begging for advice on 318i E36 :D

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
Greetings to all masters and sifus out there,

I have here a 96' 318i E36 and am very new to conti cars. As we all know, the 318i of its time is severely underpowered and i'm thinking of doing an engine swap with a 1.8IS or 2.0i. I'm basically just looking for a beemer engine with decent power (at least 140hp) and FC that is not too much of a difference from the ori 1.8i. Any input on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks all in advance! :D

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
hardly come across m42 nowaday,try to get the m50 with vanos 320 (140hp)/325(190hp).

full tank could get u at least 360km (depends on ur right foot).90% city drive

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
hrrmmm...seems good enough for my needs :D
any recommendation of where can i get the engine? or do you know of anyone who's selling? i'm living in subang jaya

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
I believe it's a m43 le bro, not too sure. just judging by my car's manufactured year :)
sweet! i'll join you guys ASAP! :D

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
m40 is using timing belt while m43 is using timing chain,looking forward to meet u soon!

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
year 95 and above should be m43 bro.. :) im driving 1 too..with manual tranny

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
jacky hung from BMWCM?
yes bro ( ;

for me m43 stock already pack with 140hp..and with one advantage too..lighter engine compare to m50

M50 2.5 around 170hp 2.8 around 190hp but the down side is heavier..so if u say u wan pure power u can't really get it from bmw bro..

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
yes bro ( ;

for me m43 stock already pack with 140hp..and with one advantage too..lighter engine compare to m50

M50 2.5 around 170hp 2.8 around 190hp but the down side is heavier..so if u say u wan pure power u can't really get it from bmw bro..

nice to meet u here bro!

M42 1.8 is 138hp@ 6000rpm & 168Nm@ 3900rpm
M43 1.8 is 113hp@ 5500rpm & 168Nm@ 3900 rpm
M50 2.0 is 148hp@ 5900rpm & 190Nm@ 4200rpm
M50 2.5 is 189hp@ 5900rpm & 245Nm@ 4200rpm

M43 vs M50 2.0 got diff especially after 4000rpm

test drive any M50 and you will know what i mean

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
i know what u mean 5115..cannot compare with 6 potter bro..not a chance at all.. ( ;

i jus wan to know...if modding the holes of the rims like say from 5 holes to 4 holes pcd 100....
issit reliable?
in long term or short term?
would it have any adverse side effect?
pls advice...