Hello Guest! Log in or Sign up for a full experience & ad-free!

DIY install Voltmeter

Originally posted by tykoh@Mar 23 2005, 17:45
wat to do.... DIY mah :D .... i dont wan to drill a hole on the dashboard lah.... i will sell my car next time one... so i just plan to do something like plug and play.... i think i need to cover it with something to make it not so easily seen by ppl walk pass.... sometimes really scare got ppl smash the window and take those thing.... the meter is not really exp lah... but smash the car window to take it really heart pain one... :(
[snapback]834498[/snapback]​

well... no need actually drill lar... i just screw de screws onto de dashboard directly... if removed onli got 2 smal holes... well... u can cover it up with a sticker lar... nobody will notice dat lar... when u sell de car.. :P

Detect the environment light then make the light dimmer?? open the headlight then become dim?? :huh: :huh:

i dun think got detect light stuff in de meter lar..

i think wat he means is.. dat wire is connected directly to battery.. so when we start our car.. de meter light wun turn dim/black... since de place we tap voltage suffer from voltage drop due to de starter...

am i rite? speedster?

khguan.... is there any picture how you did ur wiring job and tapping ?

i was just wondering how they would look like...

well.. sorry ah.. dun have... for my car.. i just remove de HU console (wira) then u can c de cigarettte lighter socket wires at de back... so i just connect my meter's wire at de connectors there...

red wire to +ve n black wire to -ve.. dats it.. ;)

Oohhh...just like the HU stops for a while when starting the car ....icic :D

Anyone know why the meter got 2 red wire and 2 black wire.
Single enough why got 2?
Must be got other feature.

Originally posted by drexchan@Mar 26 2005, 10:17
2 for voltage and 2 for lighting lar..
[snapback]842106[/snapback]​

yup. right.
But, no earthing require??
Metal part shd need earthing, in case short circuit.

earthing is de black wire lor...

dude.. car electrical stuff(DC) is diff from house electrical items(AC).. de earth in car means -VE wire/connection... so short circuit happen when any of de +ve wire/connection touch de -ve part...

house electrical earth is to absorb small electricity leakage... de LIFE wire is AC version of +VE n NEUTRAL is AC version of -VE... then de EARTH is totally another wire connecting to ur house outside to de ground.. so it is totally diff..

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 24 2005, 23:38
i dun think got detect light stuff in de meter lar..

i think wat he means is.. dat wire is connected directly to battery.. so when we start our car.. de meter light wun turn dim/black... since de place we tap voltage suffer from voltage drop due to de starter...

am i rite? speedster?
[snapback]838583[/snapback]​

Orange wire is dimmer IE you would wire it to your headlights power.

So when u switch on ur headlights at night the meter won't be so bright like daytime.. like ur clock la..u know when u switch on the lights ur clock dims? same thing.

So the orange wire is to connect to headlight?? :huh:

what is the conclusion..? blurred :blink:

hmmm that mean, if want to see more clearly...must go for EL or some other type of meter lo

yah.. but i think de Defi lookalike meter suit my car more n i like it very much...

so nvm lor.. day time not so bright but still can read de voltage lar... rm120 onli.. wat can i expect?