How to improve the acceleration of waja(a)1.6 ?

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
My car is waja 1.6 auto , i change the extractor to 4-2-1 , and twin pipe , and open port air filter , but i feel that my car still not power lah , 0 to 100 need about 15 sec leh , quite slow lah for a 1.6 car , my fren say that is because of my twin pipe loh , so u guys have any comment on it ????

gtishadowfax

Nov 24, 2005
i suggest u put back the ori airbox...as open pod filters suck in more hot air, thus making the engine more sluggish instead. unless used with a properly done heatshield...

why dont u try lightened the car a bit? take off the spare tyre and buy those flat tyres "spray" can, like aerosol spray...then your rims...change it to 1 inch smaller and those lightweight rims...

is it 1.6 campro? if its campro nothing much u can do...the powerband is 4500rpm approximately...more to midrange power...

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
SkYwAlKeR said:
twin exhaust tip??... or twin pipe all the way from extractor???...

twin pipe or single pipe depends on how big is it mah....
is like that , after the 2 bullet , i put a Y juction there and lead to 2 muffler loh , u get it ??
sory coz my english is not that gud ...hehehe

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
gtishadowfax said:
i suggest u put back the ori airbox...as open pod filters suck in more hot air, thus making the engine more sluggish instead. unless used with a properly done heatshield...

why dont u try lightened the car a bit? take off the spare tyre and buy those flat tyres "spray" can, like aerosol spray...then your rims...change it to 1 inch smaller and those lightweight rims...

is it 1.6 campro? if its campro nothing much u can do...the powerband is 4500rpm approximately...more to midrange power...
ohhh, but after i change the air filter , i can feel the diffrent , its more powerfull on about 4 to 5 thousand RPM , before i change the air filter , its kinda difficult to rev up to 5000 RPM on driving , i mean when is on the third gear .
ohh , but what is that spray do ?? lighthening the car tyre ah ??
How about the spark plug ?? Do i need to change it ?? coz its still original ...
By the way , thanks for the advise bro ..

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
i think its your exhaust and open pod filter. Please find someone to properly calculate the piping sizes and exhaust velocity, you might have screwed it up with your 2 bullets, Y-joint and twin mufflers.

One more thing, Waja Auto 0-100km/h is around 14 secs, so its normal.

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
DLegend said:
i think its your exhaust and open pod filter. Please find someone to properly calculate the piping sizes and exhaust velocity, you might have screwed it up with your 2 bullets, Y-joint and twin mufflers.

One more thing, Waja Auto 0-100km/h is around 14 secs, so its normal.
Oh , is that so , thanks by the way . Do you know any other modification that can improve the acceleration ?????

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
change to manual gearbox? that will knock 4 secs off the 0-100km/h time.

gtishadowfax

Nov 24, 2005
heheh...if its auto, actually nothing much u can do la bro...unless its tipronic/ shiftronic or watsoeva they call it...

if u want performance/ real driving feel, why buy auto at the first place?

hansomecili

Feb 14, 2006
noobiejlcs said:
My car is waja 1.6 auto , i change the extractor to 4-2-1 , and twin pipe , and open port air filter , but i feel that my car still not power lah , 0 to 100 need about 15 sec leh , quite slow lah for a 1.6 car , my fren say that is because of my twin pipe loh , so u guys have any comment on it ????
U need 15 sec to go 0-100km/h..tats edi underpower..original spec was 13.8 sec to go 0-100 km/h...change ur twin piping back to single..auto waja kenot support twin piping..loose power...a good spec for waja piping is 1.75"inch..but since u got 4-2-1 edi, i suggest u to replace ur cat con to mid-box n change ur end muffler to S-flow muffler..auto need back pressure so dun use straight flow..change ur air filter from open pod to drop in..auto waja use open pod useless wan..
Need for power? change to adjustable cam-pulley, R3 performance cam-shaft, get ur tepet tune, change ur torque converter..use lancer torque converter, make ur throttle body bigger, port n polish ur silinder head..maybe after tat u try changing to sport silinder..
Not enough power? buy bolt-on turbo for waja....

