kent20

Feb 18, 2005
Wira_RS said:
my engine is 1.5 and piping 1.7 inch
is it good?
modify your airfilter would be better,not open pot,but drop in.
iridium plug and change to 9.8mm plug cable

feel more different,port and polish and cam all bla bla bla

if dont want..just use back your original piping size,cut off catcon replace with bullet
change the 4-2-1 back muffler change to direct flow for manual,sflow for auto
shao kong

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
SkYwAlKeR said:
so, how much backpressure we should maintain so we have torque at all rpm range??...
how much i dunno how to culculate,if u wanna know which is the hightest torque only 1 way dyno

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
donCityZ said:
straight flow is best. don care auto or manual lah. but, dont use too big diameter. for example, 1.5 engine put 3 inch straight flow, sure lose pickup..
bising saje.. tapi tak jalan (like most kancil i see on road). keep stock diameter
enough. unless u put turbo, then 2inch above is suggested.

key point: back pressure is killing the engine power, but losing all back pressure will also kill it. we need the right amount of back pressure to maintain all range torque.

(correct me if im mistake, thanks)
Bro, auto tranny shouldn't go all straight flow. It needs to detain some pressure back so that the power comes at higher rpm. Auto tranny should go for sflow muffler. If straight flow all the way, overall power loss. As for manual tranny, we need to make as negative pressure as we can, the best is totally no back pressure at all. So, i say the best muffler for manual is no muffler at all. Well, depends on people, if you quiet type straightflow, choose proper setup with as few muffler as you can. Choose wisely :)

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
SkYwAlKeR said:
so, how much backpressure we should maintain so we have torque at all rpm range??...
Bro, we can test it via dyno like kent20 said, or you gotta trust the experienced exhaust specialist as they know what type of mufflers is the best for your car. Just state what power you want such as pick up ,top speed or even overall gain. Just simple as that, but the hard thing is that you need to get someone who is darn good at his job.

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
ahren said:
hi, i am newbie here too. would like to know is it a turbo car must use a straight flow muffler to utilize its power?

is there any setup for quiet exhaust system suits turbo car? maybe twin exhaust system?
Hi ahren, for fully utilize the built-in turbo in your ride, we should eliminate any back pressure that will occur in your exhaust systems such as small piping size, empty midbox, sflow mufflers and etc. So, it would be the best to understand how much power does your engine produce. By that, we can determine what piping size you should use. Twin exhaust system is also a solution as more pipings give better output and faster exhaust flow. However, muffling effect plays a bit role in silencing the exhaust noise. So, choosing the right bullet or midbox is crucial thingy.

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
Originally Posted by ahren
hi, i am newbie here too. would like to know is it a turbo car must use a straight flow muffler to utilize its power?
is there any setup for quiet exhaust system suits turbo car? maybe twin exhaust system?[/qoute]

depand what type of turbo u using,
TD04-TD06 exhust setup all different,turbo car wont be noisy one,normaly use 2.5" inlet muffler
no sound one

Remamber 1 thing N/A using straight flow is always noisy then turbo

ahren

May 17, 2006
thanks for 2 sifus help. I think of getting my waja a GSR turbo, wonder if i need to change the whole exhaust system or not.

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
ahren said:
thanks for 2 sifus help. I think of getting my waja a GSR turbo, wonder if i need to change the whole exhaust system or not.
use back the original GSR Piping that u purchase from the half cut..

if u never mod your turbine,then go for 2.5" piping all follow your waja original way
do not make it ----------------------------------(fuel tank)--------(muffler)

because waja fuel tank made by fiber will baka

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
kweng84 said:
Bro, we can test it via dyno like kent20 said, or you gotta trust the experienced exhaust specialist as they know what type of mufflers is the best for your car. Just state what power you want such as pick up ,top speed or even overall gain. Just simple as that, but the hard thing is that you need to get someone who is darn good at his job.
u sifoo exhaust mar.... anything refer to u can oledi lor... kekekeke....

m3 power

Jan 19, 2006
wah gud thread weng. informative. want to ask is it centre/bullet box have to change regularly? change the whole thing or just refibering?

