Proton 4G13/4G15....Satria/Wira/Saga

hello i am noobies here..

FYI

aku ni pakai teksi wira 4g15 laa
recently i replace my exhaust system and open air pod filter (betul ke ape aku taip)
supprisingly peh pickup not bad.. last weekend i test with some other pranggg satria and wira.. either they menganjing aku atau they cant go away from me or potong me...

i use 4-2-1 extractor, CAT aku buang ganti yg macam bullet tu kan, muffler s type..

*before that my TB dah replace with new TB yg dah recond or ntah la
and my block has been overhaul la because my timing belt snap daaaa...

top aku tak try lagi.. my third gear can go to nearly 115-120 la, if i`m not wrong
 
Hi everyone. Im driving iswara 4g13 carb. Recently i changed my engine oil 15w-40 and the proton oil filter. And one week after that i check my oil level, tiba2 tinggal setengah. During service i fill it full. No oil leaking sign dekat nut oil sump kat bawah engine and also the oil filter. Is my block leaking , or any gasket and sealing problem ? I need help.
 

issuzark

500 RPM

issuzark

500 RPM
Sep 4, 2014
861
66
528
Kuala Lumpur
Hi everyone. Im driving iswara 4g13 carb. Recently i changed my engine oil 15w-40 and the proton oil filter. And one week after that i check my oil level, tiba2 tinggal setengah. During service i fill it full. No oil leaking sign dekat nut oil sump kat bawah engine and also the oil filter. Is my block leaking , or any gasket and sealing problem ? I need help.
That, you will need to look at it yourself for signs under the car. Are there oil spots on your usual parking spot?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,941
8,365
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Hi everyone. Im driving iswara 4g13 carb. Recently i changed my engine oil 15w-40 and the proton oil filter. And one week after that i check my oil level, tiba2 tinggal setengah. During service i fill it full. No oil leaking sign dekat nut oil sump kat bawah engine and also the oil filter. Is my block leaking , or any gasket and sealing problem ? I need help.
One week is very fast. Check your engine in engine bay for leaks.
If not, top up full again in the morning before you start, then check again in one week also in the morning before you start.
 

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
sorry abit off topic here, my 4g13 in my wira kong recently and the the rocker arm assembly completely snapped along with the bolt groves that held it in, cracking the head. im planning to transplant a bigger 4g15 block. the doner engine im planning to get is a 4g15 carburetor engine from an old saga. Assuming i can get the 4g15 injectors, can i still use the ecu on the new block ? its a stock original SVDO . If not mistaken 4g13 and 4g15 use the exact same svdo ecu right ? maybe with a different mapping. can it adapt the mapping to the bigger engine ? any recomendations accepted.
 

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,089
684
713
37
Melaka
sorry abit off topic here, my 4g13 in my wira kong recently and the the rocker arm assembly completely snapped along with the bolt groves that held it in, cracking the head. im planning to transplant a bigger 4g15 block. the doner engine im planning to get is a 4g15 carburetor engine from an old saga. Assuming i can get the 4g15 injectors, can i still use the ecu on the new block ? its a stock original SVDO . If not mistaken 4g13 and 4g15 use the exact same svdo ecu right ? maybe with a different mapping. can it adapt the mapping to the bigger engine ? any recomendations accepted.
get a complete 4g15 injection engine as is easier and lesser headache in future.

no need to complicate an easy job.
 

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
hey guys. found a donor car to transplant my new 4g15 efi engine. but i wasnt sure if the ecu that came with the new one is MMC or SVDO. you think i can still use back my old SVDO from the 4g13 that was blown ? will the ecu tune conflict if go from 1.3> 1.5 ?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,941
8,365
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Only the 1.5 engine? If yes, as far as I know the 1.3 ecu/harness will feed 1.3 data only, so you won't get full potential of the 1.5 engine...
 

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
oh. so what is the avg price of a 1.5 SVDO ecu at kedai potong ? can any expert of vdo engine confirm this incompatbiity ? Drex ?
Izso? all the while i taught it was Pnp with all the sensors and wiring.
 
Last edited:

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
right. just got the block. will be finding that svdo 1.5 ecu . hopefully halfcut shop got.

btw, before im transplanting the block, my dad needs to send the 1.3 car with the temporary repaird head to PUSPAKOM to transfer the title to me. Since i have a Muffler delete(straight pipe with stock cat and extractor) , will there be a mandatory inspection before transferring the title ? i worry fail lor bcz exhaust noisy. Will i fail even if i use runner ? . My dad knows a good runner.

i dont mind put back the stock silencer muffler on the spot at puspakom. what do u guys think ? anyone got experience tranfer title at puspakom with modi exhauat system ?
 