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
ohhh, thanks bro , i change the bullet d , coz last time that guy change for me is manuel car use wan , after i change , i need 14.1 sec from 0 to 100 , coz i also got install sound system and have a big woofer box at the trunk , so i guess thats it . By the way, what do you mean by changeing cat con to mid box ?? i m just noob to car , just trying to learn from u all , so forgive my dumpness ,hah , thanks

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
my dad buy auto coz actually is for my mum wan , coz she can;t drive Manuel smotthly , and say manuel easy mah , so mah like this loh...........

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
piping remain stock (or go to 2" maximum), change cat to bullet and follow your original route. Muffler use S-flow
Change your open pod back to a high flow drop in filter. Get a lightened pulley. Sought for 2nd hang mid performance camshafts if possible (not necessary). Get Denso iridium sparks with performance spark plug cables.

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
Shinjite said:
piping remain stock (or go to 2" maximum), change cat to bullet and follow your original route. Muffler use S-flow
Change your open pod back to a high flow drop in filter. Get a lightened pulley. Sought for 2nd hang mid performance camshafts if possible (not necessary). Get Denso iridium sparks with performance spark plug cables.
is it means that change back to the original air filter box , but change the inside filter to high flow filter ???

noobiejlcs

Jun 22, 2006
jvoltz said:
sorry for disturb the thread S flow mean ori back box?
s flow is mean for the muffler , mostly s flow muffler is alot quite than straight flow , its for auto transmission car .

cmos

Oct 29, 2004
Timbuktu
I dumped in a Hotbits extractor + midsection + drop in K&N. Pretty big improvement. Decided not to go for the Hotbits rear mufler as really kenot tahan... cabin become too loud after install.

eujin

Jul 10, 2005
wajaland
yo dude..open port....twin piping..sounds ok...wat about ur piping size bro....stock 1.5"????welll as taikor here stated s-flow muffler..well is true...is better to have s-flow...zenden is come up with a product specialise for twin piping is around rm 200-300 if i not mistaken...equalize the exzos flow out let...in left and right..and slightly better pick up...

by the way bro..is ur auto gear slipping???some auto gear slips during hard acceleration...better keep an eye on tht...

anyway...if u1 know more about waja car,u can log in to www.team-imperials.drives.it

join us for tt...alot si fus and taikor there...can help u in any situation of ur car...
cherio...

luzirahs

Sep 6, 2006
hi all...i'm a members of Waja Performance Club (WPC).
happened to read this thread title and triggered me to share something w u all.

noobie...may i know what's yer rims size?
hope it's not 17".
revert back to stocks standard exhaust system with 1.75" piping.
4-2-1 extractor seems good.
u need a good muffler...with 1.75" inlet also.
about removing the cat-con and replace it with center muffler/bullet, i'm not sure coz i dont know about it.
revert back to drop-in air-filter (standard with air-box).
it is proven that Waja 4G18P not deliver its good with open-pod type of air filter...compare to drop-in air filter.
K&N drop-in is good enuff.

as for me...my best century sprint is around 12secs...couldn't remember exact figure.
my exhaust system is still stocks standard except the exhaust muffler.
i didn't take out the cat-con, also.
i only change the exhaust muffler to Sebring...bought from DLegend here...a members of WPC, too.

how u doin', DLegend?
long time no see in WPC forum, huh?

hello there eujin...greeting to fellow Waja enthusiast.
i'm not sure whether we've met before...but WPC and Imperials used to have TT couple of times before.

noobie...hope my infos here can shed some light in yer doubt.
please visit any Waja enthusiast forum for more info.

Just for the sake of discussion, if ever you'll be given a chance to build or to buy car of your dream, what is it? and why? :driver: