DIY - NVH Insulation and Tested Part 2

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Yeah sorry Titanrev, had change of plans which were a change of plans then another change of plans. And this fella was the very first person to ask me for the set.

Cvkit : my car now with the Yoko dB tyres ambient noise driving at 60km/h is 68dB only. :biggrin: Btw I did a writeup sometime ago about the spray on rubber spray.

DIY – Soundproofing / dampening the wheel arch

It reduced 4B but I had to spray 4 cans per arch to have that affect and the spray was more expensive than your easier-to-apply can of paint.
Std got very good sound insulation mah...comfort is their selling point so don't make it noisy hahaha

Nope, his from 185/65R14, so 195/55R15 is correct fit. Yours is 175/65R14 so it is smaller....:driver:
I thought 65/R14 is the wheel diameter? 175 or 185 is the width, no? Alamak tak faham hahaha.. And I think his original tyre wasn't 185 coz original myvi 1.3 is on 175/65/R14 also.

U hardcore mah :rofl:

wow 11dBA thats a lot! I did some insulation on the doors and floors also. But i only did deadening for the doors and rear boot area coz its kinda expensive to me. Floor and roof I just used PE foam. Manage to reduce 4-5dBA.
because ma car was very old car (year 95) where the soundproofing and stock factory bitumen layer all already hardened and not really effective anymore...hence when i laid the layer on top of the older layer....it work really good.....

this is what i did on my car....quite good result....next step will be pouring the floorpan of my whole car with a few litre of liquid tar :smokin::listen::biggrin:

Std got very good sound insulation mah...comfort is their selling point so don't make it noisy hahaha

I thought 65/R14 is the wheel diameter? 175 or 185 is the width, no? Alamak tak faham hahaha.. And I think his original tyre wasn't 185 coz original myvi 1.3 is on 175/65/R14 also.
Yes, The 65 series aspect ratio is sidewall high but it is determined also by width of the tyre.
175 is 175mm width x 65% = 113.75
185 is 185mm width x 65% = 120.25
so 185 overall diameter is bigger.....

If his is Myvi also then original is 175/65R14, he should have used 185/60R14 instead of 185/65R14.
In this case 195/55R15 is too big, so 185/55R15 is better or 195/50R15.

wtf Pomen u did it at night ka? Can see ar?
Night Vision. :laugh:

daytime got opis work leh...

by the time reach home already nightfall.... with some help of head mounted light.... :biggrin;

weekend oso full schedule....plus.....night is really good time to do work outside enjoice the nice quiet surrounding :smokin:

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Yes, The 65 series aspect ratio is sidewall high but it is determined also by width of the tyre.
175 is 175mm width x 65% = 113.75
185 is 185mm width x 65% = 120.25
so 185 overall diameter is bigger.....

If his is Myvi also then original is 175/65R14, he should have used 185/60R14 instead of 185/65R14.
In this case 195/55R15 is too big, so 185/55R15 is better or 195/50R15.
Yes, driving 1.3 myvi. Got consider on 195 50 before installing 195 55. Afraid the comfort level will not good and go for 55 profile.

Anyway, nice analysis given by you.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
daytime got opis work leh...

by the time reach home already nightfall.... with some help of head mounted light.... :biggrin;

weekend oso full schedule....plus.....night is really good time to do work outside enjoice the nice quiet surrounding :smokin:
dude if i do this at night i wouldve gotten dengue man

Yes, driving 1.3 myvi. Got consider on 195 50 before installing 195 55. Afraid the comfort level will not good and go for 55 profile.

Anyway, nice analysis given by you.
No wonder you now looking at 185/55R15......:driver:

autofoam poison i oso want :p

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
We go look up Cvkit then go to their Jalan Ipoh HQ....

Or new branch in Glenmarie.....:biggrin:
can can mari mari

or just DIY with expanding polyurethane filler lar haha

I've read somewhere that the foam might cause more damage when accident. It has something to do with the rigidity and the ability of the vehicle to absorb impact. How true is that, I dont know. Anyone has heard of this before?

can can mari mari

or just DIY with expanding polyurethane filler lar haha

I've read somewhere that the foam might cause more damage when accident. It has something to do with the rigidity and the ability of the vehicle to absorb impact. How true is that, I dont know. Anyone has heard of this before?
Will it be that rigid, foam only woh! Maybe more rigid better protection.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:24 AM ----------

lol do you think one would purposely go bang some cows? :rofl:

You go do first and then we shall follow keke
You bang we can have BBQ......:rofl:

Any ppl know which rear disc break fit saga blm??and can gv some comment for hw to improve my performance of saga blm 1.3 auto?i hv did d extractor and air filter and plug bt stil hv anything can improve my performance??