Humble DIY Repairs On My Car

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
First DIY video to diagnose a Check Engine Light with accuracy. More DIY videos to come on this channel “Forged For Speed”. Stay tuned.


❗... New Video Release ...❗
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: TitanRev and Tom

Izso

Boooooossst
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

Boooooossst
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
14,901
6,270
5,213
KL
That OBD2 and software - where do you get them from and is it free to use? (software)
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,441
8,228
1,713
Petaling Jaya
That OBD2 and software - where do you get them from and is it free to use? (software)
My OBD2 bought from Lazada, works well with my HP apps. So far my chery suv CEL, manage to find the fault.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
If can find the fault from obd2 is good and precise.
If no CEL indication, body aching loh...:mad:
Interestingly sometimes there can be a fault code captured but no CEL indication, I faced that before, not sure why no CEL.

The cool thing with this scanner is you can perform data logging of the sensors that the ECU reads which can point you to the vehicle issue even though no CEL.

My car for example engine knock does not trigger a CEL but I can log the knock sensor activation. If that fails the car got arthritis already haha.
 

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,391
3,135
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

 
  • Like
Reactions: vr2turbo

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,441
8,228
1,713
Petaling Jaya
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

Yup. I am using one of this too.....so far okay......
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

Thanks for the kind words sir. I do hope my videos are beneficial to people. The bluetooth scanner hardware acts as the Vehicle Communication Interface (VCI) only. The brain is like you mentioned the application. So technically it will be able to do the same thing if the app is the same. The catch is good apps from developed companies like LAUNCH, AUTEL etc will only work with their proprietary scanners.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,364
161
663
PJ
I haven’t use that brand before. Can share what functions can it perform?
theres many brands, specially china ones.
its prettymuch the same, end of the day all you are dealing with is just a bunch of signals... the way it manipulates and reads the signals are exactly the same, its the error library you are paying for with the more expensive scanners (i mean aside from obviously the additional stuff you find on the fancy gear). If someone actually spends the time to build the error code library, you prettymuch get the same thing. theres hardly a difference if the idea is just to pull/clear codes. now when it comes to live readings, maybe its just me, but these things seem to be abit sluggish? maybe its the older sluggish ecu, maybe its latency i dont know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: M_Engineer and Tom

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,480
810
713
Kuala Lumpur
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

This is okay until a certain level. The 32bit continental ECU of Proton can use this, 16bit cannot. Some pins are unavailable on the send or receiver side, my car cannot set throttle relearn or reset my immobilizer.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,391
3,135
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
This is okay until a certain level. The 32bit continental ECU of Proton can use this, 16bit cannot. Some pins are unavailable on the send or receiver side, my car cannot set throttle relearn or reset my immobilizer.
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
 

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,391
3,135
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
Thanks for the kind words sir. I do hope my videos are beneficial to people. The bluetooth scanner hardware acts as the Vehicle Communication Interface (VCI) only. The brain is like you mentioned the application. So technically it will be able to do the same thing if the app is the same. The catch is good apps from developed companies like LAUNCH, AUTEL etc will only work with their proprietary scanners.
keep up the great work :congrats:
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,441
8,228
1,713
Petaling Jaya
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
For me, so far work well too, espcially for my Chery SUV. Need to find fault code, if can handle, DIY. If not, send to mechanic friend, tell him the fault. After repairs login and erase the code.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,480
810
713
Kuala Lumpur
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,364
161
663
PJ
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
some errors and input commands are just not found in the db torque has i guess.... otherwise it should pull everything. end of the day its just a simple signaling mechanism..