Opinions / Discussions Pls. CamShaft Swap

V8_nutter

Ill update you on the date later, leave me your contact number so i can straightly update it to you. From what i heard the prize money is 500, 300 and 200 (depends on the participation) and currently the feedback was very good. Registration is 130 if im not mistaken.

U using what engine fren ?

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
V8_nutter said:
Ill update you on the date later, leave me your contact number so i can straightly update it to you. From what i heard the prize money is 500, 300 and 200 (depends on the participation) and currently the feedback was very good. Registration is 130 if im not mistaken.

U using what engine fren ?
mine just normal carb 1.5 proton engine....:D

i will pm u my number

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
V8_nutter said:
Have you thought of joining any drag race ? Better you join and you might win, Melaka is having this drag race on september and we have this proton 1.5 category. the good news is the prize money is quite ok, are u interested ??. Looking forward to see your car in action lar, call me at 012-6912007.
Boss...the engine also dunno where already cos i sold it 3 years ago.

Unless you consider my VR-4 a 1.5 then i come over for the drag race lor. :D

ask unker fred...sure he shiok and gian one... :p

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
still considering la mahaguru miton...drag racers all strip out cars, totaly 100% full engine mods, and totally gila babi driver inside, me how to drag with them le...pay 130bucks to loose face meh?? ehahahahahahahhahaa:D but can get some great experiance also la..ekekekekekekeke:p

cipan_supercas

Feb 4, 2004
www.draxecu.com
fstrader said:
still considering la mahaguru miton...drag racers all strip out cars, totaly 100% full engine mods, and totally gila babi driver inside, me how to drag with them le...pay 130bucks to loose face meh?? ehahahahahahahhahaa:D but can get some great experiance also la..ekekekekekekeke:p
no prob la unker fred..

if u wanna potong lantai...potong pintu..potong bumbung..u call anyone..sure they will help potong potong...hehehehe..later u car jadi kereta potong liao...

but it would be interesting if u can whack those car that being "potong" with ur std chasis.. :rolleyes:

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
you only need to remove seats and spare tyre...that's all.

dont la go to extent buang bonnet boot door and bumpers la...if you can win by just removing 2 items then it is something to be proud of...

that time we all salute you lor..UNKER THE LEGEND... :D

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
wah lao eh u all ahh!!!

need super FIA license one kah these drag race?? ehehehhehehee:D

might as well give it a try lor if got budget, sepang drag battles no chance edi ma...these approved underground drags i think can test test a bit lor...ahahahahahahahhaaa:p

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
290 degree and full lift without reinforced valve springs is dangerous for engine.

290 cams will push the power band deeper.

Your engine will need to be working at a speed of 5~7,000RPM to harness the full potential of 290 cams.

Valve spring rebound will no be able to compliment the long duration and hi lift. (the valve will not be able to close fast enough as engine speed is increased but valve spring rebound speed is unchanged)

A slight nudge by the piston on any of the valve will damage the engine severely

Modern day stock cams are about 240, which are already overlapped by about 60 degrees.

At 290, we're looking at an overlap of 110 degress overlap and intake valves opening way much sooner during 4th stroke TDC and closing way much later during 2nd stroke's TDC :eek:

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
AN illustration I made to show the difference between stock and 290 cams.

Its better to have it and not needing it than not having it when you need it.

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
i am buying some double layer springs edi joe...ehhehehehe:D

tqtq for those nice dadgrams:p

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
Cut down on the Bak Kut Teh and Beer for a week.

Can shave 0.5 sec off your quarter mile.

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
this is my spec's :

Fast road(application), 1800-6500(power band), 39-73 73-39(valve timing), 292(duration), .375inch 9.53mm(valve lift), 30mm inlet 30mm exhaust(valve clearance), 107deg(full lift), FOLMIN (cam follower), VDSMIN2(valve spring).

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
292 duration both for intake and exhaust valve?

Your weber jettings, up 1, 2 size?

actually its not that i forget to lock my car... but... well... this is how it begin... i went to ioi mall in puchong wit my friends.. i park my car upstair... so... after parked my car i straight away chow lo... of cuz i got press d lock button while walking... n then when i come back from shopping wit my heng tai.. from far away liaw i can c my car door dint close properly... so i was... oh my gosh... i dint close my door tigh sure cant lock d car door liaw... cuz d new accord if dint...