Exhaust Fiber Replacement

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
Hey guys, anyone know how to DIY replacing the fiber inside the exhaust muffler? Like when the exhaust muffler fiber is almost finished or finished burned out, the exhaust wil become very very noisy...so in order to make the exhaust remain silence, maybe replacing or adding the fiber can reduce the noise of the exhaust ...

IF yes...then can someone guide me thru DIY replacing the fiber ?
i know there is some shop offering to replace the fiber back by paying a few bucks...but i wan to know it wit and add it to my knowledge :D

wideawake

Erm... theoretically....

You would need to cut a hole using a circular saw..... replace the fibre.... i think got yellow type or grey metal type or something....

then weld it back....

of course then weld it back to the back of your car....

In a nutshell, if you have a welding machine, by all means... try it out... :)

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
if u have grinder/cutting tools n welding set, and welding skills, then i think no problem.. hehe..
fiber can be bought from shop.. can even mod with other fiber type also.. hehe..

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
thanks for da reply...actually wat is the real name of the 'fiber' in exhaust ? izzit fiber or something else ? i meant the exact name

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
its just exhaust packing fibreglass

white and yellow type

usually only white ones comes as sheets

yellow ones are just like cotton buds, terrible to work with and dun last long like the white ones

always use the white ones

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
can use steel mesh type at the internal perforated tube 1st. layer it 1st, then layer with fiber. this will make fiber last longer, coz steel mesh will not burn off easily.. but not sure the sounds like..

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
i got 1 fren arr, put in those green colour steel scrubber for washing ur dishes :stupid:

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
its just exhaust packing fibreglass

white and yellow type

usually only white ones comes as sheets

yellow ones are just like cotton buds, terrible to work with and dun last long like the white ones

pening bro...

meant yellow one = cotton buds,terrible to work wit and don last long same as the white one ?:hmmmm:

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
pening bro...

meant yellow one = cotton buds,terrible to work wit and don last long same as the white one ?:hmmmm:
lets compare these 2 phrases,

1) yellow ones are just like cotton buds, terrible to work with and dun last long like the white ones

and

2) yellow one = cotton buds,terrible to work wit and don last long same as the white one

can u spot the difference in meaning ? :banghead:

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
yes i spotted the diff is like/same..
but i really get confused in your sentences LOL...if u say unlike then i get wat u mean directly ..

chill bro no need bang head geh : /

Casanova 1982

May 14, 2009
hi guys,jst bought a 5zigen bordermax 304 inlet 3" out 5".the condition is ok but 1 prob,b4 install took the exhaust by my hand & shake it then could hear some sound.cant see any fiber left jst little.or broken?if fiber is gone would the exhaust make more noise?thx

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
knock n listen 2 the sound...if the fiber still kaw kaw then it should act like sound proof...
if u know n u hear the sound like milo can then fiber habis edi

Casanova 1982

May 14, 2009
knock n listen 2 the sound...if the fiber still kaw kaw then it should act like sound proof...
if u know n u hear the sound like milo can then fiber habis edi
yes, it sounds like milo tin( LOL ) already intall but sound not so loud.hmm some say if fiber finish exhaust will produce loud sound is it true?is there anyway for me 2 replace a new fiber? thx

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
yes its not loud...but try throttle more...like 5k rpm o higher....u'll hear vr loud pecah sound

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
hmm...hard to tell with 304 bordermax cuz its a screamer...if u can shake it then its time

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
oh ya hor....5 chicken....but the screamer should sound solid in sum way too...it cant sound the same wit burnt out fiber

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Bro..
Those fibres are actually fibre-glass correct...can stand heat
E.g... some partition ceiling uses this corret? (yellow)

The white ones...like fish aquarium filter use, cannot right? Cannot stand heat...
Tq

ashez

Nov 21, 2005
well actually u can buy white and yellow fibers...
normally when we tune our dirt bikes...yellow fibers are used in 2 stroke exhaust....
and the white ones are normally used in 4stroke bikes....
white ones last waaayyyyy longer than yellow ones ..they tend to burn off faster...
juz go to any motocycle spare parts shop....not those workshops....
they have it there...itz kinda cheap actually....

juz my 2cents.....

Dear Sifu's and frens ,

Yesterday i realised my car cant pass 5k rpm.
After 5k feels like tersumbat or loss of power . any idea why ?

Additional Informations :

Last service - 2K km ago . still got 5k to run
Which gear - So far starting from 3rd gear.
Just serviced aircond few days back .
Air filter cleaned last week .
Redline starts at 6.5 k .

Any idea why is this happening ? help is much appreciated. :D
thx