change intercooler?what will happen?

0to100

Jun 15, 2005
Sepang
do any one know what will happen to my engine if i switch my gsr intercooler to vr4 intercooler..

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
better drop in the vr4. gsr too small in malaysia humid climate.

lag issue is so small issue compare to what u get.

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
A couple years back, I think ZTH member JUN_GSR posted an article about intercoolers.

The article was about a shootout between intercoolers done by a Japanese researcher.

The result was, VR4 I/C was no better or worst than GSR in terms of cooling efficiency and turbo response.

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
before that just to confirm...the gsr i/c is side mounted right?
the shoot out done in japan right?japan is cold. i thought humidity/hot will effect turbo performance. the result will differ if the comparison done over here

eye

Jul 7, 2005
Butterworth
how about 4G61T leh, will it lag if i change to VR4 I/C??
If yes, what should i do??
Pls give some ideal..

2slow2steady

May 22, 2005
p.j
if u wanna touch up ur gsr engine a lil,u need the vr4 i/c
if u leave it stock,off coz the gsr i/c is better.
normally gsr user upgrade to e3 turbine+vr4 i/c
just my 2cents :rolleyes:

Back in the day the two were literally joined at the hip, collaborating on the Mercedes-Benz SLR Mclaren program and being the automaker’s partner of choice in Formula One but McLaren and Mercedes-Benz soon parted ways and severed all ties.

Mercedes-Benz went on to sell their stake in the McLaren team and bought over another Formula One team to try and make it on their own in the pinnacle of motorsports...