DIY front bonnet louvers

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
anyone know where to get cheap vents or scoops? Brothers selling around RM60 for the scoop. not sure if can get any cheaper.

ken yeang

I think scoops can be found at kedai potong.......I saw them at jalan reko, kedai potong have a few.....
I dont know if the scoop design suits your taste or not...

fazidk

Step 2 nearly done (making louvers)..so far 1 side is near completion...just need to fine tune it...btw all done by hand wiz d help of my fren who runs a body knocking workshop :)

ken yeang

Kedai abang ones are made of plastic.....I suspect it would deform after being under the afternoon sun....
Better ones are made of (thick) fiberglass.

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
Step 2 nearly done (making louvers)..so far 1 side is near completion...just need to fine tune it...btw all done by hand wiz d help of my fren who runs a body knocking workshop :)
hope to see some progress soon
Kedai abang ones are made of plastic.....I suspect it would deform after being under the afternoon sun....
Better ones are made of (thick) fiberglass.
kedai abang one gonna drill onto hood ones and using fiber not plastic. they wanna charge me 60 for scoop and another 60 for instalation. of course i didnt install it

fazidk

Will post d pics when totally completed..:)

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008

fazidk

Now thinking aka trying to decide whether to install netting after d louvers OR without???if without then d louvers will 'timbul'...:confused:

ken yeang

fazidk, it is advisable to have the wire mesh (netting). Many car with standard louvers comes with wiremesh.

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
if this project cost less then RM60 i will do this.

fazidk

if this project cost less then RM60 i will do this.
If u have d proper tools then I guess it wld cost that much more or less...

---------- Post added at 09:40 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:35 AM ----------

fazidk, it is advisable to have the wire mesh (netting). Many car with standard louvers comes with wiremesh.
Yeah bro ken I know but being d design of d ori hood I need to mod a bit more aka extra work to fit in d mesh..requires more cutting which I think wld effect d strength of d already 'weak' hood..

But then again I'm x finished..initial now I just have d louvers inserted without d mesh:) just leave it a while to c how it goes..then maybe if I decide d wire mesh I just insert it..

I think it's better with the mesh. Prevents leaves and other bigger stuff from going in like plastic bags. I need a ventilation system for my engine too man. Shit.

fazidk

I will post pics of d process soon n let u guys give ur opinions...with or without mesh :)

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
I will post pics of d process soon n let u guys give ur opinions...with or without mesh :)
how soon bro.. already tak tahan waiting. hehee
:burnout:

hey guys!

thanks for the support all these years!
i'd know, as i still get calls all the time.

anyways, thanks for calling,
please now call Richard 013-350-6561 (gosh i hope he still uses that number)

as i've resigned from Titan long ago :rofl: