need advice from experience

cryionics

Oct 4, 2008
hi,

i need some advice from u guy,currently driving waja(m),17 in,bullet and muffler onli.planning change back to ori muffler,after changing surely power will drain any suggestion for maintain the power or increase power

thx

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
go back to 15inches rims and 195/55/15 tires
the stock setting for the gear: power: weight: suspension are just superb (4G18P) mitsu.....

Apr 11, 2010
hi all...
I'm newbe in Car...I have buy a new person B-line MT New Model...But not arrive yet... I want ask About Rim.. My question is... Which one batter for persona....Rim 15" OR RIM 16"... i don't want use So nipis Tayar to my Car....

mkdreamervl

Jul 6, 2005
hi all...
I'm newbe in Car...I have buy a new person B-line MT New Model...But not arrive yet... I want ask About Rim.. My question is... Which one batter for persona....Rim 15" OR RIM 16"... i don't want use So nipis Tayar to my Car....
195/50/15 should do the job for u bro.

LuKa

Jul 14, 2005
Kedah
16" on a 45 series is not too nipis... if you want good look n lowered stance.. 16" is nice... if you want quick acceleration n less wear n tear go for 15"

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
hi all...
UNDERSTANDING TYRE SIZE

XXX/YY/RZZ

XXX = Tyre width
YY = Thickness of tyre width. YY/100 * XXX
ZZ = RIM Diameter

So, When u have a 205/45/R16

Total diameter = 45/100 * 205 = 92.25mm
R16 = 16 * 25.4mm = 406.4mm

So, Total diameter = 406.4mm + 92.25mm + 92.25mm = 590.9mm

And look at this.

195/45/R16

Total diameter = 45/100 * 195 = 87.75mm
R16 = 16 * 25.4mm = 406.4mm

So, Total diameter = 406.4mm + 87.75mm + 87.75mm = 581.9mm

Realize both wheels are 16" and also 45 series, but the tyre thickness is different... The YY is a relative percentage of the tyre width.

Hope this help.

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
would using wider tires with bigger thickness improve performance of my car
im currently running on 195/50/15 on my putra

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
would using wider tires with bigger thickness improve performance of my car
im currently running on 195/50/15 on my putra
Wider tyre = better traction. Thicker tyre increase comfortable level.

Bare in minnd, when u increase the overall diameter of the wheel,

1) U'll sacrifice the torque of your engine required to turn the wheel. aka Wheel feels heavier.
2) Sacrifice the accuracy of the speed meter.

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
Wider tyre = better traction. Thicker tyre increase comfortable level.

Bare in minnd, when u increase the overall diameter of the wheel,

1) U'll sacrifice the torque of your engine required to turn the wheel. aka Wheel feels heavier.
2) Sacrifice the accuracy of the speed meter.
ahh so ur saying is that a wider tire would provide me with better handling however it would sacrifice the torque of my engine is that correct bro :hmmmm:
well coz i am hoping to swap engines soon to either a vr4 or evo3 in my putra i was looking to find out what the best tyre meassurements are for the performance and handling of the car
i am not really concerned with the looks and comfort more concerned on the performance and handling
what would u recommend bro from ur experience or knowledge

cryionics

Oct 4, 2008
wat bout for waja wat kind of tyre that can look good and lowered stance if i go for 16 in..

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
ahh so ur saying is that a wider tire would provide me with better handling however it would sacrifice the torque of my engine is that correct bro :hmmmm:
well coz i am hoping to swap engines soon to either a vr4 or evo3 in my putra i was looking to find out what the best tyre meassurements are for the performance and handling of the car
i am not really concerned with the looks and comfort more concerned on the performance and handling
what would u recommend bro from ur experience or knowledge
yeah... abit only la...

205/55/16 would be nice. Wider also can. since the stroke of the engine is so 7 long... good low end torque. So, less worry on the lorque lose on tyre...

215/50/r16 also ok. make sure tyre good. but 16" so 9 expensive... sienz...

thanks bro for your advice....
Its Rim16' is so berat or not.......
Hoho... berat or not depends on the width and overall diameter of the tyre. No matter what rims u wanna put, u can never go wrong with the stock overall diameter size. Calculate according to the

wat bout for waja wat kind of tyre that can look good and lowered stance if i go for 16 in..
calculate according to the formula stated earlier... follow the stock diamtere..... or go a little smaller... better torque

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
yeah... abit only la...

205/55/16 would be nice. Wider also can. since the stroke of the engine is so 7 long... good low end torque. So, less worry on the lorque lose on tyre...

