Telstar/626 Gang; Sleeper car!

fade2grey

Jul 21, 2005
Puchong
Hey every one, there seems to be at least a handful of Telstar/626 owners here on this board so I've taken the initiative to have a NEW thread dedicated to this sleeper of a car. Let's all come together and share views, experiences, problems and upgrades about this car.

Let me start the ball rolling.

I currently drive a Telstar Ghia 1.8 '94. This is my graduation present from my dad as this is his old car. Lots of nostalgia and memories with this car! Currently, the car is stock standard without any mods whatsoever. I do have some ideas for mods on the car but currently low on cash.

What do you guys think about exhaust mods for the Telstar? I've gotten quotes for 2.5" piping, 2 bullets and muffler for about RM550. Is that a good deal? How much better will the performance be? significant enough? If i change the monifold also, I just have to add RM150. I'm actually looking for better fuel economy first and foremost. Better performance is a bonus. Right now it's doing about 60km on RM10. Is that good? or an I get better results from it? Any one wants to share?

How about engine transplants? Sudha and I have discussed (a lil) about those. Anyone with radical transplant experience? I know sudha changed his to a FE 2.0 engine. Anyone with experience on other engines? We're thinking along the lines of the KFZE's and the other twincams. Were there many problems? How about prices?

I know the best surprise from my car is when I had a friendly test with my friend's Wira 1.8 dohc UK spec. I actually had no problems keeping up (but not winning him, of course). You have to bear in mind that my car only has a 1.8 sohc 12V with a heavier boy to lug around. I was quite surprised.

Talk about reliability, there's no equal! The only major problems that i have encountered with this telstar was when the clutch pump gave way. That's it. Nothing else. No problems here.

Come on people, let's hear your stories/experience/advice!

spanker

Jun 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
hi fade2grey,

recently bought a 1993 626 2L V6 here. Engine is in decent condition, but the car seem to have a ton of minor issues, along with a few major ones. Otherwise it's a real looker. Took a few snaps of it, but haven't had the time to scan the pictures yet. Power is not what I expected probably due to the age, but it's better than most cars I've driven. So far i've spend over RM600 just to put it in decent running condition. I'm expecting to spend another RM2500 to put it into tip top shape. But that will have to wait, probably until end of the year.

I've posted a thread on the car. maybe i'll put up some pics when i get the chance. Say, how much do you guys think that car will be worth? at tip top condition of course.

sudha

Jun 11, 2004
woi...dont sell so fast la.

i took me a while to get my car perfect. Always remember, you bought a 10 yr old car. will sure give some problem. all wear and tear.

If i tell u what i went thru since 2002....you will shed tears of joy brother!

fade...yum char la!

fade2grey

Jul 21, 2005
Puchong
ok ok... yum cha it shall be. Free on thursday night? I might have done up my exhaust by then. :D Then can see if it makes a big difference. Btw, i've pm-ed you my handphone.

fade2grey

Jul 21, 2005
Puchong
Hey spanker,

Don't la think about selling it sooooooo fast. The car is really charming larrr... and i'm saying that despite the fact that my car is the 1.8 12V engine. Though my bonus is that it's in Ghia trim. small bonuses around.

But let me tell you something, the Telstar that I have now has been in my family since it was a baby-car :D :p After sooo many years, there's bound to be small screwups here and there but one thing I kid you not: My pop once went nearly a year without servicing the car!!! :eek: Only keep pouring in engine oil only and STILL it goes 190 no probs. And I rev it til redline a lot too.... Keep the faith..... and keep the car! :D

Anyway, if you really want to sell, want to sell it to me as a half cut? HAHAHAHAHAHA :p But seriously, I have no idea on the price lar... I think you can check newspaper classifieds or something. I know this for sure lar, since it's a Mazda 626 and NOT a Ford Telstar, it should catch a higher price; that's due to the average malaysian's mentality that only japanese cars are good... :rolleyes:

spanker said:
hi fade2grey,

recently bought a 1993 626 2L V6 here. Engine is in decent condition, but the car seem to have a ton of minor issues, along with a few major ones. Otherwise it's a real looker. Took a few snaps of it, but haven't had the time to scan the pictures yet. Power is not what I expected probably due to the age, but it's better than most cars I've driven. So far i've spend over RM600 just to put it in decent running condition. I'm expecting to spend another RM2500 to put it into tip top shape. But that will have to wait, probably until end of the year.

I've posted a thread on the car. maybe i'll put up some pics when i get the chance. Say, how much do you guys think that car will be worth? at tip top condition of course.