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
SkYwAlKeR said:
u sifoo exhaust mar.... anything refer to u can oledi lor... kekekeke....
me no sifoo la..just some lousy knowledge only.. sifoo like fstrader,kent20 and others...me still learning together with u all..:_:

m3 power said:
wah gud thread weng. informative. want to ask is it centre/bullet box have to change regularly? change the whole thing or just refibering?
m3power, no need to refiber ler...refibering is more expensive than you getting a new one, else you wanna refiber those big mufflers like Drager. Refibering costs around 200+ for a big muffler. The midbox that i recommended usually can stands 2 year more.

kori

Aug 30, 2004
kweng84 said:
me no sifoo la..just some lousy knowledge only.. sifoo like fstrader,kent20 and others...me still learning together with u all..:_:

m3power, no need to refiber ler...refibering is more expensive than you getting a new one, else you wanna refiber those big mufflers like Drager. Refibering costs around 200+ for a big muffler. The midbox that i recommended usually can stands 2 year more.
anyone here had an experience refibered those big muffler ??
mind sharing ??

thanx...

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
muff re-fibiring about less then 100 laa, thats wat i was told by last time...depeding on materials used and u on what kinda budget. but most important thing is the workmanship, no point paying loads of money but shitty work, so choose ur tuner wisely.

many things can be done on a oem muff, some wira owners with ori twin pipe's has that for cover on but in actuall fact inside is original 304 all covered by the orginal twin pipe muffler. (easier to get thru jpj block)

m3 power

Jan 19, 2006
kweng84 said:
after 2 years change the box?

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
hmm.. i also noticed a lot people said for auto its best use s-flow. isnt s-flow similar (i know not same) as stock muffler? then might as well i keep stock muffler.
Similar means the amount of backpressure is similar. i am rather skeptical why people choose s-flow for auto... (any proof or just 'heard from someone'?)

it would be good to have a formula to calculate piping length, diameter and type of muffler to be used depending on the engine cc...

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
m3 power said:
change the whole bullet,depand what kind of bullet u using,if lousy quality,which means u purchase less then rm100 without brand one maybe 4month already kong....

how to know the center bullet spoil.
1.suddently kuat makan minyak
2.the sound of your exhust suddently become more lounder then usual
3.dunno what elseh haha..

if u match both 1&2 is the time to change to your bullet

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
donCityZ said:
hmm.. i also noticed a lot people said for auto its best use s-flow. isnt s-flow similar (i know not same) as stock muffler? then might as well i keep stock muffler.
Similar means the amount of backpressure is similar. i am rather skeptical why people choose s-flow for auto... (any proof or just 'heard from someone'?)

it would be good to have a formula to calculate piping length, diameter and type of muffler to be used depending on the engine cc...
i only know if use all the way striaght flow for automatic car,the car pick up all will gone..
my expirance
1.the stupid gear willl change very fast during low rpm
2.when put on "D" then and u press max on the padel,the car moving like damn slow "torque hilang",when u reach to almost 5k rpm shap kao the car change gear..vomit blood

those ppl choose S-Flow scare bapa scold lor,scare mama scold lor,scare JPJ lor
coz sflow no sound...if you add on a good center bullet

Wild_Seven

Apr 6, 2005
My 2 cents,

If you had not done any modification on your car, stick to stock exhaust. Most exhaust mod, will shift the power curve to the right, in lay man's term....the cars maximum torque will occur later, exactly opposite of what is needed.

There is no Replacement for Displacement, other than FORCED INDUCTION! :)

@zri

Jan 26, 2006
just asking.. izzit true that s-flow type muffler is for auto???

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
Refibering depends on the muffler if im not wrong because my recent customer got a big dunk apexi muffler which he did refibering for rm220 for it.

Modified S-flow muffler and the stock sflow muffler , the difference is inside the muffler box itself. Stock sflow muffler has many blocks while the modified sflow muffler has less blocks. Less blocks give better throttle response and also better acceleration power. Besides, inlet size will be slightly bigger than stock muffler, which gives better exhaust flow. Stock sflow muffler performs the best at very high rpm, thus, for those who wants sflow muffler but do not revv so high, you need to get modified sflow which provides u the peak of torque at a little bit lower rpm than stock. Hope you guys get what i mean.