DIY Boot Floor Board

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Done using 3/8" thick plywood... bought from a hardware shop near my place in serdang... de board itself costed RM35 n RM5 for transportation... measuring 4ft x 8ft...

Took me one day to cut de board n complete de hinges n "door".. then another half a day for carpeting it... a lot of work... but very satisfying DIY... B) :tb:

Steps n procedures are here : http://khguan.fotopic.net/c806091.html

hitz

Kepong, KL
WOW... Nicely done man... ... Better and cheaper than acc. shop.. .. .. Good work bro..

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
thanx for de comment... well it is a lot more cheaper.. but took lots of effort to do it... so my hardwork pay de price la... but i get de carpet style i want n i got Great SATISFACTION at de end of de project...

simefly

Apr 12, 2005
two thumbs up... in fact 10 thumbs up... i bet its real satisfying to see it look so good!!

yum yum....

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
hehehe... going to DIY de side box with carpet as well to suit de board n sub box... now only using normal DIY cardboard box for storage....

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
3/8' is how many mm ar ? ...... last time i see my bro do is use very thin plywood and use soft board to stick the plywood together but also must do some frame la .... he say soft board can absorb sound ..... plus khguan u got dynamat rite .... sommore beter eefect ..... sorry if my idea piss u off .... just from what i experience .... sorry sorry sorry

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
3/8" is about 10mm thick.. well.. me not using any dynamatt on my car... just have Insulflex in de boot area... de Insulflfex n de carpet on de board is good enough to absorb noise...

de soft board?? do u mean MDF?? de reason i dun wanto use MDF board is bcos it absorbs water much faster than plywood... once get into contact with water... gone!! another thing is MDF boards are very heavy...

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
ohh i see is use 5 mm ply wood then MDF on the top but MDF got one thin layer dunno what spray make ppl sneeze one spray on top of the MDF then use the carpet to put on the MDF ..... more work but i think satisfaction is there

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
i tot dunlop glue prone to fast tempreature change ?
from what i know la ..... if dunlop glue face fast change in tempreature can become like too hard then like become fragile layer ...... can easily peel off

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
thanx magnesium.. :)

edwin,
well.. i think Dunlop Glue or contact adhesive is suitable to be used on pourous material such as carpet n wood... it will not become brittle after it is cured.. in fact it can flex when it is cured... therefore giving u de strength to hold hold de materials together... but if u use it on non-pourous hard material such as glass, cement, plastics... then it can be peeled off after a certain time...

how well de materials stick depends on de surface preparation and adhesion technique...

Malaysia Car Detailing Guru KC present - How to clean your leather Seats

When I was back to hometown - looking at my aunt neglected sofa....

extreme close up

in 20 secs...