can diy short shifter?

rsctan

Feb 28, 2004
i am wondering whter is it possible to diy a short shifter? as in shifts timing are shorter and not the shift rod is shorter...aha...
so anyone?

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
If you have welding torch, can.

Short shifters merely changes the point of fulcrum.

rsctan

Feb 28, 2004
dun understand lar...as i know pl mod thiers with their existing shifters...so how? cn bolt and nut alsorite? welding i got also lar.r..

caNnonDa|e

Nov 19, 2003
cut is not the answer for short shifter, although it has been shorten ( ROD ) the gear in and out are still the same..

a real short shifter are shorten when u pull in and out when u shift.. this will make u shift faster not shift shorter.. normally a real short shifter will need time to learn, coz the column between each gear are so close and hard.

if u try before u know what i mean.

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
The cutting and welding is not done on the gear stick.

THe cutting and welding is done on the fulcrum.

Eg. Did any of you played see-saw at the play ground.

If you sat nearer to the fulcrum, the distance you travel is shorter but the opposite side required more effort to push you up.

And if you sat further away from the fulcrum, the distance travelled is longer. However the effort is vice versa.

rsctan

Feb 28, 2004
:lol: yala...damm interested larr...anyone with any ideas?

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
Back in the old days when a short shifter cost RM300++, some of us with access to welding equipment DIY-ed our own short shifters.

But Short shifter now cost oni Rm150.

The labour cost and trouble to DIY not worthwhile adi.

ScAvEnGeR

Feb 1, 2004
Originally posted by Joeker@Oct 19 2004, 01:00
The cutting and welding is not done on the gear stick.

THe cutting and welding is done on the fulcrum.

Eg. Did any of you played see-saw at the play ground.

If you sat nearer to the fulcrum, the distance you travel is shorter but the opposite side required more effort to push you up.

And if you sat further away from the fulcrum, the distance travelled is longer. However the effort is vice versa.
Er... I think you got your forces all wrong bro.

If you were nearer to the fulcrum, the distance travelled is less and so is the force needed to move/alleviate you. And otherwise when you're seating away from the fulcrum.

EG9wannabe

Sep 7, 2004
Originally posted by Joeker@Oct 22 2004, 08:35
oppsss.....no wonder i flunked my fizik in SPM :P
learn from mistakes laa bro .. :P :P ..

if yu guys really look at the gear lever/"batang gear" .. the oem gear lever is shorter (between the hole to the gear linkage and fulcrum) .. whereas the short shifter, the lever is longer (between the hole and the fulcrum) ..

"betul ker idak aku explain" .. but the thing is like that laa ..

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
just go to buy a short shifter
and just ask the ppl who do the mould to duplicate for u loh!!

maybe who's father or uncle expert in doing this mould

and then mass production!!!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

just my 2 cent

but actually it is really can do!
but donno how much it will cost

can i fix a s-afc for standard kancil 660?how does it works?
does it give power to the car?how much if its possible to fix a s-afc?