Evo 3 Alternator Issue

pert

May 11, 2005
Damansara
Hi Sifus,

I would like to ask about evo 3 alternator. This year mine already kong 3x (today is the third time.)
:banghead::banghead:
Already check all the wiring and nothing wrong with it.
Wonder what will cause it.
What type of alternator is recommended ?
Also normally it's only 90amp type, heard evos using 110amp, is it true? Is it ok using recond rather than ori since ori very expensive.

Pls sifu, need ur advice or tips/tricks on this. Really sick with it already.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
new ori evo3 alternator available?..

pert

May 11, 2005
Damansara
new ori evo3 alternator available?..
Not new bro, from halfcut but more expensive than recond one..
U face this issue b4 bro?

Normally with our type of engine ppl preferred use recond or frm halfcut?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i'm using 93t..alternator kong once, replaced it and prob solved..is gsr's alternator same with evo wan?..

pert

May 11, 2005
Damansara
i'm using 93t..alternator kong once, replaced it and prob solved..is gsr's alternator same with evo wan?..
Yes of cos i replace twice edy but today it's kong again now in workshop, again put in recond one.

Last time u change it to recond or buy from halfcut?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i think my mech bought from h/cut..hw much u bought?..price differ a lot between hc and recond?..

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
get frm h/cut straightaway la bro..better than keeps changing, waste more money and time..

pert

May 11, 2005
Damansara
get frm h/cut straightaway la bro..better than keeps changing, waste more money and time..
Last time ur how much it cost u?
It just because the warranty bro, halfcut 1 week - 1 month warranty, recond is 3 month.
Now i already vomit blood. :banghead::banghead:

Any other suggestion, idea or opinion on why mine very not long lasting.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i dun really remember cos it was few years ago, think ard 1xx-2xx..

well, i had a similar thing happened to me last time when i bought a set of HID..use than 1 month, ballast rosak, ok fine cos still got warranty, go bck to the shop and they replaced for me, 2 weeks later, ballast rosak again and i went bck to the shop and they replaced for me..Few weeks later same sh*t happened again, and went bck to get replacement..i remember it was 4-5times i went bck to get it replaced until i became fed up and bought another set at a diff shop..the new set is still functioning even after few years..

Lesson learned is dat maybe the shop ppl din actually replace a good one for u..Suspect only la..

MingFai

Apr 18, 2010
P.J Jln Gasing
Change mech only lo... Recon and halfcut de I will take recon de..
Coz recon inside all was new only the housing was old 1 only... At least they got gave warranty.

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
I think is not the money issue. Is the pain of alternator kong on the road. I also very scared alternator kong while driving.

MingFai

Apr 18, 2010
P.J Jln Gasing
Agree with mines998 very painful if there is hot sun or heavily rain.. Fuiyo... Really out of my mind...

pert

May 11, 2005
Damansara
u could change the carbon brush inside the alternator....
bout rm50-60 if not mistaken...did u keep your old alternators?
can be change arr bro? after change can use back?
i got keep the old alternator..

---------- Post added at 09:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:44 AM ----------

I think is not the money issue. Is the pain of alternator kong on the road. I also very scared alternator kong while driving.
Ya bro.. my 1st time kong is at plus highway otw to KL from Jhr b4 Yong Peng area at 10pm.
Luckily, got free towing from my insurance company. :biggrin:
If not, koyak... towing + new alternator = :banghead:

Kuala Lumpur Embraces Life on the Fast Lane 

Merdeka Millennium Race excitement comes to the capital.