Proton Roof Rust

Danny

Darn, my proton's roof got rust bubbles. I sent it for spraying but the bubbles came out again only after 2 weeks! How can this be solved in the most cost effective manner? Any recommendations on what to do and where to go?

Charles

I brake very late....
Jan 7, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Change roof...hahaha...only way.I changed mine liao.

Danny

change roof? How much did it cost u? any place to recommend?

I guess I'll have to respray the whole car already, since fitting in a lot of promote parts.

Charles

I brake very late....
Jan 7, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Eh...Sabah price different la.But the whole roof + respray cost me rm800.I repair it bout 3 years ago when the workshop grind off the rusted portion and applied with fiber resins but it didn't last.
Changing the centre part of the roof is no easy task as the guys have to dismantle it(its spark weld in the 1st place),refit the new one and re-spot weld.
I think most rusted wira roofs are pre-96 ones.

Danny

ohh u are from sabah... yea u ar right mine is Dec 95 model. Guess no choice already, have to replace the roof with a new one.

Charles

I brake very late....
Jan 7, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
oh...forgot to tell you....it involves taking out the front and rear windscreens too....make sure get windscreen sealant ready...you dun want leaky ones during a thunderstorm.

S1997

charles..when u changed ur roof..did u cut the whole thing out and seal it back? just like those ppl changing to sunroof?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
front and rear windscreen will need to take out. Cut from pillar.

LAWRENCE_Q

Feb 13, 2004
my iswara oso same,rust bubbles on roof n front bonnet, front bonnet too serious, so front bonnet changed, for the root, my case,i do welding, ask the mechanic remove inside, weld from inside, after tat polish outer surface till smooth smooth lah!!! welding tahan lama, (dun do fiber), i spray whole car tat time, so do it sekali go!!! for the welding, i pay extra 50 bucks if i not remember wrongly...

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Originally posted by LAWRENCE_Q@Mar 10 2004, 10:31 AM
my iswara oso same,rust bubbles on roof n front bonnet, front bonnet too serious, so front bonnet changed, for the root, my case,i do welding, ask the mechanic remove inside, weld from inside, after tat polish outer surface till smooth smooth lah!!! welding tahan lama, (dun do fiber), i spray whole car tat time, so do it sekali go!!! for the welding, i pay extra 50 bucks if i not remember wrongly...
all i can say is good luck.

Danny

thanks man. Decided to respray the whole car and change roof, since I'm doing up the full promote kit set. Don't know why the prices for spraying bodykit is more expensive than spraying the whole car.

Whole car - RM1000+
Body kit - RM2000+

Why? Doesn't make sense although one shop said that matching the bodykit colour to the existing colour is harder than a full respray.

S1997

Originally posted by g88@Mar 10 2004, 09:16 AM
front and rear windscreen will need to take out. Cut from pillar.
cut out isnt it illegal? ei? so taht means sunroof or no sunroof...when u change the roof that means its already illegal? then what are we supposed to do when the roof gets rusty?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
officially i think it's illegal for Iswara/Saga to do that since you are cutting the pillar but what to do ??

As for Wira Putra so on i think Ok since you can just remove the roof skin

The 2020 City goes to town with new everything, including the much torqued about 253nm i-MMD hybrid engine. Looks pretty good in its RS trim as well.

Honda Malaysia hasn't revealed much else until its official launch in Q4 but judging from the teaser car, showing off its lanewatch cam and prominent windshield cam, the City seems set to get Honda Sensing which will likely include adaptive cruise...