begging for advice on 318i E36 :D

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
Greetings to all masters and sifus out there,

I have here a 96' 318i E36 and am very new to conti cars. As we all know, the 318i of its time is severely underpowered and i'm thinking of doing an engine swap with a 1.8IS or 2.0i. I'm basically just looking for a beemer engine with decent power (at least 140hp) and FC that is not too much of a difference from the ori 1.8i. Any input on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks all in advance! :D

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
hardly come across m42 nowaday,try to get the m50 with vanos 320 (140hp)/325(190hp).

full tank could get u at least 360km (depends on ur right foot).90% city drive

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
hrrmmm...seems good enough for my needs :D
any recommendation of where can i get the engine? or do you know of anyone who's selling? i'm living in subang jaya

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
I believe it's a m43 le bro, not too sure. just judging by my car's manufactured year :)
sweet! i'll join you guys ASAP! :D

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
m40 is using timing belt while m43 is using timing chain,looking forward to meet u soon!

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
year 95 and above should be m43 bro.. :) im driving 1 too..with manual tranny

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
jacky hung from BMWCM?
yes bro ( ;

for me m43 stock already pack with 140hp..and with one advantage too..lighter engine compare to m50

M50 2.5 around 170hp 2.8 around 190hp but the down side is heavier..so if u say u wan pure power u can't really get it from bmw bro..

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
yes bro ( ;

for me m43 stock already pack with 140hp..and with one advantage too..lighter engine compare to m50

M50 2.5 around 170hp 2.8 around 190hp but the down side is heavier..so if u say u wan pure power u can't really get it from bmw bro..

nice to meet u here bro!

M42 1.8 is 138hp@ 6000rpm & 168Nm@ 3900rpm
M43 1.8 is 113hp@ 5500rpm & 168Nm@ 3900 rpm
M50 2.0 is 148hp@ 5900rpm & 190Nm@ 4200rpm
M50 2.5 is 189hp@ 5900rpm & 245Nm@ 4200rpm

M43 vs M50 2.0 got diff especially after 4000rpm

test drive any M50 and you will know what i mean

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
i know what u mean 5115..cannot compare with 6 potter bro..not a chance at all.. ( ;

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
bro, will u be interested with my current engine ? i think is m43 if not mistaken..manual ( :i might wanna take my frens sr20 engine..

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
sell me the manual set to match my M50,want?

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
im not sure yet, thinking of sr20 or m50, if m50 5115 don't have the manual set leady ( :
i'll see how..haven't see any good m50 yet..btw jo-e34 what's wrong with sr20 ?

guys..my fren just bought a pair of perdana complete front brake set...witout knuckle
when we went 2 install it...the mech say muz take out watbearing...if take out edi sure muz replace wit new 1 edi...n then he say hose diff also...he say muz use wira hose type....
n when take out every thing edi he say the hub place dunno wat diff...cannot fit...muz use perdana knuckle also....

so saga/iswara out there wit vr4 twin pot o single pot...plz help out...