want to share my exp with umw after sales service

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
I had bought an Avanza 1.3 MT from UMW pandan indah on Mrach 15 2006. On same day I got car I found that my car is pulling to right. I immediately called sales guy. He arrange appointment for me at shamelin sc. 3 days after 1st repair same problem coming again. I was visit shamelin sc for 3 times, ss19 sc 2 times, cheras sc 12 times. Each time I repair they gv different excuses. Untill today my car still pulling left sometimes right:angry_smile: I had try outside shop result still same. I had sent 3 complaint letter to UMW shah alam & also TMC japan. Nothing changed....hai... very disappointed with UMW. They insist not change another unit for me :confused_smile:

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
wat kinda of excuse the gave u?reason the give for all these?any weird sound?do u feel loose on ur steering?have u personnally involve in these inspections?

infernaL

May 22, 2005
N/A
shouldnt you test the ride first before clearing it out of the service center ?

m1adam

Feb 23, 2006
maybe ur alignment/camber out and make an official call to the customer service and u need to be pounding on then managers door to make them wake up and see to ur problem.

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
maybe ur car got accident before...or bush wear out...try having ur car jacke up and check with ur foreman...he should be able to see...

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
Worse come to worse a bent body. If you could find a body shop with body angle measuring tools, sure could see the problem. Even worse case senario would be a repaired car. Or go JPJ check for chassis problems. Damn new car also kena ah?

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
tats terrible man...i think u should demand to see the manager

sebastianloeb

Dec 26, 2006
Scary! However, U must do whatever u can to to get ur right. make report to consumer tribunal if they still refuse to solve the problem..

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
For me, the toyota after sale services is good as my family Altis front wind screen is senget/ tilt to the right just a bit thus make the windscreen like out of place. We only found out after more than 1 year but they still replace it with new one FOC.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
I had bought an Avanza 1.3 MT from UMW pandan indah on Mrach 15 2006. On same day I got car I found that my car is pulling to right. I immediately called sales guy. He arrange appointment for me at shamelin sc. 3 days after 1st repair same problem coming again. I was visit shamelin sc for 3 times, ss19 sc 2 times, cheras sc 12 times. Each time I repair they gv different excuses. Untill today my car still pulling left sometimes right:angry_smile: I had try outside shop result still same. I had sent 3 complaint letter to UMW shah alam & also TMC japan. Nothing changed....hai... very disappointed with UMW. They insist not change another unit for me :confused_smile:
You didn't state whether it is a new or used unit!!!

You should have directly come to Shah Alam service center n complain to them, rather than sending letters...... If you act fast, you could have chances of changing a new one.... Now you need is a lawyer......

DDgreystar

Sep 20, 2004
i heard for nissan....they do give replacement..........toyota .....becomign arrogant towards consumers who supported them....sigh

zan

Feb 20, 2005
i believe they must have a reason for that. what is the car's mileage? do you carry out alignment every 10,000km and rotates tyres accordingly?

check the tyres for uneven wear, maybe absorbers has premature wear.

the best way is to call the Customer Relations Department. i can assure you every Toyota branch is very afraid of CRD. very kacau one.

if not mistaken, the service manager for Shamelin Perkasa is my old fren Mr Luye Yau Wen. is he still there, send my regards to him.

IMO, try to stick to only one service centre until the problem is solved instead of going to 2-3 branches and hearing 2-3 suggestions.

better still, after each service test the car around first and if you not happy straight away complaint lah.

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
sorry for late reply, kinda busy these few days... i bought this new car on March 15 2006 as stated 1st post :regular_smile: each time i took car from Tyt cheras & ss19 sc i test drive with sa but after few days or few hours later same problem happen again.

Here is recent video
YouTube - Toyota Avanza Dangerous Steering problem Part 1
YouTube - Toyota Avanza Dangerous Steering problem Part 2
YouTube - Toyota Avanza Dangerous Steering problem Part 3
YouTube - Toyota Avanza Dangerous Steering problem Part 4
YouTube - Toyota Avanza Dangerous Steering problem Part 5

21 MAR 2006 1st visit at shamelin sc they didn't tell reason.
27 APR 2006 2nd visit at shamelin sc they didn't tell reason.
2 MAY 2006 3rd visit at shamelin sc the technical guy told me that do not turn steering too hard when making U turn or reverse parking.
6 JUN 2006 4th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
29 NOV 2006 5th visit at cheras sc sa inform me that toe was move to right side.
1 DEC 2006 6th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
5 DEC 2006 7th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
6 DEC 2006 8th visit at ss19 sc they didn't tell reason.
28 DEC 2006 9th visit at ss19 sc mr faizal insist my car no problem.
2 JAN 2006 10th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
16 JAN 2007 11th visit at cheras sc sa claim that my front right hand side absorber abnormal & causing steering cannot straight.
24 JAN 2007 12th visit at cheras sc sa told me that front lower arm bar & stabilizer been adjusted.
8 FEB 2007 13th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
6 MAR 2007 14th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason but my stabilizer bar and rubber pad been taken out & they charge me RM201.60 :angry_smile:
30 MAR 2007 15th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.
5 APR 2007 16th visit at cheras sc sa said tire pressure problem
17 APR 2007 17th visit at cheras sc they didn't tell reason.

I wrote to customer service shah alam & also TMC jpn. Each go back do repairing same problem come out also. Wat else should i do?

Last edited by a moderator:

Hello everyone,

I am currently looking for an E30 overhaul manual. I already have the Haynes 3 & 5 series service and repair manual but i feel that it is not enough. I hope someone out there has the Original BMW overhaul or shop manual.

You can contact me at 012 3938370. Thanks.