Humble DIY Repairs On My Car

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
First DIY video to diagnose a Check Engine Light with accuracy. More DIY videos to come on this channel “Forged For Speed”. Stay tuned.


❗... New Video Release ...❗
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: TitanRev and Tom

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,334
6,400
5,213
KL
That OBD2 and software - where do you get them from and is it free to use? (software)
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
That OBD2 and software - where do you get them from and is it free to use? (software)
My OBD2 bought from Lazada, works well with my HP apps. So far my chery suv CEL, manage to find the fault.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
If can find the fault from obd2 is good and precise.
If no CEL indication, body aching loh...:mad:
Interestingly sometimes there can be a fault code captured but no CEL indication, I faced that before, not sure why no CEL.

The cool thing with this scanner is you can perform data logging of the sensors that the ECU reads which can point you to the vehicle issue even though no CEL.

My car for example engine knock does not trigger a CEL but I can log the knock sensor activation. If that fails the car got arthritis already haha.
 

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,523
3,200
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

 
  • Like
Reactions: vr2turbo

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

Yup. I am using one of this too.....so far okay......
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

Thanks for the kind words sir. I do hope my videos are beneficial to people. The bluetooth scanner hardware acts as the Vehicle Communication Interface (VCI) only. The brain is like you mentioned the application. So technically it will be able to do the same thing if the app is the same. The catch is good apps from developed companies like LAUNCH, AUTEL etc will only work with their proprietary scanners.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
I haven’t use that brand before. Can share what functions can it perform?
theres many brands, specially china ones.
its prettymuch the same, end of the day all you are dealing with is just a bunch of signals... the way it manipulates and reads the signals are exactly the same, its the error library you are paying for with the more expensive scanners (i mean aside from obviously the additional stuff you find on the fancy gear). If someone actually spends the time to build the error code library, you prettymuch get the same thing. theres hardly a difference if the idea is just to pull/clear codes. now when it comes to live readings, maybe its just me, but these things seem to be abit sluggish? maybe its the older sluggish ecu, maybe its latency i dont know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: M_Engineer and Tom

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,567
849
713
Kuala Lumpur
good tutorial, pretty sure many modern proton owners would thank you for this

Correct me if i'm wrong, but most obd2 bluetooth dongle should be able to do the same thing, just depends on the App used
I have a generic one like in this video below, works most of the time except for intermittent connection problems

This is okay until a certain level. The 32bit continental ECU of Proton can use this, 16bit cannot. Some pins are unavailable on the send or receiver side, my car cannot set throttle relearn or reset my immobilizer.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,523
3,200
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
This is okay until a certain level. The 32bit continental ECU of Proton can use this, 16bit cannot. Some pins are unavailable on the send or receiver side, my car cannot set throttle relearn or reset my immobilizer.
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
 

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Helmet Clan
Jul 6, 2000
5,523
3,200
5,213
Kuala Lumpur
Thanks for the kind words sir. I do hope my videos are beneficial to people. The bluetooth scanner hardware acts as the Vehicle Communication Interface (VCI) only. The brain is like you mentioned the application. So technically it will be able to do the same thing if the app is the same. The catch is good apps from developed companies like LAUNCH, AUTEL etc will only work with their proprietary scanners.
keep up the great work :congrats:
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
For me, so far work well too, espcially for my Chery SUV. Need to find fault code, if can handle, DIY. If not, send to mechanic friend, tell him the fault. After repairs login and erase the code.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,567
849
713
Kuala Lumpur
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
some errors and input commands are just not found in the db torque has i guess.... otherwise it should pull everything. end of the day its just a simple signaling mechanism..
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
Could be the app not suitable for the make/brand of car. It works well for my Chery SUV, for Forester certain things ok, some things not....lol
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,453
182
1,663
PJ
I think its the limit of the dongle.
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
Yup it has the function, I managed to reset the throttle on my Proton Gen 2, similarly it can work with imobilizer too but never got to try that function out. What I understand it does not cover all the vehicles so it likely be a hit and miss depending on the app support.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
Yah, even the actual unit my mechanic have, have to choose car make and model to scan. New cars in the market, have to get new software upload....
 

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,567
849
713
Kuala Lumpur
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
No, u need to have a dongle that can actually translate everything to the app. ELM is what we used and they have only a set of protocols.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
No, u need to have a dongle that can actually translate everything to the app. ELM is what we used and they have only a set of protocols.
The one that I have don't work well with my Forester, but club member did mention got another model that can read most of the data, including CVT fluid temp......
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
arite... how much did this cost!

this is cool
The top of the line model BL-7000SLX which is capable to lift SUVs and pickup trunks cost RM7000. The mid range model BL-5000SLX is RM6500. Since it is RM500 difference worthwhile to go with the top of the line model. But I will caution that the top of the line model is about 8kg heavier.
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
isnt that kinda low? A friend told me this was about RM6k on google. wow
I think you are referring to the lift height. That is actually very good for a portable lift system. More than enough space to do most of the work required to be under the car.
 

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 28, 2005
333
57
3,028
I would suggest to put additional jackstand or spare wheel as a backup in any case the liftjack fails/ fall down. just a safety measure
 
  • Like
Reactions: sweelt

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
I would suggest to put additional jackstand or spare wheel as a backup in any case the liftjack fails/ fall down. just a safety measure
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leinnz

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 28, 2005
333
57
3,028
If u see it properly, they are built with safety mechanism. Just like 2 post lift.
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
okok. just to be extra safe. looks cool
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
Looking back at the video, the jack looks slightly slanting, not fully upright?
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
Looking back at the video, the jack looks slightly slanting, not fully upright?
The final position with the mechanical lock engaged is not straight upright. There is about maybe half an inch more to go from the locking position.
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
s
Other than its portable, quite the hefty price isn't it, my problem is the height. Add a few more k can get 2 post lift dy but can't simply install everywhere la.
Price I feel is reasonable because there is no other options in the market that gives this portability. My unit runs on 12V so any car battery can power it which makes it so portable. Just load it on a pick up truck and lift any vehicles anywhere. Not only it is lifts higher than conventional jack stands but a level safer than conventional jack stands.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,869
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Other than its portable, quite the hefty price isn't it, my problem is the height. Add a few more k can get 2 post lift dy but can't simply install everywhere la.
If DIY at home, then 2 post lift loh. This is portable so can do elsewhere.......lol
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
If DIY at home, then 2 post lift loh. This is portable so can do elsewhere.......lol
I actually thought of that. The problem with two post lift the floor needs to be concrete of a certain thickness which my garage don’t have unfortunately. I actually prefer two post lift but my place does not allow it haha.
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Thread starter
Jun 2, 2020
28
12
3
36
My low profile hydraulic jack and 4 jack stands quite portable. :biggrin:
Haha no doubt it is more portable by really need to be extra careful with jack stands and floor jacks especially when trying lift all four wheels. I have my fair share of near misses. Also the jacking points on the car at times not even so one side lower and one side higher very dangerous.
 

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 28, 2005
333
57
3,028
Haha no doubt it is more portable by really need to be extra careful with jack stands and floor jacks especially when trying lift all four wheels. I have my fair share of near misses. Also the jacking points on the car at times not even so one side lower and one side higher very dangerous.
need to be extra safe. you may put additional rims/tyres to as a backup. seriously you wont want to get serious injuries. jackstand, rims will stop from further fall if one fails