Myvi 1.5 problem while travel long distance.

aivenrolx

Jul 30, 2008
Hi, to all sifu sifu here...
Would like to ask any member here drive myvi 1.5 felt the same problem with me.
Sometime i travel long distance cruising around 130-140kmh
If the car keep going for 1 or 2 hour...
The engine will become underpower and if uphill gearbox will keep shift to lower gear.
If i stop at rnr rest for 30 min, and then continue my journey for around 10-20 min the problem come again... U can feel the engine is so underpower...

So any sifu or member got experience this problem before? What the problem and solution ?:adore:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Gearbox shifting during uphill is normal for it to keep the rpm high from engine knocking. What engine oil and coolant r u using? Is the temperature reading normal after the 1-2 hrs drive? My car has got no problem. However there is some power loss when I rev too hard for a long time coz the engine is hot.

aivenrolx

Jul 30, 2008
Stopoil semi synthetic
Coolant still using once the car come out from showroom...
Temperature reading ok...
Maybe rev too hard ? Got solution to make it withstand keep revving ?

Bout the gearbox normally uphill wont keep shift to low gear... Will it be because engine too hot and keep change gear?

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Erm..I got no comment on stopoil. What is the viscosity? Use only 10-30, 5-30, or 0-30. Preferably 5-30 for cost and quality balance. I don't think the gearbox has anything to do with engine temperature. Is yours a new car?

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Try to use thicker engine oil 5w-40 as you travel long distance and long hour.

Agree with cvkit. The engine bay is hot and the intake is sucking in hot air causes some "underpower" feeling.

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
swift-turbo-malaysia.blogspot.sg
Your gearbox maybe overheat thus gearbox ecu goes to safe mode...?
Check yr atf as well maybe already loose its efficiencies.normally pink clear colour indicates atf still good.
All auto car will definately change to lower gear when uphill or when speed drop.
Better u gathered momentum before gping up hill.haha

swift2510

Aug 13, 2008
If your gearbox is still shifting down reasonably quick when going uphill or overtaking then it's hasn't got 'lazy' because of ATF overheat. I would say all AT cars has plumbing to the radiator to cool down the ATF. Now this leaves the engine oil to worry about. Use higher viscosity oil like 5W40. The 40 weight oil will maintain it's useful viscosity at a higher temp for longer while lubricating the critical internal parts of the engine. Consider also changing the coolant.

If gearbox is overheating try Lubeguard atf additive. If radiator system running perfectly, engine oil should not be overheating

aivenrolx

Jul 30, 2008
thanks for all info..
tommorrow will check what engine oil i use = )

if my car use 5w40, then i will move to atf additive

trustgtr

Jun 18, 2009
dont understand why use cheap branded oils, most are recycled oil..get the ones from proper oil companies.

bera

Oct 27, 2007
dont understand why use cheap branded oils, most are recycled oil..get the ones from proper oil companies.
dude please...no brand involved or even mentioned in this thread...all i see is people discussing viscosity rating whether it is suitable or not...:confused:

trustgtr

Jun 18, 2009
When u use cheap recycle oil, u cant really know whether the viscosity rating is what u really get in the bottle. Some of this cheapo brands are not even listed in API list yet they claim to comply.