cause at least there's support and service.

Its not so much about the money, but more about the car being on my driveway ready for me to drive it, end not parked in the service centre waiting for parts. It's DAMN sian waiting for parts.

Even if I am financially able, when my car is unreliable, or when doing service found out like the rubber bushing in the lower arm is dead and have to wait 2 weeks for parts, I'll sell the freaking car, cause limpeh is rich and ain't nobody got time for that. Unless it is a collectible or classic, then that's different, because its not a car, its a hobby.

If it was a Porsche 930, then hell yes I would wait 2 months for parts. Cause that's not a car, that's a legend. A modern Peugeot? Hahaha burn that thrash with fire, and claim insurance.

Thanks for that Izso. I agree with familiarizing with the supply network. My family kept our W204 running at minimal costs. It was surprising to find brand new parts from outside stockists costing a fraction of what NZ Wheels used to charge. Contis aren'tas hard to live with in Malaysia as people make it out to be, but I agree with you that it HAS to be mainstream.

Which is why I wrote the title as Non-BMW etc. Was curious to see how the other side of continentals are fairing in Malaysia. I figured it wouldn't be so bad seeing as there are so many of these cars running around Malaysia. But reading the stories, sounds like a nightmare.
So I guess its Renault then. Otherwise, a Porsche.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="335" height="190" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NAHkX9iWUQA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

'(00): Just last Sunday, the streets of Kuala Lumpur trembles with the screaming V8s from the Red Bull F1 piloted by David Coulthard and the ABT R8 LMS driven by Alex Yoong. The temporarily closed up Jalan Bukit Bintang had fans packed on the sidewalk stealing a glimpse of the action