215/50/r16 also ok. make sure tyre good. but 16" so 9 expensive... sienz...
how bout using a tyre with the rim diameter 15 coz mahal lah 16' if i can use back my rim then cheaper lah :rolleyes:

lkc

Mar 3, 2010
petaling jaya
hi all...

bro i suggest u use 15 inch with 195/55/r15 tyre size,your car pick up sure very nice and jimat petrol,then u change to lowered spring or u can use gen-2 absober and spring then the car will be lower,if u want to use 16 inch,it'll be heav for your car and u will be hangging in betwen of 15 - 17 inch,your car will also look taller and pick up not so good and brake also hard to stop the car,currently i am also driving proton persona b-line auto,b4 i use 16 inch,felt heavy and car hard to brake coz only 2 disc at front,then changed back to 15 inch the car felt light and better.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
how bout using a tyre with the rim diameter 15 coz mahal lah 16' if i can use back my rim then cheaper lah :rolleyes:
oh yeah... 15" tyres are more reasonable and easily available.

bro i suggest u use 15 inch with 195/55/r15 tyre size,your car pick up sure very nice and jimat petrol,then u change to lowered spring or u can use gen-2 absober and spring then the car will be lower,if u want to use 16 inch,it'll be heav for your car and u will be hangging in betwen of 15 - 17 inch,your car will also look taller and pick up not so good and brake also hard to stop the car,currently i am also driving proton persona b-line auto,b4 i use 16 inch,felt heavy and car hard to brake coz only 2 disc at front,then changed back to 15 inch the car felt light and better.
like said, it all depends on the overall diameter. Rubber is denser than alloy. Every increament of the overall diameter Of the wheel will increase the torque resistance of the engine.

Ur set up is so difference is because the overall wheel diameter is reduced. Mind sharing the previous tyre specs n current tyre spec..

JUST SOME INFO TO SHARE

15"
tyre cheaper value for money
easily available and wide range
for the same wheel diameter, less bouncy

16"
tyre not value for money freaking expensive
certain specs not available
look nice and fill the wheel arc

just my 2cents

lkc

Mar 3, 2010
petaling jaya
oh yeah... 15" tyres are more reasonable and easily available.

like said, it all depends on the overall diameter. Rubber is denser than alloy. Every increament of the overall diameter Of the wheel will increase the torque resistance of the engine.

Ur set up is so difference is because the overall wheel diameter is reduced. Mind sharing the previous tyre specs n current tyre spec..

JUST SOME INFO TO SHARE

15"
tyre cheaper value for money
easily available and wide range
for the same wheel diameter, less bouncy

16"
tyre not value for money freaking expensive
certain specs not available
look nice and fill the wheel arc

just my 2cents

before i am using 195/60/15,original proton size,then change to 205/50/r16,felt the car stable at corners but heavy and loss pick up and not very comfortable also,then trade in and change to the current set up which is 6.5 jj 195/55/15 with continental tyres and improve sport spring,the car now feels more light when accelerate,pick up ok,corner stable ( coz of changing sport spring ) then fuel consumption also save more,is exactly the same size as proton gen 2 using now,so far so good,is that what u want to know bro?but i do agree with u bro that 15 size tyre easy to find and cheaper,16 size more expensive and can goes up to rm 300 per pcs for better brand.

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
before i am using 195/60/15,original proton size,then change to 205/50/r16,felt the car stable at corners but heavy and loss pick up and not very comfortable also,then trade in and change to the current set up which is 6.5 jj 195/55/15 with continental tyres and improve sport spring,the car now feels more light when accelerate,pick up ok,corner stable ( coz of changing sport spring ) then fuel consumption also save more,is exactly the same size as proton gen 2 using now,so far so good,is that what u want to know bro?but i do agree with u bro that 15 size tyre easy to find and cheaper,16 size more expensive and can goes up to rm 300 per pcs for better brand.
SIZE 1

195 X 0.6 X 2 = 234
15" = 381

OVERALL DIAMETER = 615mm

SIZE 2

205 X 0.5 X 2 = 205
16" = 406.4mm

OVERALL DIAMETER = 611.4mm

SIZE 3

195 X 0.55 X 2 = 214.5
15" = 381
OVERALL DIAMETER = 595.5mm

See... the current setting is smaller from the previous setting by 15.9mm. And, of course, like said earlier, rubber is denser than alloy. So, the 205 also contributes some torque resistance to the engine...

So, If want to get the same effect on 16" rims, then u can either go for 205/45/16 or 195/50/16. Should be gettin around the same effect. But those 2 tyres are damn 7 expensive and rare...

I'd chose good material tyre over good brand low spec.

Hey guys,

been considering to get a better alarm system for my car... after all this cases of stolen cars and etc. So captor came into my mind as it can locate your vehicle if it was stolen. Anyone care to share? And how much does it cost outside now?

:lol: