need some help for 4g92 twincam upgrade.....

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
i just roughly estimate the price of the parts....rm10k+++

WITHOUT LABOUR

coolman91

Apr 8, 2009
can i know how much is the halfcut mivec . i think i will go for mivec dude to turbo hard maintenance like every 3000km need change black oil some more those turbo black oil damn exp and turbo leak and so on... but i heard some say mivec engine some times wont open mivec if having some problem .... can i know is this true ???

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
every engine will hav probs if u dun maintain it well....
wear n tear will confirm happen as u r using it....
now u highlighted mivec not engaging...
to me...its just a prob dat u hav to solve...
just like misfiring, engine jerking, idling not chun, bla bla bla....

ask everyone here....who;s engine is problem free???
once u get the problem solved, u gain knowledge....
n u'll b able to discuss/guide other ppl in the future....

last time my 4g92 dohc uses castrol magnetec every 8000kms....
convert turbo still uses castrol magnetec...but every 5000kms....
fuel consumption got not much difference for normal drive....
but of course for spirited driving sure turbo drinks more fuel....

perhaps turbo will have more room for error or more wear n tear parts...
as u hav an additional turbo kit as compared to n/a engine....

as for mivec halfcut price....
the price is crazy now....
its almost the same as GSR halfcut....

n for ur information, ur 1.6 front n rear brake system (if urs is a original 1.6 chassis) is the same as mivec/gsr ones....

coolman91

Apr 8, 2009
ya mine is 1.6 chassis .....
but i wanted to go for mivec they say got a cheaper way that is just up the mivec top and ecu and u are rdy to ROCK and ROLL is this true ?

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
ya mine is 1.6 chassis .....
but i wanted to go for mivec they say got a cheaper way that is just up the mivec top and ecu and u are rdy to ROCK and ROLL is this true ?
that is truee, u need the mivec wiring, mivec head (complete) and the ecu. but the question is, who will be willing to sell their mivec head to u? even GSR users are seeking the mivec head + ecu for their mivec turbo project.

so my advise to u is, if u really want to go for mivec, just get the half cut. rojak-ing the engine is always a no-no, well for me at least. wouldn't it be nice to know that ur engine is genuine mivec and not rojak from this and that? furthermore, if ur mech is inexperience, god knows what kinda problems u will face in the near future.

just my 2 cents. :proud:

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008

n for ur information, ur 1.6 front n rear brake system (if urs is a original 1.6 chassis) is the same as mivec/gsr ones....
u sure gsr n 1.6 brake disc is same? i tot the disc sligthy thicker den 1.6

as a satria mivec owner, i think u jz BOT ur 92. jz use td04 is enuf to have fun.
if u hv mivec head, u no nd to change wiring, jz use shift indicator lamp, vafc, emanage..etc u can activate ur mivec.

Enslaved

Jun 17, 2005
A stock mivec is far, far from rock n roll like you mentioned...you need to dump more cash to make it really worth while - cams (MYR2000+ for regrinds/MYR5000++ for Jun cams), PnP, Intake, exhaust, header, ECU, blah blah blah..look at MYR20k for a start..

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009

sifooo Calvin have spoken

coolman91

Apr 8, 2009
hmm..... if a noob noob mivec can have how many bhp and whp ?
just original halfcut from shop.....
because i dont think i will trow in so much in for satria.... just a bit upgrade and have some fun....

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
1.6 MIVEC around 120-13x WHP avg on stock, the minimal figure might be lower too depending on condition of the engine

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
dear artworkz....
the disc diameter r all the same...
as for this thickness, there;s no confirmed ones....
some GSR comes wif "thin" some comes wif "thick"....
even evo twin port oso got "thick" n "thin" ones....
do the thickness of the disc play such an important role???
or the diameter???
no doubt thicker ones = can skim more = u can use longer....

ad_eg...
dun simply sifu la...
there's so many sifu lurking around in zth...
u oso super power sifu ma...everywhere can see u givin good comments/suggestions....

agree wif enslaved...
but everyone hav different defination of "rock n roll"....
heehee

coolman...
changing mivec head + wiring + ecu will giv u an engine wif mivec system....
but the engine block n piston is different, mivec piston is higher in compression and they hav oil squitters.....
n also the gearbox, mivec gearbox have its own designated ratio....
if u wanna play shiok shiok listen to mivec open, can do this way la....
dun say dun intend to spend much...once u start, u cant stop....seen too much...in fact i oso did said this phrase before...but do the otherwise....lol

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
i jz say about diffrent btw gsr n 1.6 disc ,no say about performance. but thicker disc hv larger ventilation for sure cooling more faster. maybe not an important role but is a good point.

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Dear coolman, if you really want to rock n roll then go for BOT, rm7k max with all necessary part included and your bhp can outrun stock mivec bhp on paper...

In actual drag situation, you might need to add up rm1k for a better clutch and at least two good tyre in front to outrun stock mivec...

If you wan to beat stock mivec even during cornering then you need to strengthen up chasis/body with sort of bars, a good set of suspension is needed which in total will cost you at least rm2k.

Big horsepower can easily gained but it's difficult to create a well balanced car... also your money will just keep flowing out from your pocket as long as your pocket still have cash as human's desire is unlimited... Last but not least... enjoy modding!! : )

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
But if u 4g92 dohc, may not have to go for mivec anyway...
If i' not mistaken, mivec is using alloy block...don't they?
yours is normal engine block... u plug mivec head & ecu wouldn't better than a standard mivec...
Unless u go for 4g93 1.8 block......So u can also plug ur current 1.6 piston(hi comp) piston into 1.8 block...(unless u buy the japan 4g93 SOHC with hi comp piston together)

If u BOT, u need have to change your piston to GSR(low comp) in order for u to boost higher...

coolman91

Apr 8, 2009
in this case looks like BOT on is better then mivec halfcut here and there....
so where do i start ?
since i am a newbie and a stock 4g92 DOHC..... going 2 overhaul soon dude to top and btm parts of the engine black oil leaking and mechanical say my 4 cylinder is leaking pressure ......
should i overhaul that time do PNP ? and other stuff .....