Lan Dugong

Feb 26, 2004
Telok Panglima Garang, Selangor
Hi spanker,
I'm currently driving a 15 years old Ford Telstar. Never regret driving one. The car was once before my dad's car, bought it back in 92, at a 2nd hand value of RM38,800. It was a 1.8 8v carb. Previous owner take a good care of the car.
Mid 96, I bought it from my dad with a price of RM35k. I'm young that time. I want power, the car's power is not enough for me. Traded-in with a Civic SB3 1987 h/b mid 97. Oct 97, economy went down. The dealer was not able to sell-off the car, the loan is still on under my name. He called & request me to take back the car without a single cent. Why do I need 2 cars at that point of time?
My dad took back home & he decided to continue the loan & own the car. When my 1st son was born, the Civic h/b is no longer a good car for me. FYI, I've converted the Civic to SiR DOHC Vtec, power wise, so and so but regreted the investment.Still not powerful for me. Not a good investment.
In 2000, I bought it again from my dad at RM24k(this time only verbal agreement since the loan was under my name). Sold off the Civic to a dealer. My dad bought a 190E then.
The engine is already gone by then, no more power, black oil topped up 1 ltr a month, idling sucks, carb cracked. Nothing can be done.
It was my dream to drive a B8 since 97. That's another long story to tell....hihihihi.
Took a loan, pay-off debts to my dad on the car, made a full-settlement for the car, sent it to my ex-mech for BPT conversion.
Till today, since 2000 I've spent more then RM38,000 to the car(inclusive of repairs, maintenance, upgrades, upgrades, upgrades, accessories) With the current ride, very satisfied with the performance, a little less at a comfort side but I like the way it is now. Even once a while, my dad will drive my car to work, complained a little on suspension & fuel consumption. The rest is A+. He himself enjoy driving it.
U've just spent RM600 and going to spend another RM2.5k, it's a used car and even if u buy new car, u will still need to spend. Never regret buying it, love it, solve the problem, when problem solved, prevent the problem, spend some money to get good result. The V6 is a good luxury powerful car. Don't give up.
Good luck bro & enjoy the ride.

Lan D
www.geocities.com/li-200/B8T

spanker

Jun 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
hi guys,

thanks for the advice. I don't mind spending money on the car, but if it means RM500-600 every month just for repairs, well.... my pocket just ain't that deep.

btw, what's a sleeper car?

Lan Dugong

Feb 26, 2004

If rm500-rm600 every month spend on the repairs, it's either something wrong with the car or something wrong with u. I want a good ride, so I invest some money to get a good ride, I'll repair where necessary & where needed. doesn't mean I'm gonna do repairs every month. My pocket ain't deep either.
I had driven my car with bad idling & eating black oil for 8 months, drove to JB once with the condition, drove to Malacca few times, to Taiping once. Spent RM3.8k to solve the problem before converting.
The word is patience. Slowly bro. The problem will solve. The car is good. Any car is good. The V6 is a good engine, new technology.
Here's some tips that might help u to solve the problem. Idling gone crazy up & down ikut suka hati, the cause could be:-
1. the spark plug heat range is wrong. Tyr use hotter plugs i.e: NGK 5 range plugs.
2. A/F ratio too rich
3. Fuel filter long didn't changed
4. Throttle body faulty/dirty
5. Air filter dirty
6. Battery -ve terminal not tightened enough.
7. not enough grounding cables.

I know Ah Boon. U might also see a blue interplay going there for repairs. There was one black interplay & silver interplay went there for repairs too. Ah Boon is a good mech, not too sure how he handles V6 engine thou.

The grouns sound when turning, could be the bearing at the top-mount absorber out/damage a little. The absorber changed already right? another thing, check your power steering fluid enough or not.

acceleration above 120kmh pull to one side, check your allignment,balancing,camber since u've just changed your absorbers right?

Idling problem is hard to troubleshoot. Need a lot of patience.

Good luck bro.

Lan D

sudha

Jun 11, 2004
hehehhe....guys...

Presenting Mr Lan D.....owner of the BEST LOOKING TELSTAR IN TOWN!!!

lan...bila nak TT? i think ur telstar will be a treat to fade2greay and escort maniac la.

Did u get my message? saw a 626 d/board in mun lee. dunno whether its still there or not.

spanker

Jun 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
Thanks for the tip Lan Dugong.

I'll check out the idling issues later then, some of them already singled out like air filter, A/F mixture. WIll probably replace the spark plugs end of the year.

i'm pretty sure the alignment is not just due to balancing. It occurs during acceleration so i'm afraid it could be some more complex.

Hey anyone wants to check out my 626 anyways? :lol:

Lan Dugong

Feb 26, 2004
Spark plugs should cost around RM24 for 4piece(local) for NGK BKR5E-II. Check your current plugs. If it's black, meaning too rich, check the plug heat range.

a standard plug is advisable to change every 10,000 km. or maybe earlier.

Lan D

spanker

Jun 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
Lan D, what do you mean 4piece? you mean 4 spark plugs? That's pretty damn cheap. Anyways, mine's a 6 cylinder so i'm gonna need 6. It's not fouled yet, so i think i'm gonna hold it for another 3-4k km or so, probably less.

btw, how do i know what type of plugs i need, like what heat range, electrode gap, etc?

Lan Dugong

Feb 26, 2004
Who says the plug is expensive? the imported japan ones cost rm8.50 per plug at spare part shop.
Sure it's not fouled yet?...ok. Up to you.
Call up Ford Concessionaires for plug info. I made my wife called them up once to know what plug is ok to be used for her Lynx.

Sudha,
thanks for the info. Currently, I'm not into changing the dash. I've got something else to be done to my car & wife's lynx. thanks. I went to tilija, they have one too with digital aircon button. but later lah.

Lan D

The name KF Audio is not new to many car audio enthusiasts. Formed in 1987 by a true car audio enthusiast, KF Audio has gone from strength to strength ever since. Founder Siemen Liew took his passion to a whole new level by acquiring specialised skills in high end car audio in the USA and Europe through the local Distributors...