Go Light Weight

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
hi to all...anyone knows the weight of tyres? i hope to know the weight of an 195/50 R15..and does it differ from brands? can anyone provide a figure??...and may i know if there is a light weight crossmember(where my lower arms is connected) & centermember (the ones my engine mounting sits on) in this market? im currently driving a wira 1.5 with an 4G92 Mivec.. Please acknowledge me...thanks..

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
get the tyres with carbon fibre sidewalls... should be lightweight enough for u...

but then, if normal rubber tyres, i dont think their weight varies alot... it wont affect ur car performance much.... but tyre profile will... lower profile, less flex, better handling...

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
go for 14 inch sport rim with 185 tyre sure will meet ur requirement.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
tyres do vary in weight, just take 2 same brand tyres with same width, one cheapo one, another one pirelli dragon. c how much difelence :burnout:

better just change to a light weight rim and expensive tyres, its the centrifugal force that matters most

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
get the tyres with carbon fibre sidewalls... should be lightweight enough for u...

but then, if normal rubber tyres, i dont think their weight varies alot... it wont affect ur car performance much.... but tyre profile will... lower profile, less flex, better handling...
what sky said is true.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
no need tenkiu 1.ur statement make sense mar.tak kan u want to go n buy
tyre,u bring with u a scale to weight the tyre 1 by 1 right.....hehehe.:)
no offense starscream.

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
No worriess GT AUTO! for knowledge is what i seek...hehe i really thought of getting a scale..because i really want to know..it might not be alot of weight reduce..but bits by bits..im planning for a carbon bonnet & the GAB SS series..it is light also...but now i only got the spoon light weight rims...have u heard of the light weight center member??

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
u mean the lower front cross member?
think so...it is a piece of bent vertical (if u stand infornt the car) steel...it holds the lower front engine & gearbox mounting...N its quite heavy..wana get a lighter ones...wondering where to get it...best if i can get hold of a light weight side crossmember..the ones holding the steering rack & lower arm.. anyway..how much would a carbon fiber bonnet would cost?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
don't touch on the cross member as it hold engine and gearbox.
ur engine may be drop down if cross member is unable to support.
Try light weight from the basic first.. like fender,battery & spare tyre etc...
u can go to carbon firbe bonnet if u want.. but pls watch out on the crack issue.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
think so...it is a piece of bent vertical (if u stand infornt the car) steel...it holds the lower front engine & gearbox mounting...N its quite heavy..wana get a lighter ones...wondering where to get it...best if i can get hold of a light weight side crossmember..the ones holding the steering rack & lower arm.. anyway..how much would a carbon fiber bonnet would cost?
what car r u driving?carbon bonnet for wira around rm1.7k for the hq 1 while
the average 1 will cost around 1.2k.why not take off ur power steering n
replace it with manual rack.u can free up a few hp there if u using a small
diameter wheel.u can try n remove the sound proof material of ur car too.
i heard my friend told me the total weight of the stuff is nearly 40kg.thats
a lot if u ask me.:)
don't touch on the cross member as it hold engine and gearbox.
ur engine may be drop down if cross member is unable to support.
Try light weight from the basic first.. like fender,battery & spare tyre etc...
u can go to carbon firbe bonnet if u want.. but pls watch out on the crack issue.
i agreed with all of the parts that u mention above except fender.the original
fender is already light right?it's just a thin piece of steel.

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
throw away ur spare tire n unnecessary things inside ur car, use lightweight wheels, cut ur bonet's frame..

hey gt, also heard b4 hp will increase by removing the power steering, any idea how much?? but of coz damn hard to get into parking later, hehe..

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
around 5hp.maybe more.it's like switching off ur a/c.u can even switch from
using belt driven water pump to electric 1 to reduce ur power lost.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005

Fender from Taiwan which is cost u around RM90~RM110 is more lighter compare with local fender as it even tiny than local.

I had been changed to this fender due to crash on my fender, and make a weighting on both Taiwan and local fender during at workshop... it make nearly 1 kg different.. :biggrin:

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
Fender from Taiwan which is cost u around RM90~RM110 is more lighter compare with local fender as it even tiny than local.

I had been changed to this fender due to crash on my fender, and make a weighting on both Taiwan and local fender during at workshop... it make nearly 1 kg different.. :biggrin:
nearly 1kg?wow.....that a lot for a fender.:hmmmm:

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
ya..ya.. but is it really too tiny....
too bad on safety issue ( know what I mean..laa ).

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
what car r u driving?carbon bonnet for wira around rm1.7k for the hq 1 while
the average 1 will cost around 1.2k.why not take off ur power steering n
replace it with manual rack.u can free up a few hp there if u using a small
diameter wheel.u can try n remove the sound proof material of ur car too.
i heard my friend told me the total weight of the stuff is nearly 40kg.thats
a lot if u ask me.:)

Thanks to everyone for giving me opinion..my car spec is of below

Car/chasiss : Proton wira 1.5
Year : 1994
Engine : 1.6cc 4G92 MIVEC (Stock)
Mods : blitz air filter,evo3 corssmember, evo3 lower arms, evo3 rs steering rack, evo3 anti roll bar (front), fto rear lower arm, front &
rear linkage bar, 16mm rear anti roll bar, full Super pro
bushing sets, GAB Hi/low adj suspension, EBC green stuff
brake pads, improve steel brake hose, NGK iridium sparks & cable, ultra racing side fender & 4 point strut bar, evo3 engine mounting,spoon lightweight 15" rims.

I had thought of an electric motor but the choice to run an electric water pump might save you some power, but it could cost you something more. You see nothing's free in the power-building world. What makes power for you in one area, can extract a price in another. While the power benefits of an electric water pump can hardly be denied, the costs of running one on the street can be harsh. Overheating would be your main cause for concern.

the above is taken from Water Pump Tech

My mech advice me not to take out my power steering..he says its not worth the trouble..please advice...anyway how long would a Hq carbon fiber would last & the cheap ones?