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,089
684
713
37
Melaka
right. just got the block. will be finding that svdo 1.5 ecu . hopefully halfcut shop got.

btw, before im transplanting the block, my dad needs to send the 1.3 car with the temporary repaird head to PUSPAKOM to transfer the title to me. Since i have a Muffler delete(straight pipe with stock cat and extractor) , will there be a mandatory inspection before transferring the title ? i worry fail lor bcz exhaust noisy. Will i fail even if i use runner ? . My dad knows a good runner.

i dont mind put back the stock silencer muffler on the spot at puspakom. what do u guys think ? anyone got experience tranfer title at puspakom with modi exhauat system ?
just swap to stock. no need to go thri the hassle of putting it back to stock if it fail. Once fail, u need to resend again and pay them again.
Why pay the runner more when u can save money by swapping back to stock?
 

sanekit

1,500 RPM

sanekit

1,500 RPM
Dec 9, 2015
1,611
156
663
Petaling Jaya
right. just got the block. will be finding that svdo 1.5 ecu . hopefully halfcut shop got.

btw, before im transplanting the block, my dad needs to send the 1.3 car with the temporary repaird head to PUSPAKOM to transfer the title to me. Since i have a Muffler delete(straight pipe with stock cat and extractor) , will there be a mandatory inspection before transferring the title ? i worry fail lor bcz exhaust noisy. Will i fail even if i use runner ? . My dad knows a good runner.

i dont mind put back the stock silencer muffler on the spot at puspakom. what do u guys think ? anyone got experience tranfer title at puspakom with modi exhauat system ?
i sent my car for endorsement with my tint on, non standard plate number and an fgk muffler. the runner charge was steep but i passed. so if your runner is good, shouldn't be a problem. but best to just pasang a stock muffler.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
oh. so what is the avg price of a 1.5 SVDO ecu at kedai potong ? can any expert of vdo engine confirm this incompatbiity ? Drex ?
Izso? all the while i taught it was Pnp with all the sensors and wiring.
MMC and VDO very different. Not compatible.

VDO and Carb very different. Pain in the ass to transplant to EFI. Not impossible but need to make sure your mech is good with wiring.

1.5 VDO and 1.3 VDO different parameters. Not compatible. If it's a 1.5 then use 1.5. Else just consider a standalone ECU. 4 Cylinder you have plenty of choices.

right. just got the block. will be finding that svdo 1.5 ecu . hopefully halfcut shop got.

btw, before im transplanting the block, my dad needs to send the 1.3 car with the temporary repaird head to PUSPAKOM to transfer the title to me. Since i have a Muffler delete(straight pipe with stock cat and extractor) , will there be a mandatory inspection before transferring the title ? i worry fail lor bcz exhaust noisy. Will i fail even if i use runner ? . My dad knows a good runner.

i dont mind put back the stock silencer muffler on the spot at puspakom. what do u guys think ? anyone got experience tranfer title at puspakom with modi exhauat system ?
Name transfer is a very simple check. Only 4 points. Make sure tint clear (or no tint at all, don't even use cromax glass), make sure headlights and brakes work good and lastly make sure your car no obvious welding marks (repairs or potong car). That's assuming you puspakom the car yourself (RM50+ if you go to their center, RM100+ if you opt for the on-site checking). If you opt for runner get a good one. That's about all. Exhaust isn't a problem but to avoid a picky Puspakom officer, swap it back temporarily.
 

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
MMC and VDO very different. Not compatible.

VDO and Carb very different. Pain in the ass to transplant to EFI. Not impossible but need to make sure your mech is good with wiring.

1.5 VDO and 1.3 VDO different parameters. Not compatible. If it's a 1.5 then use 1.5. Else just consider a standalone ECU. 4 Cylinder you have plenty of choices.



Name transfer is a very simple check. Only 4 points. Make sure tint clear (or no tint at all, don't even use cromax glass), make sure headlights and brakes work good and lastly make sure your car no obvious welding marks (repairs or potong car). That's assuming you puspakom the car yourself (RM50+ if you go to their center, RM100+ if you opt for the on-site checking). If you opt for runner get a good one. That's about all. Exhaust isn't a problem but to avoid a picky Puspakom officer, swap it back temporarily.
right. stock muffler it is. how about skimming the head to increase my compression ratio? how much maximum in mm i can skim the head before i knock the rod with the piston ? also is there such thing as high compression piston rings for the 4g15? im about to head to the parts shop in a few days after i get all this sorted.

Thanks for the sincere reply as i never encounter myself having conversation w/ otai member here hehe ;D
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
right. stock muffler it is. how about skimming the head to increase my compression ratio? how much maximum in mm i can skim the head before i knock the rod with the piston ? also is there such thing as high compression piston rings for the 4g15? im about to head to the parts shop in a few days after i get all this sorted.

Thanks for the sincere reply as i never encounter myself having conversation w/ otai member here hehe ;D
I don't know about the rings - but skimming your head can help increase but you'll have a few disadvantages -

1. Next time your head warps or overheats, it'll be time to change a new head depending on how much you skim. In my old cars case I skimmed to the max.
2. Depending on how aggressive your pistons are, you might have knocking issues and require RON97. If stock then no problem la.

