.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
straight flow is best. don care auto or manual lah. but, dont use too big diameter. for example, 1.5 engine put 3 inch straight flow, sure lose pickup..
bising saje.. tapi tak jalan (like most kancil i see on road). keep stock diameter
enough. unless u put turbo, then 2inch above is suggested.

key point: back pressure is killing the engine power, but losing all back pressure will also kill it. we need the right amount of back pressure to maintain all range torque.

(correct me if im mistake, thanks)

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
yes what up ~nice corner here
easy,dont have a big head please dont use a big cap,else u will bang to the wall

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
alot of Gen2 onwer can't get a nice result..now i start with gen2

4-2-1,the head setup must be 1-3-2-4,o2 sensor dont put on top or side
must put after the 4-2-(1)<--this place to put o2 senser,like this only the ecu able to detect your extractor is using 4-2-1

do not do like this --> (4)<-any pipe also cannot-2-1 because if like this the ECU will only detect 2-1 then your tuning will lari also unstable u can't get a good torque im sure!!

then the original 1.7" piping change to 1.6",to mantain the backpresure,then add on a bullet after flexipipe as close as posible,back muffler up to u use any direct flow,this is for Manual

for auto gen2 the rest all the same just change something here.
then the original 1.7" piping change to 1.6",to mantain the backpresure,then add on the sflow midbox on the middle,back muffler up to u use any direct flow,this is for Auto

the piping all follow original way.
that all for today

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
Wira_RS said:
my engine is 1.5 and piping 1.7 inch
is it good?
modify your airfilter would be better,not open pot,but drop in.
iridium plug and change to 9.8mm plug cable

feel more different,port and polish and cam all bla bla bla

if dont want..just use back your original piping size,cut off catcon replace with bullet
change the 4-2-1 back muffler change to direct flow for manual,sflow for auto
shao kong

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
SkYwAlKeR said:
so, how much backpressure we should maintain so we have torque at all rpm range??...
how much i dunno how to culculate,if u wanna know which is the hightest torque only 1 way dyno

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
donCityZ said:
straight flow is best. don care auto or manual lah. but, dont use too big diameter. for example, 1.5 engine put 3 inch straight flow, sure lose pickup..
bising saje.. tapi tak jalan (like most kancil i see on road). keep stock diameter
enough. unless u put turbo, then 2inch above is suggested.

key point: back pressure is killing the engine power, but losing all back pressure will also kill it. we need the right amount of back pressure to maintain all range torque.

(correct me if im mistake, thanks)
Bro, auto tranny shouldn't go all straight flow. It needs to detain some pressure back so that the power comes at higher rpm. Auto tranny should go for sflow muffler. If straight flow all the way, overall power loss. As for manual tranny, we need to make as negative pressure as we can, the best is totally no back pressure at all. So, i say the best muffler for manual is no muffler at all. Well, depends on people, if you quiet type straightflow, choose proper setup with as few muffler as you can. Choose wisely :)

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
SkYwAlKeR said:
so, how much backpressure we should maintain so we have torque at all rpm range??...
Bro, we can test it via dyno like kent20 said, or you gotta trust the experienced exhaust specialist as they know what type of mufflers is the best for your car. Just state what power you want such as pick up ,top speed or even overall gain. Just simple as that, but the hard thing is that you need to get someone who is darn good at his job.

kweng84

Dec 22, 2005
PUCHONG
ahren said:
hi, i am newbie here too. would like to know is it a turbo car must use a straight flow muffler to utilize its power?

is there any setup for quiet exhaust system suits turbo car? maybe twin exhaust system?
Hi ahren, for fully utilize the built-in turbo in your ride, we should eliminate any back pressure that will occur in your exhaust systems such as small piping size, empty midbox, sflow mufflers and etc. So, it would be the best to understand how much power does your engine produce. By that, we can determine what piping size you should use. Twin exhaust system is also a solution as more pipings give better output and faster exhaust flow. However, muffling effect plays a bit role in silencing the exhaust noise. So, choosing the right bullet or midbox is crucial thingy.

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
Originally Posted by ahren
hi, i am newbie here too. would like to know is it a turbo car must use a straight flow muffler to utilize its power?
is there any setup for quiet exhaust system suits turbo car? maybe twin exhaust system?[/qoute]

depand what type of turbo u using,
TD04-TD06 exhust setup all different,turbo car wont be noisy one,normaly use 2.5" inlet muffler
no sound one

Remamber 1 thing N/A using straight flow is always noisy then turbo

ahren

May 17, 2006
thanks for 2 sifus help. I think of getting my waja a GSR turbo, wonder if i need to change the whole exhaust system or not.

kent20

Feb 18, 2005
ahren said:
thanks for 2 sifus help. I think of getting my waja a GSR turbo, wonder if i need to change the whole exhaust system or not.
use back the original GSR Piping that u purchase from the half cut..

if u never mod your turbine,then go for 2.5" piping all follow your waja original way
do not make it ----------------------------------(fuel tank)--------(muffler)

because waja fuel tank made by fiber will baka

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
kweng84 said:
Bro, we can test it via dyno like kent20 said, or you gotta trust the experienced exhaust specialist as they know what type of mufflers is the best for your car. Just state what power you want such as pick up ,top speed or even overall gain. Just simple as that, but the hard thing is that you need to get someone who is darn good at his job.
u sifoo exhaust mar.... anything refer to u can oledi lor... kekekeke....

m3 power

Jan 19, 2006
wah gud thread weng. informative. want to ask is it centre/bullet box have to change regularly? change the whole thing or just refibering?

They say all good things must come to an end, and when it came down to the US F1 team, it was the rare case of the end coming before the beginning. There were drum rolls in anticipation of the raise of a American Formula One team, something that many were looking forward to. But as big of a bang they created when announcing their contention, the USF1 went out with nothing more than a whimper. There has been no...