After changing 15 inch rim into my kelisa, it still feels like floating

ben-k2oc

Jul 16, 2005
Damansara Utama
hi, i,ve just change 15 inch sport rims.But it seem like the car is now more floating then before. I am using 175/50/15.... Any clue why it happens?????

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
floationg mostly due to the suspension....only a little like 30% due to tyre size...
if u dunwan floating, try out hard tyre and hard suspension, but ur car will become frog...

upgrade ur suspension...changing spring coil doesn help much...the most important is ur absorber hardness...

but dun go too hard la....later ur car over a bump or lobang then u know the reason

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
add some aerodynamic bodykit should help

ben-k2oc

Jul 16, 2005
Damansara Utama
but i have install new spoiler and side shirt the effect is still the same...... When i am driving at high speed (130-160) the car is great but when it comes to slow drive it's like floating in the air ...... Do i really need to put in a adj absorber like what howiechoo said to make the car stable?????

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
aerodynamic body part are only work after 120km/h...

doesn help much for a kelisa because u dun always speed at 120 and above

no need adjustable, just better than stock will do

Satria racer

Mar 11, 2005
Pahang Kuantan
Yea my satria got same problem!! but i am using lowered springs and harder absorber.. Aspecially the behind of the car whan cornering the back of the car really feels like going to slide... Can anybody help?? i change my tires and rims too... Still same thing..

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
Satria racer said:
Yea my satria got same problem!! but i am using lowered springs and harder absorber.. Aspecially the behind of the car whan cornering the back of the car really feels like going to slide... Can anybody help?? i change my tires and rims too... Still same thing..
this is because satria dun have rear anti-roll bar, installing one will help alot. :D

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
floating?

dampers either died or it's insufficient to 'carry' the weight of the HUGE 15".

15" rims and tires are heavy! more unsprung mass to 'kick' your car up, which causes the 'floating' sensation.

only cure: change your suspension, or change back stock 13"

Cheong Mou Kei 4G9XT

Ampang
www.geocities.com
ben-k2oc said:
hi, i,ve just change 15 inch sport rims.But it seem like the car is now more floating then before. I am using 175/50/15.... Any clue why it happens?????

ohh...mind tell me wat tyre u r using n how much ? im curently using 165/50/15 from falken cost rm230 each...veli expensive any cheaper alternative

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Slow down can feel floating?? mmm really never experience before..anyway i think what ninja said is true lar hahaha :D

Keep date open for Lube sales at UMW. Usually will buy every year if free to go...

26 June - 1 July 2013