Ron95 which brands works best for your car?

Ron95 brands that you like the most

• BHP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Caltex

• Petron

• Petronas

• Shell

• Total voters

desmond0318

May 31, 2013
:burnout: I know this question is pretty common, but the curiosity for me is still there, maybe different engines build works well with different brands.:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Esso/Petron cuz got loyalty card to exchange 3000pts for rm45 fuel! As for performance etc2., I've tried everything and honestly cannot tell much difference.

desmond0318

May 31, 2013
most noticeable from the fuel different would be engine pinging or knocking rate and volume, this common problem happens after we changed from ron97 downgraded to ron95 :(

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
most noticeable from the fuel different would be engine pinging or knocking rate and volume, this common problem happens after we changed from ron97 downgraded to ron95 :(
Well, I don't experience any knocking with 95, so far my car runs fine with any 95 but of course except Esso/Petron, I only tried the other brands once or twice. :) But one of our Mark X Club member reported issues (but not knocking) when using Petronas for some time, which was cured after he switched to other brands.

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
Caltex Ron95 for my daily ride. Nearest petrol station at my place. So far so good. Smooth engine revving.
Petronas and Shell's Ron95 giving knocking sound during cold start (morning).

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
esso/mobil/petron for me.coz got loyalty card to exchange 3000 points for rm45 fuel.usually i will ask for ron97 when redeeming this points. :driver:

kazukimy

Jul 14, 2006
KL/Pahang
devil-home.blogspot.com
depend on car

A31 RB20E - Petron > Shell > Caltex > Petronas
Avanza 1.3 - Shell > Petron > Petronas > Caltex
Proton Tiara 1.1 - Petronas > Shell > Petron > Caltex
Proton Iswara 1.3 - Petronas > Shell > Petron > Caltex
Corolla EE90, 1.3 - Shell > Petronas > Petron > Caltex
Daihatsu Charade G11 1.0 - Shell > Petronas > Esso > Caltex

:driver:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Perhaps you guys can list down the car model as well as reference

Model: Myvi 1.5
Best fuel: BHP
Loyal Usage: Petronas Primax 95. Overally it is good and I have mesra card. Plus, their stations are everywhere.
Worst fuel: Shell. Kinda lost some smooth acceleration. And it did very very very minimal fuel saving, almost negligible
Never tried: Petron. Not so keen to try.
Other good fuel for my car: Esso, Caltex

Kinda miss Projet 97 sigh...

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
Used to go for esso/mobil, after bought over by petron, switched to caltex

before esso/mobil was shell coz its the nearest station and Bonuslink pts goes to my parents, i'm a huge contributor..haha!

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Make: Kancil
Engine: 660cc 16v turbo (from JDM Daihatsu Mira L502)
Mods: only catback exhaust (even ori cat converter intact) and open pod intake

I'm very much like bro 6UE5t, voting Petron/Esso because of loyalty points.... tried all RON95 felt the same...

I used to be a Shell Loyal customer, but somehow find car is smoother with Petron. Not sure is psychology wise or what but somewhat
better. But Shell I realised it gives better mileage.

I pump petron now for smiles points. No longer want bonuslink as the points expired too fast and the thing to exchange, is just high points or expensive.

boxerawd

May 14, 2007
My vote will be on Shell, but also depend on which station.
Some shell stations seems to have better fuel quality...
Last week pump 1 full tank RON97 from PETRONAS Desaru, engine run so quiet like juz overhaul...happily cruised all the way back to KL.:driver:

I've been collecting cars on and off for the past 30 years.
My son in Dallas just told me about his friend who is selling a 1980 Mustang V6.
I am quite interested in making the purchase and getting my shipping company, United Routes to do the job they do so well and bring me my car to me here in Baltimore.
However, I have an uneasy feeling about this. As such I'd like some prepurchase inspector or someone of the sort to go and...