Need advice on absorber ae111

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
Hi everyone...
my car is ae111 year 97.
my front absorber is half cut big shaft ae101/111 if not mistaken.
my rear absorber is original...but always khit car body when meet high road bumper...
so i put 2 pieces of damper at each of rear absorber which makes it very hard.
it is very uncomfortable for me as well as the rear passenger.
so i decided to change sport spring...here are some question that i wanna ask u all.
1. should i change my rear absorber to big shaft also b4 change the spring?
2. or i just change my spring with front big shaft and rear ori?
3. which brand is recommended as long as the rear body wont hit the road bumper.

give me good advice pls.i got limited budget which makes me cant buy adjustable...>.<...

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
i believe ur absorber life span is up. If worse, maybe ur spring is no longer able to rebound well. If i were you, get 2 new absorbers, change all 4 springs. I'm sure by doing that, u'll not hit the bar body anymore (unless u use bigger rims,then different story)

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
i believe ur absorber life span is up. If worse, maybe ur spring is no longer able to rebound well. If i were you, get 2 new absorbers, change all 4 springs. I'm sure by doing that, u'll not hit the bar body anymore (unless u use bigger rims,then different story)
icic...but my front absorber is ok i think...
the problem is only rear...
kinda exp...any nice absorber intro?

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
for normal use i think kayaba oil shock is good enough. I just bought kayaba GAS shock for RM130 per piece for my rear, and i'm enjoying every moment of my ride. of course there are even better shocks on the market, but for normal use, i think kayaba is good enough

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
for normal use i think kayaba oil shock is good enough. I just bought kayaba GAS shock for RM130 per piece for my rear, and i'm enjoying every moment of my ride. of course there are even better shocks on the market, but for normal use, i think kayaba is good enough
ur rm130 is included spring?how much for kayaba oil shock?
is kayaba better then ori absorber?

lkeong88

Nov 1, 2009
Cheras
Kayaba is ori. but nowadays kayaba all made in malaysia

I am using Tokico (it says made in japan) with original springs. The car feels better, at least I have no problem turning at up to 140kmh at karak

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
kayaba oil shock is RM120 per piece. It does not include spring. Just the shock only. Maybe price in West Malaysia is cheaper, I'm not sure. Do check out from your local spare part shops. Over here in east malaysia, it's hard to find Tokiko. But I heard from people, Tokiko doesn't come cheap, but it's good.

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
Kayaba is ori. but nowadays kayaba all made in malaysia

I am using Tokico (it says made in japan) with original springs. The car feels better, at least I have no problem turning at up to 140kmh at karak
Ooh...tokico is how much?the ori spring already low?how many finger?
If i change tokico with ori spring and change front sport spring...will it be ok?

---------- Post added at 10:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

kayaba oil shock is RM120 per piece. It does not include spring. Just the shock only. Maybe price in West Malaysia is cheaper, I'm not sure. Do check out from your local spare part shops. Over here in east malaysia, it's hard to find Tokiko. But I heard from people, Tokiko doesn't come cheap, but it's good.
Ooh,means ur gas shock is included spring but oil shock is only absorber without spring?
Oil shock is more comfortable right?

m|ng

May 13, 2006
Guys, do your car ride lower at the back than the front?
My rear is riding 2 fingers height, and my front is riding like 4 fingers height.

Last year I changed 4 new Tokico absorbers (very good for the money), but springs were re-used. Could it be that the springs are loosing its strength for the rear?

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
1 thing u have to make sure is that all 4 springs should be from the same brand to get the similar height. Unless ur front spring is different brand compared to ur rear spring, maybe that's the problem why ur front is so much higher. The other thing could be the spring is losing it's strength, perhaps it's time to change to a new set of springs??

m|ng

May 13, 2006
Yeah I guess its time to replace my springs. The previous set were replaced by the previous owner. Any firmer springs that can retain original height?

To the TS, if you are looking for absorbers, I'd suggest you check out Tokico. I got mine at 150$ each (w/o installation). They are pretty reliable, comparing to Kayaba (which i had bad experience with)

karhong

Apr 11, 2010
Yeah I guess its time to replace my springs. The previous set were replaced by the previous owner. Any firmer springs that can retain original height?

To the TS, if you are looking for absorbers, I'd suggest you check out Tokico. I got mine at 150$ each (w/o installation). They are pretty reliable, comparing to Kayaba (which i had bad experience with)
wao...where did u bought it?i dunno which shop is selling...
anyway, what do u all feel about apm performax?

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
i've tried APM performax before, It's not bad actually. Only thing is value for money. If you can get tokiko for a cheaper price, you definitely won't go for APM performax. It's kind of expensive, I think not worth investing in it.

jimmyae101

Dec 7, 2005
medan indonesia
try gab or original japan trd from kedai potong...nice feelin during high speed cornering d genting road...up or down from genting...check part b4 buy as some of them leak one..depend luck bro

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
guys,
I just came across this APM Performax, it has embedded writing stated there 'Licensed by Tokiko'. Does it means it's actually made by Tokiko? Or APM use Tokiko shocks and Re-badge it as their own???

my plug cable is damaged so i'm going to replace it with one for my kancil 660. the matter is some of my frens suggested using mira plug cable for better acceleration. is this true? does it really affect the engine performance? can someone pls explain to me. thanks -just curious