And I think what you want is high compression pistons, not piston rings. Kembara pistons are slightly domed and can help you increase your compression. Alternatively you can stroke it with a Waja 4G18 crankshaft usually paired with Saga CPS pistons. Why do you want to increase your compression anyway? Stroke + good port and polish job, good exhaust manifold and exhaust, and even with the 1.3 GB it's a good combination already for a 1.5 VDO Wira.

If you increase to high compression need Ron97 already.....
Not really la. Depends on how aggressive he goes
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,941
8,365
1,713
Petaling Jaya
I don't know about the rings - but skimming your head can help increase but you'll have a few disadvantages -

1. Next time your head warps or overheats, it'll be time to change a new head depending on how much you skim. In my old cars case I skimmed to the max.
2. Depending on how aggressive your pistons are, you might have knocking issues and require RON97. If stock then no problem la.

And I think what you want is high compression pistons, not piston rings. Kembara pistons are slightly domed and can help you increase your compression. Alternatively you can stroke it with a Waja 4G18 crankshaft usually paired with Saga CPS pistons. Why do you want to increase your compression anyway? Stroke + good port and polish job, good exhaust manifold and exhaust, and even with the 1.3 GB it's a good combination already for a 1.5 VDO Wira.



Not really la. Depends on how aggressive he goes
Yours skimmed to the max also no need Ron 97?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,941
8,365
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Sort of. 95 + octane booster worked enough. 97 worked better. 100 worked best
Ron 95 plus octane booster, no longer 95....hhahhahaha

Anyway, if want to have higher compression sure go max, right? Why go half way, if like that might as well leave stock.....lol
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
95 is a no-no?
If retune for 95, whats the est power loss figure?
My ex-car was running on stock VDO ecu. Head skimmed max, PNP, oversized pistons and stroked. It would knock at certain RPMs if I ran RON95 only. With octane boosters it'd run but without knocks. 97 I would feel a bit more oomph. With 100 it was smooth sailing all the way to redline and all.
 

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member

N/A Proton Brudder

Active Member
May 28, 2018
26
0
1
22
i dont really mind paying for high octane fuel la. you think i increase compression to the sky to convert deisel issit:laugh: ? i had ron95 +cheap octane booster beforehand anyway.i did that because i increased my ignition timing (kacau distributor). i like play2 toque ma , what can do city driving wan -\_:biggrin:_/- . also i did DIY port and polish my intake manifold and send head to be pnp + skimmed at engineering shop. planning to get highcam and bigger size 4-2-1 extractor.if can hang out with d15& d16 vtec happy edi :rock: So if skim the head to max safe level, how much estimate compression ratio value given i use stock piston+ brand new rings and standard size paper head gasket ? also will 0.5mm metal gasket increase that too

Here's my diy pnp intake manifold job. what do you think ? Btw havent polished yet.
and also my custom valve cover paint job. what do you think with the r3 theme;)
tmp-cam--261518064.jpg
tmp-cam-839721660.jpg
 
Last edited:

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,941
8,365
1,713
Petaling Jaya
i dont really mind paying for high octane fuel la. you think i increase compression to the sky to convert deisel issit:laugh: ? i had ron95 +cheap octane booster beforehand anyway.i did that because i increased my ignition timing (kacau distributor). i like play2 toque ma , what can do city driving wan -\_:biggrin:_/- . also i did DIY port and polish my intake manifold and send head to be pnp + skimmed at engineering shop. planning to get highcam and bigger size 4-2-1 extractor.if can hang out with d15& d16 vtec happy edi :rock: So if skim the head to max safe level, how much estimate compression ratio value given i use stock piston+ brand new rings and standard size paper head gasket ? also will 0.5mm metal gasket increase that too

Here's my diy pnp intake manifold job. what do you think ? Btw havent polished yet.
and also my custom valve cover paint job. what do you think with the r3 theme;)
View attachment 573041 View attachment 573042
Yalor, that is why I mention if go high compression might as well go max, no point do half way.....hhahhhahaha
The cam not too high, if too high, city driving will suffer.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,377
6,409
5,213
KL
i dont really mind paying for high octane fuel la. you think i increase compression to the sky to convert deisel issit:laugh: ? i had ron95 +cheap octane booster beforehand anyway.i did that because i increased my ignition timing (kacau distributor). i like play2 toque ma , what can do city driving wan -\_:biggrin:_/- . also i did DIY port and polish my intake manifold and send head to be pnp + skimmed at engineering shop. planning to get highcam and bigger size 4-2-1 extractor.if can hang out with d15& d16 vtec happy edi :rock: So if skim the head to max safe level, how much estimate compression ratio value given i use stock piston+ brand new rings and standard size paper head gasket ? also will 0.5mm metal gasket increase that too

Here's my diy pnp intake manifold job. what do you think ? Btw havent polished yet.
and also my custom valve cover paint job. what do you think with the r3 theme;)
View attachment 573041 View attachment 573042
That PNP is a bit crude. You did the sharp edges on purpose?