Overstrecthed tyres, pros & con ?

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
elloo all sifus, i'm kinda attracted to overstrecthed tyres but not to the extend of more than 3 sizes up, so any suggestions on 1 that fits to my kelisa & whereabouts for reputable shop in ampang @ cheras if possible & of course as per thread title wise:confused:

You mean fitting a narrower tyre in a wide rims?
Well, what I know is your sidewall will lose it flex, ride will be bumpier. Your shoulder pattern (outer) will wear faster. More load on the shoulder pattern also as you are bending them. Total contact on the road is also less.

Found this:-
Certain tire widths are approved for the corresponding wheel width, meaning that the tire is wide enough to properly fit the wheel. Unfortunately, it is often possible to fit a narrow tire onto a wheel that is too wide for a proper fit by forcing the sidewalls to spread wider than they are designed for. It's pretty easy to recognize this problem, as it leaves the tire sidewalls leaning at a diagonal to the tread instead of vertical. This is extremely bad. Tire sidewalls are supposed to be vertical, since they're what's holding the tire tread stable against the car's weight and protecting the wheel against impacts.

ken yeang

There are more cons than pros in overstretched tyres...
Zero practicality but alot of ppl do it for the look.

Their car, their fancy, of course.

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
well to me, abit stretched is ok like 225 size fit into 8 ~ 8.5jj. but not over stretch... it does look bad and ur punishing the tyre n rims itself.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
well to me, abit stretched is ok like 225 size fit into 8 ~ 8.5jj. but not over stretch... it does look bad and ur punishing the tyre n rims itself.
225 on 8-8.5jj is still within recommended fitments, not yet stretched.

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
well a fren told me that there r tyres r design to be that stretched look, rimota if not mistaken. well I plan to change my rims soon coz a lot of dent edi coz 7 years of wear. thinking to use 175r14 wit 165\60r14 tyres if it is possible & willing for a tyre shop to do it.

255 can fit the car bro.. but not my wallet.. hehehe
Wah! 30 or 35 series is it? Yah! agree wallet will really take a beating.....hahahahaha:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:33 PM ----------

well a fren told me that there r tyres r design to be that stretched look, rimota if not mistaken. well I plan to change my rims soon coz a lot of dent edi coz 7 years of wear. thinking to use 175r14 wit 165\60r14 tyres if it is possible & willing for a tyre shop to do it.
Not sure what you mean? 175R14 is 80 series aspect ratio. 165/60 is 60 series aspect ratio, so what is your question?:confused:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
What is 'rimota' ??? A new China brand tire, is it? I don't think there are tires meant to be stretched. I honestly think that this practice of stretching narrow tires over wide rims should be made illegal if there has not been a ruling for it.

my car cannot start ohh. :( .but the main problem is i alredi check the battery n its ok bcoz my radio can play,my power windows can works and my lamp also can..why..why..why? anyone can give me solution?tq